Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prehistoric Kerfuffle: Tussle at the Rumble Dome

by NoahC_ - Jam Entry

It's an archaeology throw down! Dig and collect as many fossils as you can to give your archaeologist incredible powers and battle your foes to prove that you have what it takes to be the king of the fossils!

Prehistoric Kerfuffle has 3 sections of gameplay:

Section 1: Digging.

Digging presents you with a large screen of dirt that you must brush away to reveal hidden fossils below. These sections are timed, to be quick! Please note: THERE IS ONLY ONE FOSSIL PER SCREEN.

You have three tools to use:
•Brush: Used to clear away dirt, and is selected first by default. Click and hold your left mouse button to scrub away dirt from the screen to reveal why lies beneath!

•Chisel: The second tool, its used to crush rocks that cover fossils. Select the chisel and rapidly click the left mouse button to destroy the rocks! Be sure to clear all the dirt away before attempting to chisel.

•Hand tool: Used to pick up fully cleared fossils. Click and grab a fossil with the hand tool to put it in your inventory and advance to the next screen! Make sure you clear ALL dirt and rocks near the fossil to successfully grab it!

Section 2: Equipment.

You can select up to 4 fossils that you gathered in the digging section to equip to your archaeologist! Each fossil has a type, move, and stats to give your player, so pick wisely! Your dominate type will dictate what kind of fighter you are! (Example, picking 3 fire type and 1 normal type means you're fire type!)

Section 3: BATTLE!

Duke it out! This section plays out like a pokemon battle, and pits you against another archaeologist with a random assortment of fossils- and its winner takes all! Glory and Fame for the winner, Shame and Boos for the loser!

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Amazing job ! The graphics are perfect, the game mechanics is new and interesting, loved it ! Great work and the Pokemon inspiration is awesome ;)

PriorBlue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14am

At first i thought this is a pokemon clon, but the main game is totally different and very well done.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

Awesome! very unique mechanics, very good pixel art and very good audio!

MithosKuu says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:12am

I wasn't expecting much and was pleasantly surprised! Everything feels good, keep up the good work!

Cezel_ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:10am

That was just amazing, good job!

01101101 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:54am

Very nice game! Cool idea, cool mechanics, and the result is pretty polished. The only thing missing is the ability to start a new game right away at the end. Well done!

Agecaf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:56am

This is fun in an unexpected way. good job!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:40am

Huh! very amazing game. First I liked the digging for the fossils and was proud to find some.
Then The fight started and I thought: This cannot be true, what happens here? Within some seconds I lost without understanding how it works.
Cool combination of games, but I like the first part more than the second.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]