Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aztec

by Therrato - Jam Entry

How to play:
Arrows keys / WASD to move
Space to Attack

Known Error:
Unity web player does not always recognize mouse input the first time, press F5 to reload and it should be fixed

Story:
You are offered by an Aztec priest, for their god, you survive your fall in the pit and now try to meet their god, but only those who can proof worthy will get to meet their maker


Programming:
- Roy Schroder http://www.therrato.com
- Maikel Oelen

Models
- Peter Vrieling http://www.petervrieling.com
- Rihards Valters

Music by Cristian Calin / www.sparfis.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#365Audio(Jam)3.09
#423Humor(Jam)2.43
#514Innovation(Jam)2.69
#556Mood(Jam)2.74
#581Fun(Jam)2.56
#597Overall(Jam)2.80
#620Graphics(Jam)2.69
#689Theme(Jam)2.26

Comments

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Pretty suave game! play style was fun, would be nice if you could swing the sword more often, also enemies that run directly at you get stuck on the sword and do no damage to you!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

very engaging idea, but there is not much of a challenge yet as the enemies get stuck on the tip of your sword and you can easily take them out one at a time...i like the concept, would be nice if enemies would also compete with you by slaying each other, building up there gods or something..

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I loved the sweeping swing when you use your sword, and the cutscene at the beginning was neat!
I feel like the camera was aimed just a little too low. I saw a lot of ground, when I would have preferred to see a little further ahead.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Cool concept, i got to level 5 :D

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice little sword swinging game! Good job!

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Nice game. Didn't catch on with enemies getting stuck on your sword. Found it quite hard at first, but after killing my first enemy I got the hang of it. It does get quite repetitive. Only got to lvl6, so there could be changes up ahead that I missed..

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Fun game! Would like to swing the sword more and perhaps have special moves (super spin attack!) . Also, I'm spoiled with camera controls. I need to control the camera. But engaging nonetheless. Great job!!!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10am

First off, the game is HUGE! It took a while for me to load, and it was too big for my browser. I really enjoyed the fighting aspect, it felt really satisfying to swing the sword and watch their health go down. I wish there was more feedback to my own condition. The first time I died I wasn't even aware I was doing poorly, whether you flash read or turn red, or if there's just a bar. I'd like to think I didnt miss anything because my browser was a bit too small for the game, but a feedback mechanism can really help players know whats going on!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Nice game ! Although at first I was confused concerning the cool-down of the sword.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Funny little game, but it did glitch a few times. I fell through the ground and died, and at one point I just got flung across the room for no apparent reason.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice game. I enjoyed the game play. Graphics and audio weren't bad. It would be nice if it was easier to kill the enemies, but have them swarm more.

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Cool game! I think you could have reduced the cooldown on the sword swing attack just a bit. I think you could definitely keep going with this idea if you wanted to. It certainly has potential. :)

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:16am

nice concept. kinda annyoing controls, and the lack of feedback on taking damage is frustrating (unless there was a health bar i didnt see, the game was too big)

Therrato says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30am

Yes there is health bar, ill add a smaller screensized versio as extra link if thats allowed

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54am

Pretty fun at first with a story to boot. However the difficulty didn't seem to increase as it was extremely easy to group and kill them while moving and not taking damage. I couldn't tell if there was anything different to come so I left.

Controls are a little wonky- could use an option to strafe+mouse look instead of turn to rotate. However considering the time constraints the controls do work smoothly enough.

Great job overall!!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:10am

Perhaps there should be a cooldown indicator for attacks? Now it's unclear when I can attack. Would be nice to be able to skip the intro, gets a bit repetitive after a while. Otherwise well done!

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:23am

I feel like this game needs more indicators. There's a long cooldown on your only attack, which is fine, except there's no way to know when you can attack again. Health only regenerates when you level up, but you have no way to know how close you are to leveling. I ended up feeling like I had to play super conservatively, and in a game where your only attack would hit everything around you, that felt like a darned shame.

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:31am

It was fun to run around and kill dudes. The game was pretty easy overall, though - I was able to just kite enemies in a circle without issue. Maybe having the sword only attack in front of you would be a good change. Also the music & sound effects were great.

DavidErosa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Nice one. I'd like to have a progress bar or something like that showing when can I attack again. Also the enemies getting stuck on the tip of the sword made it pretty easy defeating them :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:38am

The controls are a bit difficult to get used to, and the game is a bit repetitive. Lovely music and audio.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I managed to make it to level 6. I would have played further but I kept getting annoyed by enemies who would get stuck on top of me, which basically guaranteed my failure. Other than that, it was a decent game, but it got monotonous fairly quickly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]