Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the sea surface

by ibilon - Jam Entry

Made with my friend elnabo.

Your are a salvaging crew, naviguate on the see using your radar to find treasures.
When your ship is full sell your loot to the harbor shop.
Don't forget to buy fuel and why not a bigger ship.

Keys
=====
Up & down : move
Left & right : turn
E : pickup treasures
S : open/close shop
M : (un)mute

we were a little short on time but we hope you'll like it :)

Post jam version
=================

Don't rate using this version!
Fix some ui issues and put lighter treasures near the harbor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#175Theme(Jam)3.55
#309Audio(Jam)3.19
#338Mood(Jam)3.11
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#383Fun(Jam)2.98
#469Overall(Jam)3.05
#474Graphics(Jam)3.12
#594Humor(Jam)1.93

Comments

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

every treasure i got to said too heavy :/ maybe make lighter ones near the start. Then my ship blew up ?! haha

I really wanted to cruise about and find treasure, should just have no death that woulda been cool.

Loved the music

well done, I still rated quite well for what I got lol

ibilon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

There's probably too much randomness for the treasures weight yeah, and the fact that the ship blew up when there's no more fuel probably made sens at some point, can't remember ^^
Thanks.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Great job! Maybe some indicator in radar about the weights would be helpful. Nice music too!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Good game, like others said, there might be too much heavy treasures near the shore. But it's still playable and actually quite fun. I would've loved to see the boat drifting a little further instead of stopping abruptly. The music fits the game well.

Maek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Great game!

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Really interesting mechanics. Took me a few tries to figure out what was going on but I managed to get there in the end! Good job.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Pretty cool stuff.
Actually got the big ship in the end.

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

good job...maybe you could spend fuel on ship rotation too.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Couldn't get a single treasure either :-( besides that it looks like a solid game.

ibilon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I added online a post-jam version which fix some ui issues and put lighter treasures near the harbor so the player doesn't get stuck.

Thanks everyone for the comments :)

demonshanker2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

This is actually rather addictive, good job!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

This is a nice submission. Great premise, I kept dying unexpectedly though. Would love to see a full version of this game!

01F0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I think this is a fun and well-planned game. The upgrades made me want to play further. I like the music and the sound effects suits the gameplay. Another thing that is good is that you have both the radar and the distance to look at, makes it stressful and challenging. :)

The theme requirement is obviously met. Adding a few points for humor as well (the boat blowing up when running out of gasoline, funny. :D )

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Pretty cool, I didn't really have an issue with the difficulty, it just took some careful resource management in the beginning. Maybe make the dots for heavier treasure bigger on the radar.

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:11am

Such heave treasure, do you even lift boat

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:12am

This is very entertaining. Good work.

May 2, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice game. It was interesting to play. Also I somehow felt a little Terranigma in it...you know the porttown?...no?...just me?...oh well...still a nice game :)

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Wow, that was fun. I have to head off to a meeting or I would keep working on getting that big ship. Loved the ship graphics.

FGM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Pretty cool. When you get the big boat, it's like pac-man.

nSun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:06pm

This is not really a challenge, but it is very nice
I would have to buy another sonar if the seller had offered me. http://past.is/Phbd

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]