Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Wireframe

by Manuel Magalhães - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get as far as you can from the surface.
Protect yourself by entering shapes.

Control the dot with the mouse/trackpad.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#342Innovation3.38
#680Fun2.88
#736Mood2.79
#772Overall2.96
#816Audio2.23
#963Graphics2.53
#1039Humor1.59
#1201Theme2.00

Comments

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40am

This really doesnt fit the theme... Other than that, it is really fun, very addictive. Seems allot like Super Hexagon tbh

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Quite cool. The way a shape encloses itself the moment you get inside of it felt kind of jarring to me, but the concept was new and enjoyable. Nice work.

Also this totally fits the theme, you're going beneath (or behind) the surface of shapes, which serve as the main obstacle.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

That's one tiny pixel!

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Never seen the concept before. Very original.
The pixel lagged a bit for me (OSX).

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

Fun and challenging and Good presentation!

Tifu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

My pixel seemed to just rotate around my mouse at some points, making it completely impossible. When that didn't happen, seemed fun after I got the hang of what I was doing. Is a little hard to tell which shapes have been made safe and which are still harmful.
Best score: 925

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Very simple game. Doesn't seem to match the theme. Anyway, nice job!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I like it! Does a lot using a little.

At first I didn't understand the shapes closing once you pass them, but once I figured that out the game totally clicked for me.

I'm curious as to how the game would play if the pixel followed your cursor perfectly.

Sink says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice high score game! I really like the concept, it's easy to pick up and understand.

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

You can get trapped very quickly when a bunch of the shapes are on the screen. Nice job!

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Yet another unique game mechanic from you. :)

Player is a little small and perhaps hard to keep track of when you are running it up against the inner bounds.

Anyway, its still a nice entry on your part. Goes right along with the style of your previous entry as well! Thumbs up.

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

It took me a while to truly understand the game (things like not being able to pass through the box, your character having to move towards the cursor, etc). Like Tifu mentioned, it was too difficult to distinguish between the cleared shapes and the shapes that will kill you; eventually you end up with a screen with lines all over it, and you have no idea whether a specific line is safe or not. I also didn't really see an relation to the theme; maybe it was just too abstract.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:04am

This game was TOUUUUUGH! It took me a while to figure out what I was doing, and even after that I found it very hard. This is a great little concept though and I think with some polish on it you could actually market it.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

Nice and simplistic :) Shapes closing is a little bit awkward.

VDZ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47am

By the way, I forgot to mention it, but my highest score was 1050.

monaarc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very good game, very original !! Good job

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Maximal and minimal game! thanks!

Slader16 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47pm

A little hard, I wish that the dot would follow your cursor perfectly :)

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Very fun, seems like the foundation of an iOS classic waiting to happen.

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:05am

Didn't really understand how the thing worked. I guess when I entered a circle, it was passable, so I could go through it, but then when I did the same things to squares, they turned into death zones? Also, it's a bit laggy on the web client for Mac OS X.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:02am

Hmmm, it seems like there are a few shape combinations that can trap you completely. I think you can get stuck. Otherwise, great sound effects, fun game! Touch controls would be awesome, I bet!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I really like the concept but it is hard to tell which line kills you and which one don't.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:17pm

At first I didn't even see the tiny dot. I also got huge lag between mouse movement and dot movement. Shame that these technical problems hinder what could be a really fun game.

01101101 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I too had the dot orbiting around the mouse sometimes, making it impossible to continue. Other than that, could be a fun game with a bit of tuning. For now it's too hard/vague for me to really enjoy on the long run. The concept is good and the art works well with it.

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:10pm

It was a good ideia, but the controls were hard! I only got to 750m before the dot started spinning like crazy!!

f7f5 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I got to 730. The dot lags a bit behind the mouse, but maybe that's on purpose (the dot has a certain maximum speed and you need to consider that while moving the pointer).

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Controls felt a bit unresponsive, but I really like the Super Hexagon-ish concept!

Larzan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice, interesting concept :)

Kerdelos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice concept, too bad the point is kind of slow.

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really clever concept!

May 8, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Super challenging, fun game. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Very Super Hexagon-ish, but not in a clone-y sort of way. I like it.

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:12am

The "dot", being a single pizel, is almost impossible to see, AND is covered up by the mouse cursor, unless I'm moving it. Plays like an awkward Super Hexagon.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:23am

Interesting mechanic, took me a second to figure out what to do, but nice concept. Also liked the extra difficult of adding the lines.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]