Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Subaquaneam Croceum

by technocf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Subaquaneam Croceum is a game where you have control of a mad scientist who finds himself in a bit of a sticky situation. You have to help the scientist to swim to his submarine to escape from drowning in a deep underwater cave.

This game was written entirely in pure JavaScript and HTML5 canvas. I used my game engine that you can find publicly on Github for anyone to use (https://github.com/technocf/Ultraviolent).

The controls are as follows:

W or UP - Swims up
S or DOWN - Swims down
A or LEFT - Swims left
D or RIGHT - Swims right

To win you must swim to the submarine located at the opposite side of the map to where you spawn. On the way you can collect more air from bubbles. You may want to avoid the fish as they steal your oxygen.

Have fun playing, share with your friends.

- TechnoCF

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Graphics3.67
#278Overall3.47
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Loved it. Had amazing conversations with fishes!

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Dancing with fishes :D

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Nicely done, this game is really fun to play !

technocf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

Thank you everyone for your positive feedback. :D

dcolgan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Pretty cool mood and graphics, though a bit hard to collect all the science in time.

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Low FPS to the point where it was unplayable -- something like 0.1-0.2 fps. CPU usage shot to 100% and stayed there until I closed the tab. Firefox 26.0, Xubuntu Linux on a Core i7 laptop.

(don't worry, I didn't rate.)

technocf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:18am

Snild, Firefox is not really the browser for HTML5 games. It'd have been fine in Chrome or a good browser like that.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:33am

Insanely hard game.
But the style is soooo retro with its C64 feel.
Also it's a bit like infotainment!

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I'm the man who speak to fish.

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:37am

Nice retro graphics. And the game itself is kinda fun, the air could decrease a little slower though. So that there would be more time to speak with the fish :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]