Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Sheep

by Boneloaf - Jam Entry

The sheep is lost in an underground cave.

Can you help it to find it's way to the surface?

W - Up
A - Left
S - Down
D - Right
SPACE - Jump
Escape - Menu

Press 'Tab' to configure keys.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Graphics(Jam)4.41
#95Humor(Jam)3.50
#138Mood(Jam)3.62
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#286Fun(Jam)3.14
#418Innovation(Jam)2.89
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Evilion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

You guys really make funny stuff ! Keep it up !

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

Too much dynamic lighting kills my poor laptop, but the game looks good and I love how the sheep "bounces around".

A dynamic camera could've helped, because everything looks so small and sometimes it's hard to figure out where to go.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

It's super fun to play and I love the little sheep.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

As others have said - would have loved to have seen the GangBeats style dynamic camera on this! Lovely graphics and I really wanted to get that sheep out of there.. :)

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I agree on the camera point as well. Really pretty entry though. Well done. :)

leonalchemist says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

could you please make a window exe for it? too laggy to play on web, great sheep controller, cant rly play it but like the feel of it

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52am

Great visuals and simple but tight controls, I like it. Maybe spicing up the challenge a bit can help.

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40am

The second screen doesn't load for me. Just black. Mac OS / Chrome :(

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01am

Love how the character looks, sounds and controls, but the fixed camera made it too hard to know where to go.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10am

Really amazing art but also somewhat infuriating gameplay, the sheep controls really difficult (doesn't always jump when you press jump, doesn't always move when you press move).

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

nice work! really liked the music!

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

That really took some beating, especially the 3rd stage. Very impressive :)

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The animation of that sheep is perfect. The camera was hard to use, but it really added to the mood! Great work!

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:03am

This game is really awesome !
The moves of the ship madden
The graphics are fantastic !
(with a music/sound, it would been perfect)

Wertle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:01am

The delightful bouncing of the sheep made up for the fact that I drove him to his death repeatedly because of my inability to map up/down to isometric up/down. Very cute :)

May 1, 2014 @ 9:24am

i love the graphics and the game is fun to play, however a little bit laggy/unresponsive

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:15am

Loved the mood and graphics :)
but I didn't find the controls very easy when the sheep is far

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

great graphics!

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:25am

Beautiful game, but steering is too hard

renatopp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Best sheep animation ever!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Escape DOES NOT open a menu. All that progress lost, like sheep in a cave.
Then I got back to what I assume was the final room, from the white light coming from the exit, and got stuck in the geometry.
It's also really hard to tell where some jumps will take you with some of the camera angles.

Regardless, this is a pretty fun entry and the ambiance is spot on.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]