Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Memories

by IAmSpencer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first (submitted) Ludum Dare Entry, yay! Hope you enjoy!

Made in html/javascript using Phaser. exe packaged with node-webkit. Sounds are in ogg, so make sure your browser supports it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Audio4.21
#15Humor4.10
#49Mood3.97
#56Overall3.92
#112Theme3.84
#130Fun3.64
#423Innovation3.25
#572Graphics3.15

Comments

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Tight platforming, "Thomas Was Alone"-style narration, and a complete story. Very well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

Very Douglas Adams.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

SOOOO awesome! Loved the Stanley Parable-style gameplay, and a wonderful story

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Enjoyed very much

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

Really fun, interesting and lovely. Seems like you mixed some themes in the rounds, glitch, not supposed to do that and beneath the surface, but you did it pretty well. Reminds me to Standley Parable, really nice, a bit laggy sometimes i dont know why but was fun :3

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Very cool entry. Had fun to play it. The buildup to the ending was intense ;)

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Lol this is awesome.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

It's like The Stanley Parable in platformer form! :D Awesome!

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

Wonderful. The synthesized narration was surprisingly effective.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

My favourite so far. Compelled me to keep playing. Found a small bug where you can walk off the edge after dying if you are quick enough

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Is the game actually beatable? I can't get past the "You must move faster" part

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Yes, it's beatable. If your computer is lagging, you might have some trouble at the end, you just need to move fast and make don't get stuck.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

This game. LOL AHAAHHAAHAHHAHAHAH! Loved the narration. FANTASTIC

Aomeas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

The story, said by this voice, is kinda cool!
Found a bug you might want to correct : when you go back to the left after the second level change, you fall to no end.

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

Loving the audio and the narrative! Great game!

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:22am

Really enjoyed it. Found "a or the" easter egg. Could not stop laughing. Downloaded to my machine and am hoping that it will keep me alive during moments of boredom. Really nice work.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

aww this was real nice too.
good pixels and narrative, and not just braindead!

great!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

This game is really "Beneath the surface"

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

Stanley Parable

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Any game I finish is good in my book. Well done, Spencer! The narration really sets the mood beautifully. Who needs a score, timer, etc when the atmosphere of a game is so engaging. Congrats.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Pretty cool story, nice floaty platforming. Loved the narration! Great job!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Prepared for the Glitch theme as well, eh?

Good job on this. The narration has quite some charme, really.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Tight controls, amazing audio! Nicely done.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

It's a shame there is no "narrative" section in the rating. I don't know where to put all my stars :)

nagual says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

really funny. the narrator is out of "stanley's parable" and quite hilarious. good one

asteryz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very cool

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I loved this! The platforming itself was very basic and not terribly engaging, so I'm glad you kept it as short as you did, but I wanted to keep going to see where you were getting at.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

That was some twist at the end! The narration was a nice touch, felt like an homage to Stanley Parable.

Good work, and congrats on your first submitted LD!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

So inspired by The Stanley Parable... Quick, but cool ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Great mood and a story:D

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Really liked the story, cool game! And that voice... :O :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Very cool game, I loved the idea of the narration as you progress. It was otherwise quite a simple game but the narrative kept me playing to the end. A very enjoyable experience, good work!

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very atmospheric, with good controls and a very good sense of scale. Solid entry! I like it.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

The ending was great!!! Ah, really creepy~~

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Enjoyable narration.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32am

Great work, loved it! The ending was really well done, liked the glitching. And I liked the payoff when I pressed 'A'!

I will have to check out the tool you used for the narration, I can see it being really useful for my projects.

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

This is awesome! Very smart to use the voice, and especially with all the humor your put in!
Cheers

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very cool, I love the audio (very "Thomas Was Alone"). It sets the mood perfectly. Awesome!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I really like the mood and the level design. Very cool!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Fantastic!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

loved the narration :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Really nicely done. I love the narration. Very Stanley Parable-y.

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Very good entry, the narration is really well written, level design is stimulating, good job :) It recalled me a lot of recent indie hits as Thomas was alone, the floor is jelly etc..

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

BRILLIANT. (I wasn't able to beat it for some reason)

BrothersT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Really liked it! great mood, very funny. was genuinely kind of afraid at the end :D nice glitch effects

epiplon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very creative, I almost felt sorry for Jacob! Haha!
I sse were the inspiration came from. However, thanks for the experience. :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Thank you everyone for all your amazing feedback, this has been a great experience for me :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I liked the narration a lot. It reminded me of Thomas was Alone. The narrator was kinda choppy, but I guess that's to be expected with a computer generated voice :)

Anyway, good job :)

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

I really enjoyed playing your game. I liked the story. Good job!

vexille says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

Loved the narration!

npgames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

Wow, unexpected ending, good job on the narration

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

Awesome

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

Amazing narration.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

i loved the narration. well done!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22am

Reminded me a lot of "Thomas Was Alone"!
I love how everything gets all glitchy at the end!
This is really, really great! Well done! :D

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35am

Very entertaining! Great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09am

Nice narration. This seems to lack some kind of challenge though (enemies?), but I'm being picky for a 48h compo :). Good work

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

I confirm the lags... but a GOOD entry!

eLLectron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Really entertaining ! Simple and fun :D

Meedoc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Really nice narrative! Well done!

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very nice, Loved the ending !

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I liked how the mood suddenly changes when Jacob realizes his situation. The music and video glitches afterwards really gave me a sense of haste :D

Also the voice-over caught me off guard. Really good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

the narration is brilliant, the game itself needs some enemies or goodies or something I think :)

stvr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:03pm

The platforming is a bit rough but the unexpected twists really made this a stand-out entry. Good work!

May 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really enjoyed this. You sir, are a great story teller and general human being.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

The story kept me gripped, and was very amusing. I think I found a literal "easter egg".
Solid physics, good music, and decent enough graphics - some variety couldn't have hurt, perhaps some old mining tracks or something.
A very very good entry, though. The voice acting was great, even if it sounded slightly unnatural at points.

soy_yuma says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Excellent game! It was fun but a bit sad about the poor fella situation.

GFM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:36am

Great game and use of the theme!
The narrator was the best part of the game. It kept moving me forward, for I wanted to know what he was going to say next, and also made me curious about what was happening.
The ending was also quite nice, with all the effects and the accelerated music.

Great work!!

local minimum says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:44am

I had very fun and as a fellow Phaser, this is a source I'll be looking at to learn some of those tricks you implemented.

Really awesome and simple game.

The only critique would be that the controls were somewhat floaty and that I missed some jumps due to that. On the other hand, since the game was so nice in checkpointing your progress it really didn't matter that much.

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Love the idea with narration, good balanced platformer.

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:13am

Great entry for a first. A lot of entries are like yours without the narration. By adding the narration, you made the whole game not only better but meaningful. I hope you don't get too many people try your entry with sound off.

I haven't checked comments yet, I hope I got the prize ;D

May 4, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Excellent, narration is just perfect!

tenpn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:15am

Really nice Thomas Was Alone vibe. Also genuinely had me laughing in places. Nice idea and well executed. Good stuff!

May 8, 2014 @ 10:47am

Awesome! Love the narration. And I found the egg :D

May 11, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I think I love Jacob. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

JonathanG says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:15am

Very good game, the narration twists and turns all over the place! I was having real difficulty with the controls though, jumping would often completely stop my sideways movement, which made the ending impossible

NightShadow0 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Pretty cool, love the narration, very Thomas Was Alone-y.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:21pm

That was really good fun. The writing was great. Reminded me of Thomas Was Alone, really drives you on through. Then the ending with the sudden need to hurry was a brilliant surprise.

May 18, 2014 @ 3:55am

One of the best games I played so far in this Ludum Dare!
Nice game! =D

NicoM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Slick art, and animation, solid platforming, and good writing, reminded me of thomas was alone, loved it, great job!!:)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]