Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Within The Skin

by Stratovarius - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click the crawling creatures to squish them
Don't let them harm your precious skin (they're crawling in a very sensitive area!)

Left mouse button is the only control needed to play

Escape to pause
R to restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#395Humor2.68
#629Fun2.94
#758Mood2.77
#759Theme3.03
#788Overall2.94
#823Innovation2.70
#879Graphics2.65

Comments

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

I loved it,,,, nice swarm propose about the theme... great work!!!

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Hmm... I can't run it. When I double-click on the file, it says, "Windows cannot find 'C:\Users\Devon\Desktop\Within The Skin.exe'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again.

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

60 Score oh yeah!

(DO I REALLY HAVE ANTS WITHIN MY SKIN? =O)

TomboFry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Eeeurgh, this is disgusting... Just what I like! I only managed to get 79 points though (I've no idea if that's a terrible score or not) because they moved so fast

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Ewwwwwww!

frankbsad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

nice variety of enemies.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Classical but nice ^^ Now you can try to give us more power!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Bugs a little small in my opinion. But love different behaviours of each type of bug!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

OMG trying to click those small things is crazy making! I got 65 points and couldn't take the stress, haha. Also it appears to be all above the screen and not below, despite the name.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice! We had pretty similar ideas on this one. Who thought "buggy" games could be so fun?

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Simple but pretty good for testing your mouse skills!

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:35am

ERRR this is disgusting, in a good way, it got addictive very quickly lolz, congrats for this game

Pixlexia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25am

I scored 75, nice little game! I like how there are lots of different enemy types, it makes the game less repetitive and more challenging. Some improvements you could make would be adding "squish" sound effects when the bugs get killed, that would be really satisfying! Also, this would make a good mobile game. Keep it up!

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Great, now I'm really itchy and paranoid...thanks... :P

Anyway, I liked that each enemy had really unique movements, like the fleas and flies and ticks. Nice!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:55am

Another organic variation of theme! Great! But hope I don't have swarm like these under the skin ;D

Mobile version should be funny.

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:34pm

my best score is 93. you should make hit zone larger than ennemies and spawn more to balance it :)

May 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

WOW AWESOME GAME!!!! I love the graphics of the bugs! Also its very awesome how the Fly just leaves eggs and then just pops those white things and later more Flys!! Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]