Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Statement of Randolph Carter - Eirikir - Jam Entry

The statement of Randolph Carter is a 2D short point and click videogame - interactive story inspired by the small tale of the same name by HP Lovecraft ( READ IT! ). The game follows the journey that Harley Warren makes to an underground mausoleum where he finds unimaginable things while he communicates them to Randolph Carter by telephone.

Use Headphones and try to be in a dark place.

Just in case:

Left Click to move.
Right Click to interact with BOOK STANDS and Marked Stones.

Thank you for playing !.

Creators:
Daniela Coyotzi --- @dunia_50
Jose Dorado ---- @jdv_null

Sound from opengameart.org

View Eirikir's journal. | View all entries by Eirikir

Ratings

#21Mood(Jam)4.22
#22Graphics(Jam)4.56
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#81Theme(Jam)3.78
#92Overall(Jam)3.70
#282Fun(Jam)3.15
#395Innovation(Jam)2.96
#513Humor(Jam)2.20
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Wonderful ! Amazing ! Beautiful ! Superb but a little too short :/. But the ambience is here ! Nice job (wo)mens !

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Best atmosphere out of any game I've played so far.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Gorgeously presented and wonderfully atmospheric, if a little short, sweet and linear.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Very tense atmosphere but also very short. Well executed.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

This is bomb, such amazing art, great tone.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Not bad.
Good atmosphere!

shubshub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

It was a Bit to Dark for my taste but it was a Really strange game I kinda Liked it Video will be Up Later

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

great atmosphere, loved the pixel art, and nice lighting effects. Well done :)

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Short and sweet. The lighting and smoke effects are ace, as is the rest of the atmosphere! It'd be cool to be able to aim the torch to look around a bit more, it's pretty dark! :)

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

AMAZING atmosphere and the visuals were great too, lovely pixel art and lighting. The text speed was a touch slow, and I wasn't completely sure what I could and couldn't right click on, but overall a great experience. Need to go read that Lovecraft story now :D

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:53pm

PERFECT, nothing to add!

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Good atmosphere! I would've liked more actions and more decisions to the player. But in overall is good! I'll have to read the original tale by Lovecraft :-)

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:26am

Tense and gorgeous, with beautiful visual and audio design! I especially appreciated your decision to have the flashlight obscure the character--so that it's really unclear as to what's happening to him.

As someone largely unfamiliar with Lovecraft's works, I had a really hard time following the story at all, let alone figuring out who was who, and what was happening. It seemed like it was pretty grim and dark (and at the end, it turned out that someone on the phone was dead?), but otherwise I could not figure out the gist of what the actual *action* was. I am not sure how to fix this--again, being unfamiliar with the source material--but it might be something to keep in mind.

I'd also, of course, like to see more interactivity--it's a game, after all ;] It's especially important for a property that's already based on something entirely linear and choice-free!

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Not a whole lot of gameplay, but those smoke/light effects are really gorgeous. Nice moody ambiance too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]