Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Worlds Beneath

by jugglerrob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple platformer where you explore the worlds beneath.

Controls:
wasd or arrow keys to move and jump
space to jump
"M" to mute the music
"N" to mute the sound

Every single sound effect was made with a trombone!

Based on the quote by David Lynch

"I learned that just beneath the surface there's another world, and still different worlds as you dig deeper. I knew it as a kid, but I couldn't find the proof. It was just a kind of feeling. There is goodness in blue skies and flowers, but another force--a wild pain and decay--also accompanies everything."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#109Mood3.72
#174Audio3.44
#225Graphics3.73
#348Overall3.40
#357Theme3.48
#515Humor2.48
#856Fun2.67
#1063Innovation2.33

Comments

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

control, graphics and audio was quite nice
still disappointed I couldn't see the world's beneath

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Yey, one of those games that i love to play! Thanks for making this :3! Really fun! Maybe some kind of antialias will be great :P

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Very cool game :)
I actually didn't get to finish it because it was progressing so slow. But it was fun nonetheless!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

The intro was a bit slow.. a skip button would have been great for that. Since you're using Unity, it would be great if you could post a web version too!

Other than that, I really liked it! The controls were slick, the game felt polished. I like the slanty change-up to the platforming!

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

There isn't much to the gameplay, but the the dialog and art help liven up the experience.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

I really liked the graphic style in the begining!

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Awesome art styles. Reminds me a lot of thomas was alone mixed with Element4l.

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great mood, but I got a little disappointed in the end! Enjoyable experience nonetheless ;)

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

Great game, fantastic graphics, sound, and mood. Reminded me a lot of Thomas Was Alone, which is a huge compliment because it's one of my favourite games I played last year.

Nice work.

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

very cool atmosphere and levels. but the levels were too big and had too little to do exploration.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

The atmosphere in this game is great, especially the music. I really like some of the subtle effects that enhance it, like the tilted world.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

Played up to about halfway through the blue area, and I think I got the gist of it; I made a pretty similar game called Shapes of Gray. Basically, you're saying that visuals don't matter if the core isn't interesting? Or maybe I'm projecting my own game onto yours. Hmm. Anyway, cool game!

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

Really nice atmosphere. The small animations you placed on the player really did a lot for it. I found myself quite engaged given that the mechanics are minimal. It was a good choice to go for a less specific story, and convey the feeling of discovering something away from home, and then returning. Good use of the theme as well.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

This game felt very polished, I really liked the graphics! Aside from the length, it was easy to forget it was made in just 48 hours.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

Thanks for the comments guys. Sorry that the ending was kind of disappointing, I almost ran out of time.

@Secret_tunnel
I wasn't exactly trying to say anything. I was trying to create more of a feeling/mood like 5T4Mp5 said, but I do like your interpretation. I kept the story kind of minimal and open to allow people to interpret it their own ways.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08am

Level 2 looked gorgeous, and I also quite liked the subtle level tilt. I wish there was more of an ending, though!

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:49am

the art and atmosphere are great,,, i play it more times,,, thanks man!!

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46am

Great job, I'm loving it!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Well, this looks almost identical to the game I'm currently kinda working on :D. Reminds me of "This is no a minimalist game". Good job!

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29am

Wow...this was awesome.

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Level 1 of this game reminds me a lot to my own game, with the grey scale, the art, the abstract theme....
So I really REALLY like this game!

TeamInCharge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Great atmosphere, interesting story (though I was hoping for a bit more of an ending), block characters, 2d volume shadows, slanted camera aka. very Thomas Was Alone like, but I have to agree with RyanNielson, that's not a bad game to be compared to.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Really cool game. Reminds me of Thomas Was Alone, with the slanted camera angles and rectangular characters. Very good sense of atmosphere, and the juxtaposition between the monochromatic first level and the later more colourful style was interesting.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Boring city as boring as whole game =(
Joke with height of map is good but if you repeat the joke it become stupid. If you repeat it twise it became annoying.
Also some text unreadable.
P.S. 4-th level :: OH, WHAT WITH MY EYES!!!!

jugglerrob says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

@SaintHeiser
Sorry you didn't like the game :(

I was trying to show simillarities between the worlds by creating simillar dialog. Maybe I shouldn't have gone that route though.

I'm not an artist but I didn't think level 4 was THAT bad :(

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

Good game. I will play it again later today!

DrStahlbart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Interesting level design, add some more content and mechanics and it will become a solid game. :)

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Nice mood and atmosphere. The gameplay was a little stale, but the atmosphere kept me going. Wasn't motivated enough to replay to see if there was a second ending if I collected those three pixels I missed and couldn't go back in the level to get.

jugglerrob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:00pm

@trueyomic
The atmosphere is actually what I was going for. I'm glad it kept you playing. Don't worry, there isn't a second ending.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

A little slow paced, but still a pretty good game. One of the more original games I've seen in the game jam!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:27pm

A lot like Thomas was alone.
The level design of the first level was good, but the other levels had some really frustrating parts: falling down and need to walk all the way back, something which looks like stairs, but leads to a wall you can't pass ...
The audio was really good as well as the look of the first level.

Daveloper says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:32am

The game has a nice sombre atmosphere; thanks to some rather eerie ambience, however the gameplay isn't very engaging.
I feel that the platforming could benefit from having a dynamic jump height, determined but how long the space key is pressed i.e the shorter the amount of time the key is pressed, the shorter the jump height.

Other than that, a well presented effort :)

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:21am

That was VERY boring.

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:23am

The slight skew to the levels made them a bit tricky to judge jumps, which provided some challenge, but otherwise there was little to be had. I found the color contrast often made it difficult to read the text when talking to people, and being a dark grey I didn't stand out very well in certain areas, either.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I don't care what other people told you in the comments or ratings but I loved this game, specially the mood, not everyone were rated fairly, so dont worry about the ratings. You can try always to make a new game for ld30 and improve the results! I'm gonna put you in my ld30 list, so if you make a game for ld30 yours is one of the first i'm gonna rate ^^, good luck and let me know if you are gonna participate in ld30!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]