Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Game

by renegadeninjanl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wanted to make a game where the player could go beneath the surface of the game (e.g. change the properties of objects in the game). The player then could use the manipulated objects to kill the enemies. However, in the end real life got in the way so I only had around 12+ hours to make my game.

So in the end this is a small puzzle game that can be completed in minute. Even though I am not proud of the end product, I am happy with what I managed to learn during the 12 hours it took me to make the game.

Controls
WASD for movemement
Left mouse button to change properties of certain obstacles.
Avoid all enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#758Humor2.17
#771Innovation2.77
#841Graphics2.71
#983Mood2.48
#1013Theme2.57
#1162Fun2.15
#1199Overall2.33
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Interesting take on the theme, shame you ran out of time, would have like to see the concept expanded upon.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:45am

Is this procedurally generated? If so you did a great job for only 12 hours! Gameplay is actually quite interesting although a little barebones. If you flesh it out it could become quite interesting.

Teesquared says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:55am

Good use of the theme. Game is short. Only "interactable" object is the turret. Toggling it on/off should be simpler and sometimes they didn't seem to work.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:58am

@fullmontis Yeah it is procedurally generated. That was one of the things I learned during this Ludum Dare which I was very proud of.

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:59am

like you said it doesn't really fit the theme, but it's a fun game regardless.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:59am

@Teesquared the floorspikes and the red pushable box is interactable as well. I know what you mean about the turret not working sometimes but sadly I never got the time to fix it in the end.

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Cool idea shame its not finished.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Nice concept.

Daveloper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Fun game, just needed a bit of in game explanation.

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Man, this looks really cool and I wanted to play it, but when I clicked on things the active/!active menu came up and never closed, I just got stuck there. Nice proc gen though!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]