Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Dream

by denvil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sometimes you just want to go and explore your dreams.

Controls:
Movement Arrows and Space
Attacks Left Ctrl and Alt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#230Humor3.04
#340Graphics3.50
#548Audio2.79
#579Mood2.96
#586Overall3.16
#832Fun2.71
#984Innovation2.48
#1042Theme2.50

Comments

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:22am

The graphics are pretty nice, especially that bubble rainbow effect. It took me a while to get a hang of jumping, but once I figured out how to do the high double jump consistently it made the game a lot funner (relative velocity for the jump). The physics could be better, you get stuck on stuff all the time which doesn't feel great. Jump through platforms would be my go to for this style of game. I managed to beat every level. However I thought the last level was a boss that I could kill, and with ctrl as attack, I hit my windows key and chose to shutdown my computer by mistake! Not my ideal choice of key, but to each their own. Later figured out you didn't have to beat up the guy... It's nice though that all the scores are saved! Is there anything suppose to happen after all levels are beat? Maybe I didn't beat them good enough

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45am

It runs on linux! :) Things i didnt like: having to wait for a platform when the games times you, enemies at the beginning of platforms you need to jump onto.

I liked the graphics and mood.
Each planet is too similar.

I dont know how it fits with the theme.
Good job nevertheless! :)

pansapiens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Great bright fun graphics & the character is nicely animated. The level selection screen is a wonderful addition too - much more fun than a typical grid of icons. If I were to nitpick, I'd say make the tutorial text color contrast more against the background - it was a little tough to read at times. Lighting on the trees looks cool (I couldn't quite tell if these were pre-rendered billboards Donkey Kong Country-style, or using Unity's lightmapping and ambient occlusion). Gameplay wise, I'd like to be able to hit while in the air to smack enemies as I fly in. Also agree the "Windows" key got in the way of the key mappings - the z/x/c row is usually better and often used. Unity's standard CharacterController isn't ideal (eg, capsule slips off edges) but it's a lot of work to make anything better quickly from scratch ... so ... yeh :)

denvil says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

z/x/c row would have been better but I run out of time and didn't really think this. I managed to kill game braking bugs and upload this version when the was only 1h left so polishing the game was little thigh on time. But at least it is running

All graphics were done in Blender using Cycles rendering. I don't even want to think what you would need to do to make this style graphics inside Unity.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice little platformer. One tip from me: if you used rigidbody from unity physics, turn on interpolation, because the character doesn't visually appear to move fluently.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Slap the apples, slap the turtles! Great game, beautiful graphics!

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Impressive work for 48 hours. Nice graphics and I like the self-aware humor in the tutorial.

I feel like the gameplay needed some kind of twist though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

wow, an amazing amount of content for LD game! abot 10 or 20 levels and a proper menu interface! i think i actually prefered the menu mechanic to the real game - maybe use this for a new game? i wasn't too keen on killing turtles, poor turtles.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

This is Beatiful! So colorful relaxing and big. You really surprised me doing all of that levels in such a short time!

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

cool idea and all art elaboration.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Excellent game, I really love the visuals. The game-play is very fun too. Sometimes however, the physics where a little funky such as really high double jump if you press it quickly and getting stuck in the sides of platforms.

Overall a great amount of content, one of my favorite games so far.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Was quite glitchy for me

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

The level selection was awesome. I wish the whole game was in that 2D-Mario-Galaxy style.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

Awesome game man!

Lancelot Gao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:58am

The graphics is done very well in 48 hours.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:48am

good

elefantopia says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:48am

Very cute graphics and music. The tutorial was very well put together. Takes awhile to perfect the very high jumping while moving forward. Great work!

May 5, 2014 @ 11:42pm

You should allow the fast punch while jumping; makes it more useful, and more balanced.

Don't handle jumps by adding a force. Set the velocity directly. That way the player can expect a constant height every time they jump. (It may be less realistic, but a double jump isn't quite realistic to begin with.)

You usually want to put camera movement in LateUpdate. Otherwise there's a slight stutter when the character moves a lot (like on the stage select).

Likewise, for smoother results, you should use Update along with Time.deltaTime rather than FixedUpdate.

Tutorial is a bit on the long side; next time you might want to consider making it either optional or integrated into the game's normal flow.

Overall fun game. Audiovisuals are pretty groovy.

Good work!

May 5, 2014 @ 11:44pm

"Likewise, for smoother results, you should use Update along with Time.deltaTime rather than FixedUpdate."

I meant for character movement. Sorry.

Jezzamon says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Wow, I assumed this was a jam entry because of the graphics and the amount of levels! Good job!

Classic autogenerated music.

Good things about this game:
- Graphics
- Quite a few levels. Good job with that!

Things I thought this game lacked:
- Perhaps a more interesting song? (Although obviously that's hard within the time limit)
- An interesting game mechanic. It's pretty much a standard platformer. I think then the lack of polish that is a general result of being a game jam game become more obvious, because there's not really anything this game has over other platformers.

I personally would rather less levels and more mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]