Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fistula Foragers

by local minimum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Fistula Foragers you manuver Epitelial Explorer One down the cavities of the fur-skin you dermites live on to salvage the miau-pow energy sources that drives your society.

Many features had to be cut short, but it's a rocket, dive through generated fistulae for now...

First try using Phaser, and real javascripting... I've got a generator issue that makes the game not work on Chromium but I'll try to fix that tomorrow.

--- UPDATE ---

I dove down the bug fistula that caused the game not to work in Chrom/e/ium/ and fished out the iterator lurking in the bottom. Now game should be fully compatible with most browsers. Let me know if it's not.

--- WRITE COMMENT & I'LL PLAY YOUR GAME ---

I know this turned out very bare, but I'd happily take any constructive feedback. In fact I'll even take a simple 'Played it, now play mine!' and that's your ticket to me playing your game (as long as I don't have to install annoying things, have a Mac or Phone, need to be many people).

I think LD48 is 1/3rd making game fun, 1/3rd seeing many takes on the same problem and learning from their mistakes, 1/3rd learning from peoples reactions to my games. Voting doesn't count as a reaction, voting is that extra 12% that shows you really mean something, because who ever settled for just 100%?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#771Theme3.02
#901Humor1.94
#1018Graphics2.45
#1029Audio1.48
#1070Innovation2.32
#1112Fun2.29
#1158Mood2.08
#1203Overall2.31

Comments

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I liked it - but why does it only work in Firefox? Good job!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

@kbm it requires Javascript 1.7 for a solution I made while implementing the algorithm for fistulae creation, at least in Chromium it doesn't work and since I don't have other browsers I put it as only FF rather than having tons of complaints about it not working. I'll try to find energy to work around that later today. Think that's the type of bug allowed to patch according to the rules. Could even be considered porting it to new platform...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice graphics!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

@local minimum yeah definitely, you should "port" it to other browsers, it's much more accessible that way.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

@Martin Vilcans, I'll give my cat some extra attention to thank her for lending her fur to my game.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43am

Very nice game Local, needs some sounds and the controls somewhere, but anyway a nice concept for a proper game.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Cool idea! It was hard to tell where the tunnel was initially, but then I got it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I wasn't sure what I was meant to be doing, just exploring? Worked fine in internet explorer too. Best thing is the controls, nice and slidy. 2nd best thing would be the graphics, reminded me of Samarost somehow.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

It actually works in Tor Browser just fine.

I thought the controls felt a bit floaty, but thats what makes it challenging. Really didn't know what I was doing at first but eventually figured it out. Wish there was an ending screen.

borrismoose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Is the tunnel randomly generated? I think I got unlucky on my first playthrough which caused some confusion. Second time was much better I had walls to weave through. It controls nicely.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I foraged a while and didn't find anything. I like the little ship graphic, but I was really missing a jet blast coming out of the bottom when I applied thrust. I like the cat fur at the start. That was quite creative

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice to hear the game works in all browsers now!

@tripleVisionGames: the bottom of the fistula/tunnel has a yellow thing to be picked up to the surface.

@borrismoose: yes it is randomly generated using a field, some noise and a general direction. Haven't fully nailed the generation yet.

@recursor: animations, enemies and more I unfortunately had to cut (uploaded 6min to deadline), but I'm working on a v1.1 that will have all of that.

anvoz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

It's much easier when I let the rocket falls down slowly to avoid damage instead of flying down to the bottom. But then I couldn't bring the yellow thing to the surface as it usually disappear on the half way. Did I not take it fast enough?

I guess you got a lot of troubles with Phaser because the new version was just released, broke backward compatibility and was leaving a lot tutorials in old version. But the most important thing is that you could make it playable and submitted in time. Hope I can try v1.1 soon.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Controls took a sec to get used to. Once down it was pretty satisfying to fly the ship around!

FatJoe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I had a bit of a trouble finding the tunnel at first, but after that it was cool. Would have loved to seen some more gameplay elements, like dodging traps or something, but all in all, good work :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Fun but seemed awkward and just slightly lacking something. Music maybe?

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

@FatJoe enemies are on the way in my 1gam-version. Three types done, shooting and then some. Will post a post-dare version here after voting is over.

@BoaHeck_ArtGent, music is definitely one thing I will add for my updated version.

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice take on the theme - everyone else is going underground or under water, so it's nice to have a different location for a change. ;)

Solid gameplay, neat graphics (I really like seeing real-life textures make an appearance in LD games). I think you've got a solid foundation here and I'm looking forward to seeing the 1GAM version of this. Great work!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:27am

This is a nice entry. It had me on the edge of my seat when it told me to return. Good job!

May 2, 2014 @ 8:03am

Interesting interpretation of theme. As for the game, well, first I hate the gameplay to move the player :( It's personal and I have seen it in a lot of phaser game ( I think there's an example with that type of control/physics , that may be why ). Other than that the idea is fine.
Maybe making the edges harmful would have been an idea, because here I didn't really understood why I died, or what I could have done to go further.
Sorry for the long comment. Cheers.

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:27am

@pandavigoureux It was actually rather the other way around with idea first and decision to use Phaser later on. That tutorial did help, yet reason for my game being so lacking in those other respects were difficulties in implementing the details of the ship-control that makes it slightly different from the example.
But enough of that, first I read your comment as a critique of the ever common way controls affect the main protagonist (in my case the ship). And I thought that, but for an other game, could be interesting. If you only affected the walls of the level and the ship kept sinking along whatever path it decided. Somewhat like dungeon keeper (or what it is called) but fighting for the ship rather than against it.

IAmSpencer says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:58am

simple but a good idea, would like to see what other kind of features you could add :)

d__adee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:29am

After I got the "You made it message" I dunno what to do anymore. I find the control fast and slidy though. Which is nice, but needs getting used to. :)

local minimum says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:32am

@d__adee That was how far I made it during the compo. Would have been nice with a great "YOU WIN" or even better to have that story around it all that I'm working on now.

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:36am

Interesting, but I seemed to just fall and fall and couldn't really get anywhere.

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:29am

good entry! i like the concept for sure, and you are right, its a tad bare but a good start. the idea of diving beneath the surface of the skin was on my list too when i was coming up with concepts and i think you can expand this out with even some educational aspect along the way

psychonull says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:42pm

The first time I played, I couldn't understand the game because I went down from outside the map maybe? After refreshing, I got it. Sometimes it's just impossible to beat, but good job, and good take on the theme.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I really like the idea. It plays well for what it is. Keep going :)

iambored2006 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Nice game. I really liked the controls! Some instructions would be nice, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]