Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine (treasure hunting)

by reidrac - Jam Entry

The game plays (hopefully) in any modern web browser supporting canvas 2D (and a keyboard).

I couldn't finish it for the compo, but I managed to get to something playable for the Jam... so enjoy!

Made from scratch with Javascript and Canvas 2D (no framework + SoundJS for audio). Graphics with Gimp, sound effects with sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#155Theme(Jam)3.59
#293Overall(Jam)3.34
#427Mood(Jam)2.97
#428Humor(Jam)2.42
#493Audio(Jam)2.73
#568Innovation(Jam)2.59

Comments

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Fun little game! The title screen is gorgeous and I love the little intro sequence. Shame you couldn't make the compo but a good game none the less!

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I like it! It's well polished and rounded off, a good challenge, and intense in small doses :) I really like the way the game starts and the way it moves!

Could be nice if you make the mine explosions hit enemy subs - more interactivity is cool :D

reidrac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

@longshorts: thanks, I'm happy you like the graphics :)

@Tuism: I didn't have time to get too deep into the enemies AI. At least they accelerate and turn the same way the player submarine does. I no way perfect, but... I couldn't do more! :) Thanks for your comment! Very appreciated!

Charimation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Really enjoyable game :D The graphics style is really sweet too :)

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Cool pixel style, really liked the mines. Felt the movement could have done with some acceleration.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

It is a good game, well polished! I do agree that the title screen looks really lovely and then the transition into the actual game looks great

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

This is pretty fun! I love the NES feeling throughout the game, being a retro-game fanatic. :)

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59am

Very cute and polished (the intro is great !) i think with a bit more work on the gamefeel it could be even better

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Ooh I like the art ;)
I thought the vertical acceleration was maybe a bit rapid?
Nonetheless, that was pretty cool!

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15pm

InfectionTeam: you're probably right! This is the first time I implement that kind of movement (tried to make it feel like it is underwater).

Thanks everybody for the feedback :)

codevinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

I really liked the graphics in this game and the game play was fun enough.

I just wish there was more.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very smooth animations!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Great animations. I really enjoyed it.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

simple idea, but pretty fun. It's always nice to blow shit up, good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

A really nice game!

One minor thing I noticed though was this: There were two submarines shooting at me from left and right and I moved up and dodged the bullets, but each of them went straight past the other sub. I think if they would also hit other submarines and not just the player that would be awesome!

reidrac says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:54am

Green Lightning: it's a good idea, also the enemy submarines shouldn't go through the mines. I didn't have too much time to work on these details!

Thanks for you comment!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10am

Nice little shoot em up. Good job.

Teesquared says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:30am

Fun game. Not much of a challenge if you just coast along the bottom and grab treasures. I like following my torpedo :)

May 3, 2014 @ 11:10am

Good game, I played over half an hour with it :D

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Beautiful, beautiful pixels. A well polished little game.

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice idea and great graphics. Would be nice to have some goals, maybe destroy all mines or all enemies or get all treasure chests + more levels with increased difficulty.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]