Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

UnderTheLibrary

by Delca - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: the game now works with IE (100% tested on IE 10.0.15), and should work on Safari and Opera too. Sorry for the inconvenience, and have fun playing it!

IMPORTANT NOTE: It seems like the game will not work on anything besides Chrome or Firefox because of the use a non-standard function. As porting to others 'platforms' is allowed past the submission time, I will have an updated version up by tomorrow I think. Thanks for checking my game anyway, and please come back later ;-) .

In UnderTheLibrary (yes, camelCase is mandatory), you play as a humanoid robot thrown in the basement of a library.

Your ultimate goal is to find a way back to the surface (because let's be honest: being trapped underground is a little bit scary).

On your way, you may find books with some interesting content inside. Collecting them all will yield absolutely nothing.


Controls:

Arrows keys: walk / move on a book ladder
Up arrow: jump
Enter: confirm dialog

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#222Graphics3.74
#225Humor3.05
#236Mood3.44
#263Audio3.24
#289Overall3.46
#376Fun3.24
#417Theme3.42
#899Innovation2.60

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

Neat little platformer, very polished in places, I did keep getting stuck on the first drop following the button, for some reason, if getting too close to the wall? otherwise overall a great game. Love it.

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I loved the visual style and the "computing" dialogs :) Unfortunately I didn't reach the end due to getting stuck twice after the first drop. Is this done on GameMaker ? Collision code is a bitch, I should know, I lost about 10 hours with mine this week-end ;)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

The visual and mood I'd say are the strongest points in this game.
Gameplay is not bad and fun to see a game taking place in a library.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

It looks great, but it crashes after pressing the first button to follow down the platform :( I really wanted to see what else is there in the game!

Delca says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Thanks for your feedback! I did push this button a lot to playtest the rest of the level (before I remembered about moving my spawnpoint), so I am not too sure about what is happening here. I will try to find out as soon as I come home.

@Seyroth: I used JavaScript and Phaser as my game engine (and that was because I lost So much time with collision code the first time too T_T)

Delca says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Apparently, this is because I used Math.sign(), which is not supported by all browsers at the moment. Could you please tell me which browser/version yo0 used when encountering the crash ?

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

This was pretty cool, the art was substantially pleasant to look at and it is a really interesting idea. I seemed to fly through the walls somehow a couple times, which is obviously a bug, but that's not a big deal. Great job!

HelixFox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:25am

Managed to get stuck by somehow getting enemies sitting on top of a ladder that I needed to go up :(

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:43am

@HelixFox: maybe there is a way to get them to move? Try to be horizontally aligned with them.

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:54am

For me this the best so far! Awesome graphics and sound, solid gameplay, good level design. Very well done!

IcyLava says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:03am

For some reason it seemed that the collision worked better on the original, maybe it was just a coincidence. Interesting little game, didn't get any books though.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:18am

@IcyLava the onyl difference between the two version is that I implemented the Math.sign() function myself on the second version. No collision code was modified, all that is done in the Phaser engine I used.

metjm says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

Made it through, despite that one tricky jump at the end where you essentially have to stand on the correct pixel...

Great job, this is a very well-rounded 48 hour entry!
Bonus points for the TPP reference! :D

XrXr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Wow, very well done platformer! Nice visuals, good controls and nice level length! Sweet!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Not bad, also the robot is cute :o

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I was stuck in the walls more than once, but I finished the game nonetheless and it was still fun to play. Good job!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

@Team-Kwakwa that has to do with how Phaser checks for collision. I has the same problem on LD27, and did away with shortening the delay between collision checks. However, it was easier to deal with when I was doing the code myself :S

klianc09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

This game laggs terribly in firefox for me, and in chrome I don't have audio :( But what I heard was well done. Although the dialogs (monologs?) are funny, I wish they were skippable or faster. And I'm not sure if it's supposed to be like this, but I found some books and they didn't seem to be hidden, but rather have been on the way to the end.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32pm

@klianc09 the game ran fine on my PC and my Surface RT; then again, it is written in JavaScript :S ...
About the audio: I actually forgot to test it again (had some music on while testing), and it seems to not work in IE either. I may look at it, but it seems to be something in the Phaser engine...
For the books, at least one is put on the way to the end, and at least one other is really hidden (try searching for rats).

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:34am

This was a very solid entry. The art is all very fitting. The spiders gave me the creeps. Gameplay was challenging but not impossible. Required some non-linear thought to complete. Good amount of humor: the messages kept me engaged with the story.

Possible ideas for improvement: R to reload from the last checkpoint. Also the first checkpoint where you learn to use book ladders sends you back before you read the text, which is a little annoying since you can't just skip the text outright. None of the others I ran into seemed to have that problem though. You could have made another puzzle to solve as you antigrav'd out. :)

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:16am

Solid game. I liked the atmosphere with the music!
The jump behaviour is a bit odd.
I liked the game

littleball says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Fantastic game, well done! I had a lot of fun playing.

copain says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:17pm

nice idea for the new capalities.
(some collision bug)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:43pm

nicely done! Congrats!

Penguincat says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice platformer with some fun dialogue - including the optional books! The art and audio fit the story well.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:19am

Not bad. I like the graphics. There were places where it felt like my death was a result of the controls rather than my own lack of skill.

SyBen says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:23am

My favorite 48 hour game so far, impressive !

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:56am

Very polished platformer. Good story and it was just plain fun exploring after you started to pick up various books. My only complaint would be how loose falling left and right were when certain areas required precise controls. Otherwise, great job!

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice interface and theme. Spiders suck.

JoshOS says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:11am

I liked it. Some dialogs are in a bad position because they are located in places where you can die 2 or 3 times and you have to read them each time ,maybe you could find them a better position or deactivate them the first time they are opened.

The rest is good :)

danbo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Fun platformer, though the one thing I could pick a hole in would be the extreme inertia in the air coupled with no inertia on the ground, going down the shaft on the second map was rather annoying...

frogcheese says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:59pm

It's a cute little platformer with nice graphics and an impressive amount of polish, though it was a bit slow and wordy when explaining some of the basic concepts like the enemies. I still had fun with it, though - good job!

rvmook says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Maybe next time try building level in a way so you can see ahead enough without taking a leap of faith. Right now I sometimes just had to walk or fall right into an enemy without actually knowing it was there. Nice little game though.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:51pm

A nice and polished platformer. The controls were a bit tricky to get used to, but other than that, great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]