Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The God Beneath

by iSamurai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- Note: added PC & Linux build, but I don't have access to both platforms, so they are untested. But hopefully it's ok :)

- Intro
The God Beneath is a shooter adventure game where the player plays the role as a soldier who is ordered to dive into the violent deep sea to search for a mystery.


- Controls:
WASD - movement
Left Mouse - fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#113Graphics3.97
#166Theme3.73
#185Overall3.62
#193Mood3.51
#196Fun3.51
#613Innovation2.97
#639Humor2.32
#838Audio2.19

Comments

pansapiens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

Plays quite well, solid simple-but-effective pixel art - great job juicing the screen shake too. I think the difficulty is reasonable well tuned too(except maybe the spikes) - slightly hard, but not stupidly so. I'd quite like a reload function - as a player you can work around it anyway by just unloading a half full clip when there are no enemies around ... so you may as well just bind it to a key and make it official. Great stuff !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

Solid shooter! Love the messages at the side of the screen :)

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

Thanks guys @pansapiens @matthias_zarzecki!

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Wow, that boss was scary. Great mood, too bad the game doesn't have any sound, it would have been much more immersive.

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

The game play is fun. And with great graphics and mood. :)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Really like it! Really moody. Good solid gun action (Vlambeer would be proud)

Thijsku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice game! I like the graphics. Too bad there isn't any sound, since it could really enhances the experience. (Or was the sound not working for me?)

I like the fact that you also made a bossfight in your entry. It's also nice that you made a little story behind it.

I'd also like to see a reload function. I had to start all over again when I pressed 'R' during the bossfight. It was soon after that I realised I had restarted the game instead of reloading my gun. :P

Either way, you did a good job! :)

kUANG tOBY says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Really good game. I agree with @Thijsku. Keep going!
Maybe it helps :D
http://content.gpwiki.org/index.php/Game_Content_Resources

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

This was exceedingly well-done! The visuals were great and the controls were perfect!

The only thing missing was sound :(

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Good application of the theme!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very well made. I played it a few times. The difficulty is very nice. Challenging, but not for chumps. If you wanted to elaborate on the idea, I would be down to play more.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

Thank you all for the warm reviews and supports :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Really good, but definitely feels like it needs a bit of sound, at least for the bullets. Maybe it wasn't working correctly?

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

nice game, nice control (even if arrow keys did not work on my computer).

other player is an AI or another human (in this case your game is networked ?)

REIN1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Great hand!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

@nicolashognon, wow, that the greatest comment anyone working in AI can receive!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

Pretty good. I was worried I would run out of HP before I reached the end, but it turned out to be pretty short. One problem I had was that I expected to be able to shoot the critters that come out of the walls, but apparently they're invincible. What if you have some of the jellyfish first, so the player is able to shoot stuff, and then once they see the monsters with no HP totals they realize those are invincible? I like the mood and the concept of it; unfortunately the text needs some editing...and I think I'd like the whole thing to be expanded so the story has time to develop. All in all, though, good work!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

Cool game. Loved the look and feel of it. Really wish it had sound though. It would have really added a lot to the mood you are setting up with the visuals.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

(One problem I had with the messages was that I occasionally swam right by them and then had to go back to see them. Maybe have them stay on the screen longer or something?)

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

good shooter. I like the water effect.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

The game mechanics is simple, but the details are polished. The graphics also helped to create a great atmosphere. Overall, a well-executed entry for 48 hours Compo!

Fasox says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07am

That was very fun, and the overall quality was great.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06am

Some music here would have been killer! The controls are fluid and the fights are fun. I enjoyed it!

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

One of my favorite from the jam!, just needs a kickass soundtrack and

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:46am

One of my favorite from the jam!, just needs kickass music and fx

pandamicro says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52am

Great game! I love the theme and the overall feeling, the boss was too easy though XD

Catman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice entry, solid controls and well made atmosphere. Polish it up with enemy deaths and you are complete! Good job!

eldog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Hey this looks cool and I want to play but I'm on Linux :(

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I liked the lighting, it made the game feel more edgy.

eldog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Can confirm Linux works (tested on Arch Linux 64bit)!


== +ves ==
+ The story text was a nice touch, adds a narrative and placing it in the "blackness" was a clever idea. Also the text on the enemies was neat, felt like a sort of HUD/visor thing which made sense for a person in a diving suit.

+ Screen shaking whilst shooting is probably my favourite part, created a real sense of feedback while shooting and made the battles intense.

+ Colour pallette is excellent, great use of dark greens/blues that add to the feeling of being isolated in the deep sea.

+ Final battle was a great idea, sealed the game off nicely and was thrilling.

+ Camera and controls. Worked well and I like the animation of the player facing the right way and aiming the weapon.

+ Rotten divers were a fun enemy to fight against, good AI work!


== -ves ==
- Spikes hurt too much! Although this made battling in narrow parts more intense.

- Sound. Would have loved to have heard some of the horrors of deep.


Overall a great game, most "moody" I've played, the length was just right and I enjoyed it all the way through. Well done :)

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I really enjoyed this one, cool looking graphics and fun game-play. I really liked the addition of a boss fight at the end. Great work!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Yes, I would also like some audio to go with the experience because your visuals create such a ominous mood by themselves. Of course I'm not saying you should've included audio because not everyone can and 48 hours is already such a small window. I'm saying that you should keep working on it and turn it into an even greater experience. Good AI, tight controls, nice pacing, interesting story, WONDERFUL NAME... good stuff. Congrats!

QGSephiroth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Cool Game~~! I love it~

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Definitely needs audio - even some crunchy sfxr would have been fine! Otherwise, pretty solid shooter

DonovanWu says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

Excellent game, except that it's kind of difficult for me...

Muciojad says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:33am

That's a shame there isn't any soundtrack, but gameplay has very good liquid-mood, I like it a lot! ;) Nice art style anyway ;]

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]