Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Glassie

by rincewind_cz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Glassie is lost in huge maze beneath the surface in almost complete darkness. Help her to get out! Avoid the lights - if you brake them earthquake show you!

Please write a comment, thanks!

Controls:
[Up/W] Rotate 180 deg.
[Left/Right/A/D] Rotate 90 deg.
[Down] Brake - this is important!
[Esc] Restart level (if you get stuck)

Happy playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Innovation3.75
#196Mood3.50
#211Graphics3.76
#236Fun3.44
#251Overall3.52
#267Audio3.23
#844Humor2.03
#1023Theme2.55

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Really near! Love the lighting and getting crushed.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Really neat! Love the lighting and getting crushed.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very creative. Unfortunately,three of the rocks got stuck and trapped me against a wall, so I had to restart. Fun though!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

Crazy difficult, specially once the blinking blocks show up, although I realised too late you can brake :P Pretty fun though!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

The scariest time I've had being a ball.

Great use of lighting, helps add to the craziness when you are rotating manically as rocks fall down.

Cool soundtrack too, suits the mood.

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Great entry, love the colors and physics, but the rock spawn needs dome work

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

moving was a fun surprise

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Cool phisics and gameplay, but I got stuck between the rocks a few times!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice job on the lighting. The shadow mapping in particular worked perfectly, which I've noticed other games have had some minor trouble implementing. Nice soundtrack to help set the mood, too.

geekdrums says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Tricky system. It was difficult for me, but have new feeling!

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

The lighting was really nice, however sometimes it was a little hard to see what was going on. very challenging and fun!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

The low ambient light meant I was leaning in to try and see what was going on, and the constant flashing combined with that to give me quite the headache. The gameplay was a little flat. I wanted to be able to go fast or do something interesting, but for the most part it was just painfully slow trial and error, hugging walls with the brakes on the whole time.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

Good use of lighting effects.

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great and beautiful game but too hard.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Unusual gameplay and interesting ideas. Sometimes rocks blocks the way out. Maybe it is better to remove them on respawn. I like lighting effects.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Great graphics and interesting gameplay. Very difficult - I thought the first level was the entire game, before being disappointed upon completing it!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40am

This was pretty clever. I would play an expanded version of this game. Might make a fun Android game!

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Great sound effects. It's a strange and curious effect when the music stops and we can suddenly hear some strange sounds... Mobile vibro? Washing machine? Stirring someone's tea? I didn't even got what really was it! :D

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The game is quite fun! A bit hard but the game stills making me addicted lol. Good work!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cool game. Sometimes the rocks would get wedged in and I couldn't carry on. The lighting effects are awesome, though, and combined with the music it creates a good sense of mood.

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Hey, very great entry. I like the visuals and the audio. It is very very hard (at least for me), but I think that with the checkpoint system it is fair and it is very rewarding to reach the next one or the exit. The only problem I have are the controls. I needed to rotate my external keyboard, so I could really play it XD (add invert controls option ;) )
Have you thought of making a web port? Maybe you could reach some more players who don't have java installed.

AugustSnow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

Great puzzle game! The bouncing was a little too much IMHO but otherwise great gameplay and graphics!

Kotucz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:30am

Very nice for compo! But hard as f**k :-D I made it to mid 3rd or 4th level

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:08am

Great! Very unique gameplay, and very challenging yet fair :D I especially liked the lighting effects! I spent a good amount of time just getting through the first two levels, but I think I'll come back to it to see if I can finish!

giordanno92 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:20am

I liked the way this game sort of recycles the idea of the rotating world to control the character, we could think this is some sort of pinball type of game, but oh HELL, HOW FRUSTRATING IT IS, THOSE DAMN ROCKS, BLINKING RESPAWN LIGHTS... jokes aside, really nice game, I sincerely was not able to control myself on this one. My coordination always changes the left and right controls so it took me a little time to get used to it (not your fault, my fault). The lights and the sound are amazing (though I think the music made me little tense throughout the game) and the game idea is solid and straightforward.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice game with great lighting.

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:47am

Really interesting game, with some very cool effects that makes it quite unique. Like the music a lot. Great job! :)

May 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very nice aesthetics and sounds and concept. The way the levels were designed with sudden traps that you would hit without even having a chance of seeing them made the game not only hard, but frustrating as well. A shame, since the game seems surprisingly full of content.

mystakin says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Really dug the mood created by the lighting and the objects seeming to pulse a bit. I also thought the movement sound effect was awesome and satisfying in a strange way. Great work!

TobiasW says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Unusual and interesting gameplay - and I like the glowy neon visuals!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Really nice lighting and concept, it was a bit hard to navigate through the mazes rotating the whole level, but as I said I like the concept! :)

lightsoda says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:17am

Looks great, the gameplay could use some work. It's pretty much inevitable that you'll hit lights at some point, and I ended up frenetically flipping back and forth a few times to get into position.

May 14, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Interesting use of light. Quite moody. I like it!

jtpup0 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:45pm

You were right!, this was near the vision of my entry!, except I wasn't able to factor in hazards and gravity haha; very fun and surprisingly puzzle-ly. =)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]