Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Depths

by nexust - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Things to note:
-Your fish gets darker when hungry
-Taking damage makes you more hungry
-You are a fish
-Enjoy
-Akkail are working on a full version of Depths based on your suggestions and requests!


Bugfixes released:
- (28th April | 12:33pm) Game started on 'Game Over' screen. Fixed now.

The game is free, by the way. Although you are able to pay a little towards supporting us, the game is free and you can just click straight through to the download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Couple comments:

Gameplay: not enough dynamics; ocean is big and fish is rare. Also no visible progress apart from going into 'bad' state (which is too relaxed as well, i haven't managed to die..)

Graphics: it's too dark (esp. when fish is in 'bad' state) unless you turn brightness of screen. Other than that, it's pretty atmospheric.

PS: indirect links are evil

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this game. it was cool to swim around and see groups of sardines and jellyfish. It was great to just swim around. Gameplay wise, I found the "press tab to move" thing a little exhausting after a while, and eating fish was very hard. Also, aside from the achievements, there isn't really an incentive to keep playing. Still, good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23am

I like how the control are played. Also the atmosphere is good. Add some bar to give give the player knowledge on how long they gonna survive and to add some tension to the game. :)

nexust says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53pm

@BlazingFanfish I didn't want to introduce a HUD to the game because I felt it would intrude on the visual style. Instead, I opted for having the fish darken as it's health (hunger) reduced.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:01pm

The fishes are beautiful :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

The controls were hard for me, also is a bit boring to do always the same, eat and nothing more. Graphics are pretty good anyway!

nexust says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:47pm

@WhiteWold93 I drew a complete blank on the theme this time round... I think my main focus became making the game look nice.

shasharala says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:01am

There was a lot of atmosphere that I imagine could be built upon. Outside of that there was a definite lack of things to do after a short while. I look forward to seeing it fleshed out more.

danbo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I quite like the shoals, though they're super rare. I found it wholly a wee bit frustrating, though. Controls are very slippery and the enemies aren't very predictable - I'm sure that was probably the point.

kibertoad says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Controls would work better with gamepad support, but it does have a very nice hungry fish feel to it. Simple, but moody open world is always awesome to play. And achievements are a great idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]