Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

There's Something Beneath the Surface at Coral Cave

by BoaHeck_ArtGent - Jam Entry

Well it's glitchy but it will have to do.

You've done it! Somehow you graduated from marine-biology at t.S.C.U.N.H.O. (that super cool university no-ones heard of). In search of funding for future reasearch you take on the challenge of the local fishermans union. Some great monster is sinking fishing trawlers you set off down it's layer at coral cave with as much equipment as you can afford.

However "as much equipment as you can afford" just isn't good enough. You have to do a few dives to afford better equipment before taking on this behemoth inhabiting the "coral cave". Collect all the exotic sea life and avoid or harpoon the enemy creatures .

Credit to Maxine Pichu Ackerman (additional art), Cian Hackett (Music),Fiachra Hackett (additional humour).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#267Mood(Jam)3.28
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#281Theme(Jam)3.33
#317Audio(Jam)3.18
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#356Fun(Jam)3.02
#412Innovation(Jam)2.92
#413Overall(Jam)3.14

Comments

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Outstanding graphics!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

This game kinda broke half way through

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Oh what happened Nnnnneeeedddd?

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

The art looks really good!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Really nice! Bugs aside, I enjoyed just swimming around, seeing how far I could get. I like the graphics, and the music was good for setting the mood. I could see this game getting some polish and being pretty good. Nice work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

There's currently a bug in the uploaded version but will be fixed in a few minutes.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

That is fixed.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Felt nice. Thank you for this one.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

I went to t.S.C.U.N.H.O. Loved the field trips, but couldn't stand the elitist attitude of some of the staff.

Fun game. Was confused at first as to why I was drowning when I should have had 30 seconds left, until I noticed that those things on the ceiling were bad guys. They kind of blend in with the wildlife.

Great atmosphere, too. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Really nice mood, I like the pastel colours and the ambient music. It's a bit buggy though, the game crashed when I bought some harpoons. Overall I liked it though.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The best game I have played so far. Outstanding.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Ha, I liked this game was fun

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

How is this game so intense? I felt is I were struggling for air when I saw that timer tick down 5..4..3..2...AIR

urisensei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Sadly my finances are horrible in this game, the sound on the countdown is a really nice touch, really brings home the urgency.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Love the art!

Spotline says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Very cool game, but quite hard !

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really like the graphics and it was nice diving around. Played quite long upgrading things close to max I would expect.

I think it shouldn't be possible to loose by over-buying, but it be denied. However if one forgets to refill, of course. On the refill, it would have been nice if the cost to refill also went up for increased air capacity.

I never really noticed either, but the further away I hope I got more for the things I caught.

There were some places that look as if they would be trapped air, so I kind of expected to be safe there, time not ticking.

Finally, since you had a nice warning tick about running out of air. It would have been nice to have a very distinct half-ways sound as well.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Pleasant float-y times, I enjoyed swimming with my limbs. I wanted to swim forever and never return to the boat. I liked holding the mouse button to tread water and redirect, it was a nice solution to my relentless propulsion.

soy_yuma says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Amazing game! I like the atmosphere and the gameplay. It feels soooo good to exploit the sea bottom to finance your campaign against the underwater behemoth! I expected more of the final boss though. Congrats!

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:37pm

I really enjoyed the mood of this game and the art was awesome. Definitely nice looking as well.

javierecf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:55am

The visuals are really nice and the sound fits really well. It is a hard game. The felling of swimming is also well done.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:57pm

This game was neat! I like that in the first levels, the only enemy you face is your own poor time management skills (they got me a few times, LOL). Overall, an interesting, fun mechanic that was well-tuned, so great job. I wound up playing quite a few times before giving up! The graphics and audio combine to make a fun and relaxing experience, no matter how harrowing the gameplay is.

A couple of things, though--in the shop, you've got a blend of prices put on the products, and above the products. It's difficult to tell what's really going on because of this, and I feel it would probably make more sense to have them arranged by price or type rather than at random, as it seems to be now.

The other thing is that there seems to be a couple of strange bugs--I've managed to warp through a cave wall before, and one time after I bought the harpoons and indebted myself to death, the game immediately told me I'd lost upon starting the level. It seems like debt/research funding from the last game carries over to some degree if you don't close the window?

Anyway, this is awesome and I truly enjoyed myself. Thanks for the game!

kibertoad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice graphics, interesting to explore level. Cool game.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I did like diving. It was fun with the controls, the animation is nice and I drowned a lot or the bank killed me :D All in all a good game.

For other linux users to come, plz create a linux-executable as well. At least you provided an windows exe which is playable with wine (but for me without sound)

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Great graphics, basic gameplay is sound, but difficulty is too harsh. Too easy to die, brutal economics at the store, makes it a lot of replay but not getting anywhere.

May 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice game!

Afal says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Cool gameplay!

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

Lovely game. The money management caught me off guard, but really like the tension there, really well done. The graphics and music were also especially sweet!

zebi24 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Really cool game, I enjoyed it a lot! :)

Tifu says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This has potential, but I think the penalty for failure is too big considering the time it takes to build up decent equipment, and then to lose everything, agh :( I think losing your funds, and possibly one upgrade, would have been plenty punishment enough.
I couldn't have won anyway though, as the harpoons didn't fire for me nine times out of ten =/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]