Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Big Blue

by Impmaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Based on the movie of the same name, but a lot less macho and a lot less atmospheric.

Dive down as deep as possible, but beware the exotic fish, as they will eat you. Remember, you have to have enough air to come back up or you will lose all your oxygen!

Arrow keys to move, space to move faster but lose air at a dramatic rate.

Made with Monkey X.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#523Humor2.47
#537Theme3.29
#607Fun2.96
#797Innovation2.73
#852Mood2.65
#928Overall2.79
#1204Graphics1.93
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Can't start because openAL32.dll is missing from your computer. I found this dll (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/86120857/OpenAL32.dll) and put it next to MonkeyGame.exe The fish aren't spawning when you dive for me, it's just an empty ocean.

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:05am

Okay I've fixed all the gamebreaking bugs and ported the game to Windows, Mac, and Web. Everyone, the game is open to try and critique and to laugh at cause it has my graphics.

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14am

Good simple game, and the oxygen meter adds a nice touch of risk reward gameplay.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:16am

Nice little game, its like submarine Frogger. Maybe difficulty could be more progressive ( less fishies at the beginning) and you could make some powerups to spice up the gameplay a bit :)

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21am

Hey this is pretty cool :]! I like the way the game gives you resource management challenges. You have to decide when to start resurfacing, when you try to navigate around fish instead of stopping for them, and when to use the space bar!

One issue I do have with the game are that the controls don't seem very intuitive? Or at least it confused me at first why up made me go down and left made me go right and right made me go left. It wasn't until I got to the resurfacing part that it become clearer to me. (That it's using steering controls). I think having some instructions in game would help a lot, for people like me who don't read game descriptions before trying them. (I didn't know you had to resurface at first, I thought you were just supposed to swim as deep as you could ;D).

Also, I didn't test it much, but is using the space bar beneficial? Or does it drain more air per distance?

I think it's pretty cute that the rainbow fish eat you :]!

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:36am

Using the space bar makes you lose air faster than if you had gone down the same distance at a regular speed.

Hypnohustla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:46am

Cute little game. Having to resurface was a nice design choice. :)

Aomeas says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:03am

Well, the fact that you have to go back after your way down is good. Reminds me of Gattaca :3

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:06am

Oh haha I hadn't even thought of Gattaca when I was making this, but that one swimming scene summarizes this game really well. :D

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:33am

I loved it! Really! Super simple but super great! :D I almost got 400m, I saw the sky, but :( :D Well done!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice simple game, like the resurfacing aspect and that you have to decide how far you push yourself.

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:48am

Pretty cool!

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Fun simple game, nice risk reward thing with having to decide when to resurface. Best score surviving:369m best depth without even trying to survive: 838m :P

May 1, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Cool game. Graphics aren't that great (I do like the font tho), since it lacks animation and the fish are super saturated, but it's still a fun game to play.

-SPOILER-
I grinned when I found out that I could *win* the game by going up. Nice feature. :p
-SPOILER END-

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:04am

I like the resurfacing aspect, its tricky to judge how far you can push yourself down before you have to turn back. It would be nice if there were more power-ups or something to add more variety.

xerohuang says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Fun game. :) How about using Mouse to control?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]