Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surfin' Hot

by LemmingSurvivor - Jam Entry

What lies below the surface? Grab your board and a good pair of goggles, and find out. Surf's up!

Surfin' Hot is an arcade-style game running on the Unity Engine. Your goal is to hit objectives and avoid obstacles. The character has a balance meter, and falls to a fiery demise when it runs out.

CONTROLS:
LEFT/RIGHT, A/D : Move left-right
UP/DOWN, W/S : Perform tricks while in mid-air
ESCAPE : Pause the game or exit menus

CREDITS:
- NIGIC: Game design, Graphics, Programming
- JLL: Game design, Audio

LICENSE:
The contents of the game and attached source may not be used, in part or in whole, without our permission. Just ask. It isn't hard.

WARNING: The contents of this game may not be scientifically accurate. Do not try this at home.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#122Humor(Jam)3.33
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#381Overall(Jam)3.19
#412Innovation(Jam)2.92
#467Audio(Jam)2.84
#474Graphics(Jam)3.12
#610Theme(Jam)2.61

Comments

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

I got a high score of 38850! Quite fun. As infinite runners (or, you know, surfers) go, it feels pretty unique. I like that it mixes up the game types. I wish there had been more mines to do tricks off and that the general difficulty was a bit higher, but I'm a masochist that way. The music was excellent.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice motion on the surfer dude. The world needs more surfing games!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

24225 was my high score. Pretty fun!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34pm

@Cambian_Man: Those jumps are way overpowered as is, man! But yeah, overall balancing would have needed a few more hours; the Bonus Stage in particular feels a bit too "easy" to get multiple times.

@petry123567: It sure does! Now I feel like making a WaveRace clone with surfboards... Hmm.

Added your scores to the leaderboard. (Everyone else: the spreadsheet is unlocked, so you can add yours too! Don't worry about sorting, I'll handle it!)

Thanks for the comments!

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

That was hot stuff! This brings me memories of C64 game called "California Games", really liked the mood :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

hot stuff (- : had quite some fun. Nice music and funny graphics : D

a little bit to easy for my taste but the idea to change game mechanics ingame was great!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

This game is so fun and gooood.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice shaders!

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

Like it

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

The game is quite fun. Love most of it contents :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

Nice job! I liked all the added elements as you played, good pacing! Nice job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13am

@Jaenis: Close enough! Can't say it was California Games, but the concept *was* based off of a game from around that time. Glad to see the retro feel went through!

@bebopbraunbaer: Yup, getting the difficulty right was hard. In the first devbuilds, by around 8000 points you'd barely have anywhere to go to avoid rocks. We opted to make it a little more mainstream, but in hindsight some kind of difficulty setting might have been a better choice.

@all: Thanks for the comments and ratings! Glad you're enjoying the game!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26am

Music (however much I do like chiptunes) really didn't fit.

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44am

Could do with more difficulty, the music was rad enough though :)

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

That is for sure the weirdest surf game I ever played. I like it! I want to see the surfer burn when he hits the lava, which kind of scares me a bit.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

@spotco: I disagree for all but one, but fair enough.

@urisensei: Alright, I get it, I'm a filthy casual! Hehe.

@NoorStudios: Fun fact: We actually had planned to have a burning skeleton pop out of the lava instead of just the surfboard. But it ended up being either that or getting the game to run properly. A decision I'll regret for the rest of my life.

As always, thanks for the comments and rating!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:04am

Nice game)))

manabreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:06am

This was quite nice, although it had the same problem as "Ray Hey Hey": aiming to the hoops is rather difficult, as it's hard to say when the surfer and the hoop line up. Other than that, pretty solid work!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:24am

@manabreak: Yeah. That's a hard issue to deal with in fast-paced 3D games with a fixed camera. I tried to make the triggers a bit loose to compensate without being too obvious, but it doesn't actually solve the problem.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:12am

Hi LemmingSurvivor! Very nice! It seems to be well balanced and it is definitely my cup of coffee. Now it is hard to go to play another game entry! I would like to play this again... :) BTW, I liked very much also your LD27 entry (Rewind!). Actually, it was my number one from all LD27 games I played. Good job! 42 indeed!

cheesepencil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:09am

tight! i liked the rolling ocean. even though it was in hell the motion was nonetheless soothing

pikkpoiss says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:12am

The 3D waves and the 2D surfer worked surprisingly well together. The soundtrack certainly brought me back to old NES-style games. Gameplay was somewhat simple, but you threw enough tricky objectives in there that it didn't get dull - nice work!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:31am

Solid. The lava looks very nice. I also like how the gates will follow you even if you stray very far away from center.

May 6, 2014 @ 3:56am

@Pavel: Thanks! And no more pesky compatibility issue. Hurray!

@cheesepencil: If only real lava was as nice as here. (At least it's much, much more awesome.)

@pikkpoiss: Glad you like it. Some dynamic shading was planned but had to be dropped (due to time), and I wasn't too sure how good the result looked.

@kirbytails: Good catch!

Thanks for commenting!

Belvar says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Good game, it's fun to play but I think it is not challenging enough and I grew tired after a while. Increasing speed could be a good thing. (But that's only my opinion, I like fast and challenging game when there is scoring :) )
Graphics looks great and the music is cool.

May 6, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I'd like to know where people who found the game too easy got to. By the sound of it, the incremental difficulty went unnoticed, and it just might have been spread too much...

hnjslater says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:26pm

fun game but I felt the assets didn't really work well together.

May 7, 2014 @ 1:27am

I liked the NES-style music and SFX. They matched the sort of battletoads 'surfing phase' feel of the game play. I wish there were mines to do tricks though!

May 7, 2014 @ 1:53am

@NoTrueSpaceman: Er... Mines to do tricks, huh. You don't say...

Thanks for the comments.

abayb says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:10am

That was fun. I would definitely have liked it much more if it was faster paced.

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

simply amazing

BadPaul34 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I like the shaders and the character design :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]