Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Body Defence

by stenol - Jam Entry

What's happen beneath the surface of your body when some germs are trying to attack you ? Your White blood cells attack the germs. In this little Tower defence game, you must destroy all germs before they reach the blood vessel.

Currently, there is only 2 levels, 3 towers types and 4 enemy types. Later, after the competition, I will continue to work on this so if you have any suggestion, don't hesitate.

Have fun !!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#381Overall(Jam)3.19
#388Theme(Jam)3.13
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#462Humor(Jam)2.34
#536Mood(Jam)2.78
#572Graphics(Jam)2.83
#613Innovation(Jam)2.47

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Solid tower defense game! The difficulty was good and the game felt well balanced :)

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Cool audio, TD never get old but it's disturbing to have to click on the shop button each time you want to add a turret or see your current money (same for upgrade).

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I don't like my own shop button too. In a post compo version, I will make the tower menu appear when you click the tower base.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Graet Game. It' very funny and the idea is so cool.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Yet another tower defense game.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Nice tower defense game! Loved the machine gun :D
It's a bit hard since waves start even when you aren't ready and since Lv2 waves are way harder!
Music fits and mechanics are well implemented, but you need some HUD design and UX in there.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

A TOWER DEFENSE! Freaking awesome!

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Pretty good TD! I wish the towers were a little smarter, and would shoot at the furthest enemy along the path (right now it seems like they're shooting at the closet on, it seems), but still good!

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

Solid work! It took me a while to notice the 'shop' button there, and almost didn't defend the first wave! Keep working on this as you intended, it'll be good. :)

Plus, if you're interested, I made a tower defense game as well, I'd be happy if you'd check it out. ^_^ It's right there -> http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=11177

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Tanks everyone for your comments ! I will continue to work on this for sure.

@manabreak, I will take a look at your game today :-)

vogon101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

A good game in it's own right I found that it was just a little dffiult

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Neat idea. I like your take on the theme. The tower defense mechanics are solid, and I like the presentation in general. The shop button is too small though, and it'd be nicer to have quicker access to selecting towers to place.

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

Nice music, and a decent tower defense game. When the green enemies (they look kind of like frog heads?) came, my turrets kept missing them. Not sure if that was intentional.

Nkracer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

I felt the AI were a little to hard to kill, but other than that, good job!

chagroo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38pm

A bit hard but fun to play! A nice tower defence game in my opinion.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Fun tower of defense game! Congrats!

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Hey, this was pretty fun for a grid-based TD! Unfortunately, I found the machine gunner to be pretty useless because of its range and it ended up being my demise because I couldn't put anything else down to take down the foes. It does get a little repetitive, but all in all its very solid. Great job!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Awesome! I love most of the content of this game! The music, the gameplay, even the monster. Great game! :)

FGM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I like it a lot. It's actually pretty balanced. Chill tracks.

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Made it to wave 9. Nice TD! A simple improvement would be to have the range of a tower visible when placing it or when hovering over it with your mouse. Nice work

reheated says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Very nice. I played it for quite a while. Does level 2 end? When? I never finished it because those yellow sun things were too hard! Since you're continuing to work on this game, my only suggestion (apart from more guns, enemies and levels) is an easy way to see what level a tower is without selecting it.

stenol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:59pm

@reheated the level 2 end after 20 waves :)

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I turned my head for a minute and things went crazy. This was fun. great work!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:08am

Nice Tower defense game. Good balancing, nice theme and graphics. Well done. Balancing seems to be very tight and challenging too.
Interesting that very fast enemies are often not hit (because they are so fast?)
The priorization where to shoot should be somehow different. Not the nearest to the tower, but the nearest to the exit or weakest should be shot first.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]