Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bellow

by RedPanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Both Google Drive and GameJolt provide standalones for Windows, Macintosh and Linux!

So this is my entry for this Ludum Dare. It's a side-scroller, platformer game, with some simple backstory that
I didn't really opened up.

Unity 2D tools really screwed me over, so movement is really
painful, I warned you. (Hint:Jump More)

It is really hurried and buggy.

Background:
In the world of only black, white and various shades of grey, colors sunddenly begin to appear. A simple man, seeing an odd light from cave near by, wishes to find out what the source of the light is. Do you wish to find out?

Controls:

Left: A or Left Arrow
Right: D or Right Arrow
Jump: W or Space or Up Arrow
Pause: Escape
Use: E

Edit:
Due to me being forgetful, lazy idiot, I forgot to add an Exit tag to last terminal, I think this is ok thing to fix after LD? Well I fixed it anyway...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#72Mood3.85
#249Audio3.27
#297Graphics3.60
#444Theme3.39
#681Overall3.06
#782Humor2.13
#1000Fun2.47
#1046Innovation2.38

Comments

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

Love the graphic style - like 8-bit Limbo. Impressive work! :)

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Despite the control issues that you acknowledged, this game has an excellent mood. High points for Graphics/Audio/Mood!

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Very interesting, the movement needs work, but the music and graphics definetly gave a great mood

ultramailman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

nice, just a little hard to move around.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Remind me of Limbo. I like it. Good luck!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Awesome game!, a little bit of controller issues but I looked past it; reminded me of the atmosphere Limbo gave me the first time I played.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

I like the dark art style. The controls are very difficult though and I couldn't get the second terminal to work. I like where this is going though and would love to see a polished version.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Wonderful silhouette art. I particularly like that tree. Jumping only seemed to work sporadically for me, but you probably know that already (agree Unity needs to do a bit more work and some important bugfixes on the new 2D features). If it amuses you watching me try to jump and babble away with bad audio, Twitch stream exists here ( http://www.twitch.tv/m/491430 ) for a few days.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

This is more an eperience than a game, great mood!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Very nice mood. The controls are quite hard to handle.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Great mood and graphics. Controls definitely need some work.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice graphics, too bad there are no animations for the character :(
The controls are a bit odd, sometimes there is a lot of friction and I can't move and sometimes when I get too much speed the character is sliding ^^

RedPanda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

To all of you who played the game, I am so sorry for movement...

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Very eerie and atmospheric - great job! The music is perfect.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Cool graphics style, excellent mood. Controls are clunky, got stuck after using the teleport on the second level.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I really like it, its very inmersive. I was actually more bothered for the non-animated character than the controller (yes, it would be nice if it is fixed, but since its a 48hrs game i believe it's ok). Over all i believe you got something great here.
Cheers!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28am

Really nice atomsphera!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Controls aren't best one.. But music saved everything for me :-)

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:56am

Cheerful mystery from the music. I enjoyed Scary Silhouettes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]