Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Heroes

by Just Tom - Jam Entry

-----------------
----- Blurb -----
-----------------

The Legend of the UNDER HEROES (c)1984

Only the BRAVEST HEROES survive the dangers of Caverns Old and Dungeons Deep. When your Fighter's fatigued in in the Mines of Moria, when the Hunter is the Hunted in the Dungeons of Yore, when the Wizard's light meets only the darkness of the Underground...

Only the Under Heroes can save you now!

-------------------
----- Concept -----
-------------------

I mulled a few ideas over when starting this, but decided on building a Visual Logic Puzzle that could I could port to Mobile Platforms later.

I also love Table Top Roleplay, so I wanted to make a game about Dwarves (naturally). The premise is DnD parties keep getting lost in the many many underground Dungeons, Mines and Caverns of the world, who saves the Saviours?

---------------------------
----- Some Technicals -----
---------------------------

The game's UI and Logic Grid are technically independent, but the implementation was bigger than it needed to be, was rushed and is just terrible. Built from scratch, I'd lump Tiles into one structure that tracked it's UI and Logic half rather than have two separate Managers tracking two separate Grids.

Otherwise came out well. The Grid problem did leave a really janky bug, occasionally, on one of the levels the Logic grid will just straight up be wrong. I think it miss calculates a grid commit somewhere. It's far from game breaking and it only happens every now and then, so your gameplay experience shouldn't be affected. But jesus, my Grid system is. Just. Terrible. Bad Tom.

- Built in Unity
- Adobe Shooped' the Graphics
- Sound FX were generated in sfxr

Thank your for playing. Really, I mean it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Fun(Jam)3.68
#67Theme(Jam)3.83
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#258Innovation(Jam)3.28
#449Mood(Jam)2.94
#455Graphics(Jam)3.17
#554Audio(Jam)2.50
#2090Coolness14%

Comments

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Very fun. Either this game is hard or i am terrible. Most likely the latter. :)

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

Neat little game, I can imagine it on an old NES console.:) Yet i can't help it, but I miss some osrt of a title screen or a little introduction.

Just Tom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Agreed, I really wanted to put in an Old fashioned start up screen with just a tiny bit of text and an image;

The game is the worst taught of my one man jams. Really stretched time on this one!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Very fun, clever for a simple puzzle game. Really lacking a music, and a title screen.

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Clever little puzzle game. Great work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Something odd happened where all of the rocks fell and my points just went up infinitely. Good game though! I like the graphics.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice game. I don't get why the rocks are falling sometimes cause it does not cause the level to end and just looks weird.
Wish levels were more challenging.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice puzzle game, I'm a bit rubbish at it but I liked it ;)

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Fun! And I like your fake NES cover art. :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:01am

Hi. Nice idea. The dropping rocks seemed a bit over the top (they all fall once one does). Completed 3 levels.

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35am

Oh, wow!

May 2, 2014 @ 8:08am

I don't really get the point of the game but it looks pretty cool though :)!

May 3, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Haha very very fun! Also very cute tileset :))

Kudos Just Tom!

Rodaja says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:15pm

click&dragging was somewhat awkward on the laptop's tap thingy, keyboard support would be nice.

randoman says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Very nice! Had lots of fun playing it! Here is a suggestion; the 'range' tiles could match the color of the dwarf, that way you know exactly which character you need to move!

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Fun little game but just seems to go on forever without any changing much after you get to a certain point.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]