Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Metro Lance

by theholychicken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rush through the underground Metro to blow up your target from below!

-----Controls-----
Movement: WASD Keys
Ride Tracks: S KEY
Fire Weapon: Mouse

-----Tips-----
The game is beatable! Here are some pointers:

- Machinegun fire is least dense in the middle of the tunnel. Try to stay in the middle by jumping regularly.

- Save your double jump! If you double jump too early you'll be vulnerable tanks on the ceiling, and you won't be able to avoid machinegun fire below you when you need the second jump.

- Not riding the rails make you slower but you regenerate your health twice as quickly. Being slower also gives you more time to react to machineguns.

- The tanks spawn on a timer, the slower you make progress, the more concentrated they will be! Don't stop moving forward or you'll face an impossible blockade!

See if you can get to the ending! Good luck!


V1.008:
-Bug fixed where the game continues after player dies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#130Graphics3.93
#401Fun3.20
#866Overall2.87
#912Innovation2.59
#922Humor1.91
#1022Audio1.50
#1036Mood2.41
#1094Theme2.38

Comments

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Hey, it's not a web link if I have to download it, eh? Heh...

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Awesome artwork :)

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40am

This game need some audio.
And this game looks like some crazy anime :D

Majsmanne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49am

You've got the basics of a cool game here, but it suffers heavily from the lack of music and sound effects. The connection to the theme is somewhat weak.

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Great art style. Agreed that the game really needs audio - even crappy beeps would give a degree of feedback that's lacking. Don't see the connection to the theme myself, but I haven't beat it. Again, very pretty. Love the aesthetic.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

Neat artstyle! Wouldve been cool with some sound effects!
Also there seems to be a bug when i die that lets me just continue moving forward to the end!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

Neat game with neat graphics. Agreed that it needs audio.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58am

Haha thanks for the comments guys,

The game is in an underground metro tunnel.. The idea is that the player penetrates the underground defenses and bomb the enemy headquarters. I ran out of time to do any in-game exposition so there it is...

If you get to the ending though it will make a *bit* more sense.

Audio effects is completely Greek to me right now. Something I came to believe a while ago is that crap is not always better than nothing.
It's definitely the next step for me to learn music and audio though. Right now I'm trying to get better at graphics.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Most Awesome Weapon of Ludum Dare goes to....

Liked it.
A fun and addictive game according to me.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I like fast paced games, but audio is an important part of feedback in this kind of game.
This game's got potention. Tweak it up :)

Also, bug report:
I've died midway and kept shooting AND walking

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great art, needs some sort of audio.

Also, maybe I'm the only one, but when I die I sort of keep going as a ghost...Like, the screen keeps scrolling, and shots still "hit" me (well, hit the air where my character would be) and I can beat the game if I wait until I reach the end...

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff18/Dominator_101/LudumDare/metro3_zps26d7bcf4.gif
(gifs a bit zoomed in, and crappy framerate, but you should get the idea)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very nice graphics. The gamesegment is a bit dragged out it could be half as long without any problem. Actual gameplay seem to rely too much on simply being in the air all the time. It was nice that the game had an ending.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I like it! Especially the graphics, and it's a fun bullet helly hard game!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Very entertaining, loved the enemy sprites. Good work!

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29pm

IF you make a button (such as to shoot the gun) you should give players a reason to not press the button. you just hold it down all the time

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

@ NukeTheBunnys
Interesting point, but I think it slightly strengthens the interaction between the player and the game to have to hold down something.
It's all about the perception of cause & effect. Players want to cause an effect in the game. If the game does something without player input it weakens the bond and sense of satisfaction.
Thats just my theory anyway :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

Really nice gameplay there! I really like the camera work too. The lack of sound is such a pity. I got a bug were I died and still was able to keep playing as a floating explosion? ;)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Very fun to shoot in this game. The game is a bit hard though and unclear what the bars at the top left of the screen are doing. Was riding the rails giving me health or draining me of health? Neither? I wasn't sure. There was also a really weird bug that when I died it just let me keep playing w/o a body and nothing could hurt me. Oh, also it messed up my mouse cursor (a funny scraggly blue line is now below it) after playing your game. Weird! :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:16am

@HybridMind
Your health(the blue bar) regenerates. Riding rails slows your regeneration by half.
The red one is the distance toward your goal.

P.S. That's odd about your mouse cursor. It's most likely a temporary glitch with Windows.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23am

Cool game! Love the graphics and the bullet hell gameplay. It's difficult but it should be. Also had the dying bug and then kept on running. I guess it gets pretty stale getting told over and over about the audio... so I'm looking forward to a post-compo version.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31am

Really good game, amazing... it feels smooth as butter. Sadly, it has no audio, which is really important for player feedback...

This games has all it needs to be a super Juicy game... If you do not know what I mean, look at this...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg

Penguincat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23am

Awesome graphics and fun gameplay. It'd definitely benefit a lot from some music and/or sound effects, but in the meantime, given the art style, I've been playing it to the Tron Legacy soundtrack. It's a good combo!

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Visuals are pretty nice and it feels really smooth but it didn't really play that well. Needs some audio too!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Looks very nice, although It seems pretty buggy, I died in like 3 seconds due to the bullet...stream? But after the character died I was able to keep playing, with an invisible and invincible character lol...

May 1, 2014 @ 1:04am

I just fixed the bug where the screen and weapon continues after you died.
Now you see an death screen and have an option to restart.
Bug fixes are allowed after compo so I think this is fine :D

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:19am

Taking the idea of a "rail shooter" a little seriously, huh? :)

Fun game, though! Good work!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:23am

Pretty good game!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:47am

Pretty simple, but still fun. Agreed that a bit of audio would have been really nice.

mjrevel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:50am

I beat it, YAY!!!! Fun game, wish it wasn't missing audio

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:02am

Fun action, but it gets a bit long. Also kind of un-fun for three machine guns to spawn back to back.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:02pm

WOW, I am stunned that you played our game with such effort.
You can beat the game if you kill around 1200, or was it 2000 (?), enemies at the sun temple.
We were also surprised that you can actually beat it. However the game crashes if you win :-D

Big thank you for testing our game with that depth. <3

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really needed some fast paced music to make it feel better, just listened to some random fast techno song from youtube while playing :P. I also agree with what yo_milo said about the juicyness. This could feel so damn epic if polished. Could use some balancing, just staying at the middle most of the time with double jump was too easy. Finished it on my second try. Cool ending.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Neat on rails (and off) shooter. I kind of felt I would have had more fun being able to take out the enemies (with explosion sounds!) rather than just jump through the middle of them all only taking out some of the smaller bots. I loved the graphics. I think with some sound, music, and a little balancing this would have improved it greatly. Nonetheless, it's a good game.

praporomsk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:00pm

The most dynamic game on this LD so far :) Bravo!

shadow64 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:00am

I enjoyed this a lot. It's a little too difficult, but that's okay. I like a challenge and once I figured out the controls it wasn't so bad at all. :)

I also agree with the people who have said the game needs audio. If you had been able to use a song generator to create a cool cyber punk tune I would've been REALLY into it.

I could definitely see this being a longer game you've set things up nicely and the art style is great.

Thanks for sharing! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]