Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spider Miner

by Brick - Jam Entry

(The jam version of this is barely playable in any way, there were some last-minute glitches with the spiders themselves and the title screens. Expect the post-jam to be much better.)

You are a miner trapped in the mines after a power failure, escape from the spiders and make it to the control room!

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys: Move
A, B, C, D Keys: Trigger Doors

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#620Innovation(Jam)2.45
#626Theme(Jam)2.57
#704Mood(Jam)2.18
#719Graphics(Jam)2.20
#731Fun(Jam)2.00
#766Overall(Jam)1.83
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

The game is barely playable- Other than that I don't see how you could ever make an interesting puzzle with these mechanics. ABCD are not good controls you should pick buttons that are close to each other on the keyboard.

Seme says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Didn't see any spiders in the game. Decent graphics. I think the ABCD keyboard buttons as door triggers was kinda funny choice. Specially the A button because game had WASD controls as well. So as you triggered A trigger, you moved the miner to the left as well. Anyway, nice job!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44pm

The door triggers are an interesting puzzle mechanic. Would have been cool to see that explored a bit more with a couple different levels.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I appreciate the effort, but didn't enjoy the control setup.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:35am

I think you have the groundwork for a good puzzle. Definitely needs to be tweaked to make it more difficult though.

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:34pm

I'm confused. I didn't see any spiders. And once I made it to the control room, nothing happened.

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Not much more than a moving (and spinning :P) player sprite and some controllable doors at the moment. I feel like the mechanic could be taken somewhere with lava or the aforementioned spiders though. Maybe both. Or maybe the game should take place in space!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 4, 2014 @ 8:30am

Not sure what was the puzzle :v. Got to the control room and nothing happened :v

Boodog says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Nice job, okay graphics. Where are the spiders though? The controls are a bit weird, but whatever!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]