Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Syndrome

by Anoarith - Jam Entry

So, here's our entry for this Ludum Dare :).

It's a game where you control a psychiatrist in an asylum and you have to find out patients' mental diseases by asking them questions.

We're not psychiatrist at all so it was hard to find cool (in term of game design) mental diseases x).

We don't know if there is spelling mistake (since we're french) and if the game is well-balanced but we hope you'll enjoy it :) !

@MCD_Artagnan & Eleonore Bernez
From Nice Penguins (http://nicepenguins.tumblr.com/)

If you want to see the ludum game of another member of Nice Penguins : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=29515

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#43Innovation(Jam)3.85
#67Theme(Jam)3.83
#133Overall(Jam)3.59
#146Humor(Jam)3.21
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#242Mood(Jam)3.35
#361Graphics(Jam)3.42
#463Audio(Jam)2.85

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Really cool concept with great art. I was surprised by the huge amount of choices available.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Pretty fun game.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Only got the first one right, I'm not much of a psychologist I guess :P. Did not see that ending coming either. The graphics are somewhat weird, but they work. Same thing with the audio. Pretty interesting little game.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Cool game with lots of stuff going on, seems a much work went into this. It's just a bit hard to guess what's wrong with people when you really don't know about psychiatry at all! :)

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Good concept and art!
But probably a little to overwhelming for a "normal" gamer (too many questions and disease choices from the beginning).

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

A bit tough to figure out some of these. Interesting game though, and I didn't see that ending coming.

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

great! I wish I could understand psychologic terms but I still can enjoy this game!

Anoarith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Thanks for all your feedbacks :) !

We don't know psychiatry either, that's why we put the short definitions for each disease. We didn't expect the game to be that hard x)

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12am

Great idea and interpretation of theme... i love the artwork,,,

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:48am

It feels like work and is pretty serious. I would probably have to ask more questions to be able to analyze any successfully too.

Lissar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

This was an interesting idea, although I didn't get many of the answers right! I guess I'm not a psychiatrist.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

It appears I wouldn't make a good psychologist - but talking to these folks was fascinating nonetheless.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57am

Ooh, nice punchline. Good game all around.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fun idea. A bit difficult to figure out the right answers, but fun regardless. Loved the art work.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:22am

... That was a nice twist, and helps explain my extreme incompetence in this game ._. I think you're fine in terms of typos, but there was a bit too much information to comb through, and none of it seemed to give me anything really meaningful--it was all surface questions and the things I would have liked to have probed deeper into could only be superficially addressed.

The audio was all right--a bit stale and wearing, and didn't quite seem to fit the subject. However, the graphics were very suitable and I enjoyed the characters' different personalities--I thought it was especially cute to have the characters represented by accessories.

There's another game in this vein which I think you might get something out of reviewing: http://jayisgames.com/archives/2004/07/the_asylum.php

It's a different approach, but has some similarities.

Melondonut says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30am

COOL! I love the concept and the atmosphere!

Anoarith says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

@VictoryGarden -> woaw we didn't know this game :o, looks cool ! Thanks for your very complete feedback :) !

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Very clever use of the theme for psychiatry, but very difficult to pigeonhole people into illnesses without knowing what the illnesses are first, it made slightly more sense as it went along.

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:46am

I'm a bad psychologist T__T

ThingoStudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I found it sort of funny that Stewart was seven, yet had a roommate. Definitely, DEFINITELY not a thing for armchair psychiatrists.

Andy Gainey says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Curious concept, but something rubbed me the wrong way about the script. It seems like a very difficult script to write without totally oversimplifying or stereotyping everything, even for a native speaker, and probably even for a professional psychiatrist.

I think it would also be useful to have a clearer sense of progress. In many cases, it felt like each question and answer was completely independent from the rest, regardless of order. I don't know what mechanics were *actually* occurring in the game code, but I didn't feel a strong connection between questions or from the order of questions.

The in-between conversations with the nurse were a nice touch, though.

The UI for guessing the disorder was a bit confusing. At first I thought the three columns of specific disorders somehow mapped to the three categories at the top, but it was actually just three separate sub-menus. To help with that, perhaps add something visual to indicate that the disorders currently visible on the screen all belonged only to the category that had most recently been selected.

Anoarith says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:07am

Andy Gainey -> Actually, the more you ask "kind" questions, the more the patient will gain "confidence points". When you ask an "intrusive" question, the patient won't answer positively if you don't have enough "confidence points". So you have to ask "not intrusive" questions first :).

Thanks for your feedback :) !

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:09am

Très très sympa (je profite que vous soyez français). ça m'a rappelé theme hospital, d'ailleurs je pense que vous auriez pu prendre une direction plus humoristique pour éviter (ou se moquer) des stéréotypes.
Devoir juste trouver la maladie (et non pas un soin par exemple, ce qui serait intéressant à implémenter dans une version plus loufoque) m'a paru bizarre au début, mais la fin explique bien la chose...

Anoarith says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:57am

copain -> Ahah en effet, même si c'est aussi un choix de Gameplay plus qu'autre chose ^^ (et puis, restrictions de temps dû à la jam oblige, on a voulu faire simple)

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:40am

Great concept! The art was solid, and it was interesting talking to the patients while trying to guess what their problem was.

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:29am

Really cool entry, I enjoyed it a lot. Nice use of theme and very interesting game to play!

BarkingCat says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:50pm

"What do you see in this picture?" the most obnoxious question one can ask.

jorgemoag says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hahaha very good entry! Please, keep working it's very promising

Thnx for making it!

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Very good interpretation of the theme! I really liked the wired looking characters. The music was a bit annoying after a while ;)
Nice work!

Mase says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:27am

Very interesting content. It's cool that asking less intrusive questions first actually has an impact, though I did not recognize this until after I played & read the comments.

The twist ending was unnecessary I thought.

May 15, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Hahahaha that kind of games are really cool, all the parts like match themselves making an atmosphera. Excelent.

kunzbe says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:50pm

interesting, could be used as a learn game for fresh psychologie students harhar '^^

May 16, 2014 @ 12:18am

This was AWESOME!!! I couldnt be happier playing this. I think maybe I secretly want to be a psychiatrist.

GFM says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:30am

WOOOOOOOW

This was awesome! It took me 4 tries to get 4 of them, but I still don't know what is the 3rd one's problem.
Really liked the graphics and the idea. It's really fun and interesting! =D

mark.goetz says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:58am

Nice take on the theme! I agree with a lot of the other comments that there are too many options (both questions to ask and diagnoses to choose), and that elements like the 'confidence points" you mention need to be communicated better. (Although that in and of itself could constitute "beneath the surface"...hm...)

Anoarith says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Once again, thanks a lot for these feedbacks, it's really cool, you're all nice :)

Reinkout says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Okay, how did YOU come up with the idea for this? :D This was refreshening!

Suese says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:35am

I'm having (as opposed to had) lots of fun with this one. I am playing again.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice take on the theme! Really interesting concept, good work concerning the stories and the researches of the syndromes. Music reminds me the sound from kairosoft games, so I like it. Should have been even more great to adapt music in regard of characters :) Well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]