Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sewer Escape

by somethingsimilar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first completed entry for a Ludum Dare!

It's the future, and robots have taken over the world. You, an unnamed human prisoner, have just broken out of an underground prison and now must flee through the sewers, finding a key and dodging the robots who are out to find you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#324Mood3.26
#534Audio2.81
#636Theme3.18
#798Overall2.93
#849Humor2.00
#849Fun2.68
#990Graphics2.50
#1037Innovation2.39

Comments

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Although this is a horror style game I wish you would of made it a bit more scary. But overall I love the game from start to finish.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

It's too dark for me (maybe it's just my screen, i dont know).Anyway, i like idea

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Congratz for finishing your first LD game! I got lost easily in the tunnels… perhaps needs a minimap?

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I like it, but perhaps it's too big, makes you wander aimlessly for too long.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Reminds me of Teselecta's bots from Doctor Who!
Very nice and a little scary!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

This one gave me a nice scare! A bit pac-manish, in some ways. Liked it very much!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Slooowmooo pacman game. The leveldesign needs reworking. There is a lot to level design, but here it would suffice to add in things that diffirentiate the areas. The point of dressing areas is to create visual noise and use that to your purposes.

That being said, the forlorn feeling of being raped as you see the drones coming from both directions is real, so props to you for that. :) Good tension in the game, sounds used well, even if the sound isn't that great.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

122 seconds for the first time :)
It's a classic labyrinth game, but efficient ++

triforcespark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

The slow movement speed makes me feel more horrified, but it seems to make the game feel boring.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Really liked the darkness of the game, with those evil beeps coming towards you... Nice!

Maybe some markers of where to find the key/exit would be nice.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Stuck in the sewers? Just another normal day...
Also our first Ludum Dare! Go us!:D

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Grats on your first entry! I was there myself not too long ago. :)

The game was a bit choppy on my Macbook, and while the level design was a bit simple the the robots really managed to instill a sense of dread. Those beeps... All in all, it's a nice first effort!

Figglewatts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:55pm

This was pretty good. There was some minor z-fighting on the tunnel models though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]