Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Berserker

by SteveSalmond - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Berserker you're a mighty barbarian suffering from anger management issues. Your inner rage boils away just beneath the surface, and can be unleashed at any moment!

Controls:
- WSAD/Arrow keys to move
- Move Mouse to swing your swords
- Left mouse button to use a potion and GO BERSERK!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Humor4.03
#23Fun4.04
#45Graphics4.30
#73Overall3.88
#113Mood3.71
#175Innovation3.67
#187Audio3.42
#623Theme3.19
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

meek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:02am

Sublime. Did you do all the artwork yourself in that time? Utterly impressed! Love that you can lose limbs but carry on, though slightly hobbled.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05am

Wow, thanks a lot meek! :D Yeah, I did the art with my Wacom tablet. Wanted to make a ton more environment art, but simply ran out of time.

calvinsm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

Crazy Berserker

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13am

Loved the game! Good Job!

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

This game is just great fun. After losing a few limbs and still moving forward its definitely one of my favorites this time around.

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

So jealous of you artist types! Fun game, great style, and yeah limbs falling off rules. Good show.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

That was awesome. Only problems were: it was kind of short, there were too many berserker potions, and things got behind you really easy.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

Thanks guys! :D

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Graphics are really top notch. Best I've seen in a compo!

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54am

Utterly ridiculous. Huge fun. The controls could be tighter, and the volume is a little out of control when the player dies...But otherwise, I'm impressed at the amount of art you got done and the hilarity of the physics.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

The music really fits and the fighting mechanic is charming, good stuff.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Wow this is... so amazing. Derpy and hilarious!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

Haha! I legitimately loled!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

incredible

Contacaton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

So..... When's the full version?

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

WOW! I losed my legs, but i keep going :)!
Great work!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

great all around; save points could have made this game less tedious because it was so easy to die. The movement was hilarious. His face reminded me of a titan from Attack of the Titans. Great mood overall, and really fun!

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Hilarious game. Really nice execution overall (pun intended -.-).

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Hahahah! Awesome!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

This game is hilarious. Well done! I love that you can start to "go to pieces" without dying. It gives the game even more derpy charm.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Very nice! Interesting way of approaching the theme, and it was fitting that using the potions didn't always mean you survived longer, but only decreased your control of the player.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00am

Die by the swords!

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

we play with two players, it was pretty fun!
But why berserk don't make we invincible?????

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

Haha copain, that's awesome! I would never have thought to play the game in co-op mode.

I didn't make the player invincible, because to me berserking is all about reckless disregard for personal safety. Perhaps invincibility would be better from a gameplay point of view though - I dunno. Thanks for the feedback!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Awesome game!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

I like the sword swing mechanic. Pretty cool.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice game. I like the potion part, it reminds me of an old game The Castle Adventure. You had to drink beer to beat an enemy.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:14am

This is a crazy game... a really fun game. A lot of laughs when the berseker loses his arms. Good job!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:19am

Dagnabbit! You have to finish this game and release it! 5/5

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

oh my god this game is hilarious! its the total package, great art, super moody, completely over the top and silly. loved it!

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

wow, I didn't believe that such quality is possible in this short amount of time. Great work!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Fantastic! One of the best games I've played so far!

Hypnohustla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:42am

Well aren't you one goddamn talented fellow! :D Really great package! The controls added a lot to the humor, artwork was really beautiful, audio was top notch, an all around great entry! :)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:29am

Haha, I love how he swings what remains of his arm like crazy.

Great entry

May 1, 2014 @ 11:45am

This game is sooo fun!!! Really great art and I love how you can keep on without any legs left :) Reminds of that famous Holy grail scene with the black knight!

SteveSalmond says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

Tis but a flesh wound! :D

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Awesome! I love this game, thank you for making it!

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:42pm

This is awesome! Sadly felt a bit slow, but I love the concept and gameplay. Great job!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Great game!

May 1, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Such rage! This is amazing.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:54pm

so much fun! great job!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I am amaze.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

That was ridiculously fun. I discovered that using the swords as divining rods of death worked better than swinging them, but that was equally fun, especially when going backwards.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Yeah it's a bit like dowsing but with more blood, haha :) Thanks for the kind words Empyrealhell, means a lot to me!

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:28am

This is one of the most insane games I've ever played. The graphics are really good but the fact that you can loose body parts and still go (while listening to a music piece that made me really nervous), makes this a really unique and overall absolutely great Ludum Dare entry! The mood is just beyond words. Keep it up!

May 2, 2014 @ 10:27am

Awesome entry. Probably my favorite so far. Great art, great mechanics, great music (love the track). My only wish would be for checkpoints (still trying to finish it). Absolutely great effort.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:40am

Thanks George. I just played Sunk and it's brilliant! I felt so sad when the guy's head went under for the last time :( Hits you right in the feels.

Fib says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Physically based combat FTW! I love it. Great entry!

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:12pm

The art is great, also I liked the potion bottles hanging on the waist.

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very nice! It is great to feel the rage

May 5, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very fun, and definitely commendable for 48 hours. Wow!

May 7, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Dear god this is marvellous. I love the sqop-style swinging. The potions hanging at the character and rolling on the floor are great touches :D

SteveSalmond says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

Thanks a lot guys! :)

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:20pm

That was so metal I can't even hold my laughter. For some reason my berserker get's stuck any time I click the mouse button.
Even though "running" without legs and just one arm killing things really made my day.

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:35pm

P.S.: AWESOME

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:52am

Omg fun !!!!

May 16, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Reminds me of Happy Wheels haha. Really awesome art

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Wow... I played it thinking it was a jam game, but I just saw that it's a compo one... Nicely done!
Lot's of cool point for being able to rip each limb of enemies. XD

But controls felt clunky. Movement was floaty and the swords didn't move exactly like I wanted too... Although I was able to hit what I wanted.

Still, it's really fun! =D

May 22, 2014 @ 4:08pm

You've been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jy2lDh5LoGE

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]