Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Atlantis Explorer

by Integershift - Jam Entry

Welcome to Atlantis Explorer! You are a world famous explorer, however, your submarine crashed, miles underwater and miles away from help! But a strange city lurks underwater... You must find parts to repair your submarine, and escape! A game by Integershift Game Development for Ludum Dare 29 Game Jam You can also play our game on Kongregate; http://www.kongregate.com/games/IntegerShift/atlantis-explorer Here is the Bandcamp: https://integershift.bandcamp.com/track/atlantis-explorer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#345Humor(Jam)2.64
#483Audio(Jam)2.76
#525Overall(Jam)2.95
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#572Mood(Jam)2.70
#620Innovation(Jam)2.45
#684Graphics(Jam)2.39

Comments

ZQMony says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

There is quite a bit of content, but its a bit annoying how long it takes for the character to move vertically.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Appreciated the instructions on the first page. Fun to explore around and see your humor!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

Same sentiments as ZQ. Was a little difficult to navigate, and tedious to go into so many empty buildings.

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

Overall I rather enjoyed this entry. The music was very nice, and although the game was short, the exploration was fun. Nice job!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

That was a neat little point and click type game. I ran into an issue though, if you get pinned against the left wall with a rock. I liked that there was some variety in what you had to do to get the parts.

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37am

Quite basic but worked fine.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Well done! I liked the music, but I agree with the sentiments about the vertical movement.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Nice, short, sweet and simple. It takes a bit to move vertically, but it was certainly a charming little game to play!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58am

I got steel plate, propeller and periscope, but now I'm stuck... nowhere else to go, no keys...

Galdon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

It would probably help if the NPCs said something when you click on them when you don't have what they need already in hand, as I did not know they could talk at all until halfway through.

Something that may or may not be a bug I noticed is that doors do not require you to be near them, allowing you to skip past most of a screen of swimming by clicking the door closest to where you want to go.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

I liked moving around and exploring. It was fun, but when I went down the ladder a rock pinned me to the left and I died.

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Thanks for all the feedback, guys!

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I liked the amount of content, and the music is nice. The only thing I suggest changing is the movement speed to something a bit faster (vertically).

jedeen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44am

The premise was interesting. Navigating through doors was a little difficult, but the exploration was fun.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45am

I like the idea of using Atlantis as the basis; however, the game wasn't the most playable I've seen; some of the villagers don't seem to talk when clicked on (which made me think they were just decoration until I learned otherwise). There isn't a need for the money/food as the time it would take to get the extra 9 coins from the underneath area would cost more than the 30 in food you'd get (and it's not needed for finishing the game). I also wish the edges were better defined. I kept trying to go further to see where the new areas were (the ladder was a nice hint for the underneath area though). All in all, an average entry.

otato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18am

Solid job all around.

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Really nice, graphics are a bit simple but there is a lot of things to do for a 72hours game !

May 2, 2014 @ 2:13am

Not bad at all! It kept me going. I didn't find movement annoying once I figured out you can click to a door from anywhere on the screen. Good Job!

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:32am

Lovely game, I like it a lot! :)

Greeso says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Great game. I enjoyed it. I like the fact there are different ways to collect your items. Great game planning in such a short time. This can be the seed of a larger game. The game's simplicity is the reason for its beauty. I suggest two things to improve navigation:

1. As every one else mentioned, vertical navigation should be as fast as horizontal navigation

2. You are combining mouse clicks (for the doors) and keyboard navigatoin for the movement. I suggest using only one navigation set; therefore instead of a mouse click to talk to people or to open the doors, maybe you use a space bar. It makes it easier on the keyboard.

Those are minor suggestions however, this was developed in 72 hours only. So great job overall.

May 19, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Very nice game. I like the idea. Good job for 72 hours. :)
I agree with Greeso in his second suggestion...
...and it would be nice to see it with better graphics!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]