Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond the Surface

by Artylo - Jam Entry

Explore the vast new world of the void, always changing, always new.
You are a reality fractal, a voyager in this savage dimension!
Fight your way through the hordes of reality fractals, gone mad by the secrets of the void.
Get to the gate, to proceed to the next world, till you finally find out about the void.
But, you are not without proper tools. Focus your void energy and fire a beam at your foes or conserve it and use it to fly through space for a short amount of time.
As the game develops, I'll be adding more levels and better art over time.

Your goal is the explore the void, kill your enemies and destroy The Quadracube and free the void.

You can check more of my work on Tumblr:
http://artylo.tumblr.com/

Or even follow me on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/MageArtylo

Check out the soundtrack at:
http://artyllo.bandcamp.com/album/the-voidwalker-ep

Controls (Arrow keys also work bu may be weird at times):
================
AD - to move
LMB - to fire
W - to jump
Shift - Void Mode

/*
* VOID MODE CAN ONLY BE USED WITH A FULL MANA BAR
* THIS WILL BE CHANGED AFTER THE VOTING PERIOD
*/

(WASD or Arrow Keys to move in void mode.)

Leave a rating, as you feel like. I'd love if you leave a comment. Just to hear what you think about the game.
Thank you all, for another amazing jam, and see you next time!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#275Audio(Jam)3.27
#373Mood(Jam)3.06
#417Humor(Jam)2.44
#418Innovation(Jam)2.89
#437Graphics(Jam)3.22
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#576Fun(Jam)2.59
#633Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

awesome idea :D I will steal it for other games ... muhaha (evil laugh) >:P

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I loved the graphics, and the sound effects were great. Control scheme took some getting used to. Might play better with a control pad?

eerongal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Ok, maybe i'm not understanding something here, but i can't seem to get past the first tall tower thing, and shift doesn't seem to DO anything when i press it. (windows version)

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Interesting mechanic but somewhat confusing, aesthetics are hit or miss but good looking overall.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I like it-- very well put-together intro and tutorial sequence. I think the game might be a bit glitchy for a puzzley sort of game though; if you can get past that, you'd have something really special on your hands.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

Cool idea, but the controls are confusing. It's also just not very challenging.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21am

@eerongal : That tower is a "switch gate". It is supposed to switch your movement type back to your platforming one. Shift is supposed to work with both the left and the right shift.
I cannot recreate this bug.

@Jason Lay : The control scheme doesn't really look bad. It's your standard keys (or WASD) with Shift and LMB.
I tried to make it pretty simplified.

@Balloonsfor600 : The idea was for it to not be very challenging, it's my take on the causal type of game, it's not really finished, due to lack of time, otherwise it would look very differently.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

The controls are a bit wonky, but I like the fact that you had an in-game tutorial. It's a sign of good design. I really wanted to have one in my game too, but I never had the time for it.

The graphics in the first level are very nice, especially the monochrome palette. I can see you were rushing to get the graphics done in the later levels but they are still serviceable.

Short, bizarre, but I had fun!

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

@kyyrma:
Thanks, I wanted to make more levels but school took it's toll and I had about 6 hours to fix everything from the previous day.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

I don't know why but SHIFT does not seem to work on my computer :(

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

It may be because you need a full mana(void) bar to use your power. Mana regenerates over time, while not shooting or using your power.

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I really enjoyed the mood of the synthetic speech. I would be happy if that was a constant voice over. Nice game to play through, could definitely get expanded on.

The controls were a bit unintuitive at first. If I understood void correct, it only worked when blue bar was full? It would have been nice to have a 'V' icon next to the two meters showing up when voiding was possible.

It also seemed like I could climb the pillars, but didn't fully grasp that mechanic.

An interesting glitch happened during the intro, when I upped the sound (loosing focus of the window), text continued scrolling but sound paused. When I clicked the menus, text stopped but sound continued.

Over all a nice game. Nice with an easy platformer for once -- to once in a while be able to complete an LD-game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

nice game! i took me quite some time to get over the first obstacle and even now i do not rly get what shift does.

i managed to kill the "boss" though and had quite some fun getting there (- :

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:03am

The looks of the game are nice. But shift did not work for me.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12am

This game has a great aesthetic but I was thoroughly confused while playing it. There isn't a whole lot of feedback on enemies hitting you so it doesn't quite feel impactful. I think it definitely has potential with only a few minor tweaks, though.

Also the last line of the title crawl should be "its". Yes, I went there.

kbm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

very cool idea, well executed! nicely done! <3

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:54am

Cool use of the theme! Graphics are fine to me! Nice game

May 1, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Neat game. I like the atmosphere, its very mysterious. Decent graphics and sound. Some gameplay aspects are a bit obscure and maybe need explaining a bit better (like the shift key mode). Good job though!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Interesting concept, controls were a bit fuddled for me but the sfx were good. Graphics had highs and lows, the scaled pixels of varying sizes didn't really help with the look of it. Was an interesting jaunt!

someone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Still no idea what is going on, feels very glitchy. Half the time pressing shift seems to do nothing and I kept randomly getting stuck on nothing. Fell through the floor on the third level.
Also the sounds don't work properly for me but that is due to running it in wine.

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Weird trippy exploration game, I liked the aesthetic. Once I figured out that void mode was activated only with a full mana bar, the rest was pretty simple.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I really liked this game! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I had some issues with the void mode. It was not clear that it would require energy and that it was the reason why I couldn't use it. I was stuck at the beginning for quite some time. Almost "rage" quit :) but I really like the art, especially the first level! I like the balloons and the columns. After that part, it is quite short and the boss was quite easy. It was not clear that you could just pass by the dudes in the fire level. Also the whole game could almost completely be completed by just rolling and rolling until you warp to the boss. That was a bit too bad. I liked the story :D

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Nice aesthetics but can't gen into gameplay. I think some text description will be very helpfull.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]