Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ore Genesis

by Genecyll - Jam Entry

Ore Genesis is a little gravity puzzle game and my second entry to Ludum Dare.

Tiles are falling above and beneath the surface. Try to match two or more tiles of the same color to earn as much points as you can. After a while a new wave of tiles will appear. But beware... Once you've earned enough points, the waves will grow and more colors will make their introduction! If you'll fill up the whole playfield, then the game is over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

spartangeek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

when running your jar on Windows: I get
error: COuld not find the main class:
com.genecyll.ld29.OreGenesis

technocf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

A good game, well made with good audio.

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:28pm

A simple idea that was very well executed.

hadesfury says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great game ! Good polish :D

You could try to sell it

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:23am

Final score: 11935!

This is a great game, especially the beautiful crispness of the sound and visual design. The bright "Ping!" of pieces disappearing is satisfying, along with the movement of the columns towards the center as you clear them. I found it meditative, easily accessible, and a good rendition in general of the mechanic (though it had been previously familiar to me). However, in this case having the difficulty increase based on your own skill level was quite welcome.

Genecyll says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Thanks for all your feedback!

jugglerrob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I've played a lot of games like this but I thought having tiles on the bottom and top was a good touch. Very fun.

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I like the simplicity of this game. The Sounds are excellent. I only found it to be too easy. Maybe you could add a penalty for clicking non removable tiles?

sam101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice execution, not so innovative but still a good game, well done !

DrStahlbart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:18pm

The gameplay is really fun and I like the minimalistic art style, but the sounds are a little bit too... high.
But all in all a game really worth playing. :)

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Got to 10,700 points! WHAT A GOOD GAME. I found the block clicking sounds a tad too heavy on the treble at times. The must was great. I think the purple blocks should come a tiny bit sooner, as I started to think I would never lose the game. Then BAM, I lost haha. You really should consider getting this onto iPad or something, for real. Good work!

Brodenino says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:18am

It's a shame that I didn't find this game sooner, because it doesn't seem to start for me. A windows pops up and immediately shuts down with the message "Score file not accessible, not loading the score".

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]