Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Splitted

by CodeHat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*EDIT* Made jumping slightly easier and reduced gravity a bit. But it's difficult anyway ;)

HayHo,
before you play my game
I recommend to read the description,

in "Splitted" you are a person who has lost his soul.
He was splitted into two parts.
- His body (it is on the surface)
- His soul (it is beneath the surface)
You control the body and the soul AT THE SAME TIME
and you have to try to merge with your soul.

Controls:

- Movement: Left/Right Arrowkey
- Jump: Up Arrowkey

Important:

- Stone Bricks: Can be pushed by going against them
- Spears/Spikes: Will kill you and you have to restart
- The camera only follows your body, so if your soul
is out of the screen, you have lost!

This was my third LD and was really funny. I have learned
how useful Tilemaps are ;)

The game is short but hard to play :D
Maybe I'll continue the game and port it to Android.

Tools I have used:

- Programming: Construct 2
- Art: Assprite/Paint.NET
- Sounds: SFXR
- Music:
~ Rain/Thunder background sound from http://freesound.org
~ Game music made with Figure for iOS
- Fonts: All from http://dafont.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#147Theme3.77
#394Audio3.00
#451Graphics3.32
#468Mood3.08
#487Innovation3.15
#640Overall3.10
#844Humor2.03
#912Fun2.61

Comments

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

Very cool game, I enjoyed playing it. I liked the puzzly elements and the overall graphical look of the game.

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

I like the graphics and the mood, but pixel jumps are so hard to do correctly..

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

Very nice audiovisual presentation and a great concept. I feel like the jumping is WAAAAY too unforgiving though. Maybe I just suck but its very frustrating getting stuck when you know what you are supposed to do but can't get the precision timing and positioning right to actually make it through. Could have maybe used checkpoints or something.

CodeHat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

I know jumping is a bit hard. The collision polygon aren't the best. I will look if I change the collision a bit.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

Really col game :D
Pixel collision makes it a bit hard but the overall its really good.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Wow, and html5? very cool

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Great graphics, and i have to concur with the people about the jump. Other than that. Really great job in just 2 days! :)

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

Pretty ok game, didnt take my interest for too long though. And yes, the jumps are way to hard to implement.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

Really well polished game with nice art, but really hate the jumping.

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

cool idea, give a little more wiggle room when jumping please

CodeHat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Uploaded the updated version: Better jumping with slightly lower gravity ;)

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

ooh, it is pretty tough, I think im stuck on the 6,7th spike

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

Very challenging. I love the music, and the concept/mechanic is really fun!

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It's really hard!

mess110 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

i like it. for some reason it was using a lot of chrome's resources

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Pretty difficult! I can't say that I haven't seen this idea before, but I love the way it's executed :D

oal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

This game is hard, but I think it fits the mood. Kind of dark and scary. The music is simple, but doesn't get annoying even though it loops very often. Good job!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

That one jump is really hard, but I like this a lot! Great music too.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Enjoyed the music for this, also like the dual character mechanic a lot too. Tricky!!

CodeHat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Maybe I'll make some more levels ;)

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

I think the movement could be more polished, but is a good game with a good theme. Would love to play a polished game in this style

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

I really wanted to get farther into this game but jumping over some of the obstacles was almost impossible. Really cool art, nice concept, I think this just needs to be tweaked a bit to make it more playable.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Very challenging! I spent a good 30 minutes on it. Was pretty frustrated at first because the jump doesn't feel quite right, but I pulled through :D Game is well done!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Like the challenge of controlling two players at once, although the level design is a bit tight early on. Makes some jumps really difficult.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:58am

This is best way to use the theme so far.
But harder then f**king Dark Souls.

Nice job!

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29am

Cool concept, but man is the difficulty extreme. Maybe the hitboxes on the sprites should be a few pixels smaller.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03am

Smaller hitboxes on hazards and a little more power in the jump would make this a lot less frustrating. Nice idea, though!

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

this is pretty hard :D

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

I only was able to get past a few spikes before gettingfrustrated at the low margin of error and quitting. I really want to play further since this looks like an awesome game, can you change the jump's 'hang time' or something?

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I honestly tried to finish it, but it is not hard, it is CRAZY HARD. But what I've seen looks really promising. If just the jumping was a bit easier...

mtrc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:59am

Really hard to play. I couldn't jump over even the first set of spikes :( Nice work though.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great concept but too hard to be really enjoyable. You should make the player jump higher and give him some 3 life points cause permadeath is too frustrating.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:50am

Ok. I understand. This game not about beneath the surface but about pixel-hunting and precious jumping =)

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:12am

Interesting idea, but very difficult. I think the body character at topside blends much too much with the background, making it very difficult to judge when to jump. It's hard enough with the attention split to judge exactly when I can safely jump in both worlds. Making the graphics somewhat larger would help, but you really need to improve contrast between the character and the background.

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Blah blah blah the jumping... ;) Other than that, cool game.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Movement should be bit faster ;)

namuol says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice atmosphere, concept, and graphics, but I have to agree with the others; the platforming is -painfully- touchy.

If you ever have the time, read through the "Sonic Physics Guide": http://info.sonicretro.org/Sonic_Physics_Guide

It's a little on the long/detailed side, but it's a great reference whenever you're implementing the jump/run controls of any platformer.

You don't have to copy the same "physics" of the Sonic series, but there's a lot of subtle tricks they use to make the run & jump -feel- a lot more "natural". I've never seen a better write-up on the subject.

Cheers!

jsmars says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Fun game but really unforgiving! I actually thought we would se more games like this, I had a similar idea from the start too.. you did it really well!

May 17, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Super challenging platformer.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]