Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

denudation

by zillix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

a wanderer finds himself in an unfamiliar world, in search of an ancient shrine that is said to bestow vast power to those who reach it.
in this land, destroying an object breaks it down into its fragments, which can be used to gain immense power.


--OBJECTIVE--

claim the power from the shrine, stripping fragments from everything you pass on your way.


--CONTROLS--

LEFT / RIGHT / UP / DOWN - move and jump
Z (hold) - attract nearby fragments
X - attack
+/- to change volume


--UPDATES--
added a post-compo version!
- music tweaked
- various animation added (including fragment absorption)
- miscellaneous map tweaks
- ??secret ending??

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#6Fun4.32
#12Overall4.27
#20Innovation4.30
#86Audio3.69
#148Mood3.62
#205Graphics3.77
#302Humor2.87
#618Theme3.20

Comments

Superdeath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

What the hell, this is super fun! Getting more powers is awesome!

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37am

I really enjoyed the game. Graphics, music, effects, controls, and the other gameplay elements really fit together for a great experience. I liked that there wasn't a lot of hand-holding, and I had to figure out how to proceed on my own. Later "forms" really felt powerful and beating the shrine really gave a sense of accomplishment.

My only major complaint is the text was often-times away from the action, and the first time I played through, I often missed what was said.

You're games usually have some eastereggs, or alternate endings, but I didn't see any in this one. Did I miss any? I'll probably play through again later just to be sure.

Overall, really nice job. Keep up the good work. I always look forward to playing your LD games.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Awesome work! Expending pellets as a mechanic is cool, and I like that the pellet type persists.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

Really clever and unique, great use of the theme. Found it a little hard to figure out what I was trying to accomplish.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

Wow! really polished! The physics on the boxes are really great

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45am

very clever and pretty fun

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Very cool entry, the mechanics to manipulate the blocks and attract them towards the player is really well implemented. Congratulation, from the comments, its worth taking a look on your other games as well.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Wow, that's a great gameplay concept! It really works well; I love how your powers expend the fragments, too. It helps convey their worth/power in a way that the bar and z wouldn't have gotten across. I also found picking up all of the fragments after dropping them pretty hilarious.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

great tiny self contained experience. Had a real wow moment when the big enemy started to move. Rare to see ludum dare games with a beginning middle and an end

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Holy damn, that's awesome! I can't really find the theme at all(?) but gameplay is freaking amazing! Love the final upgrade, feels really powerful!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Excellent game! The graphics are great, the physics and voxels give it a very polished feel, the music and sounds work perfectly, etc. But most importantly, it was fun! The growth and weapon upgrade mechanic really keeps you wanting to play to see what comes next. I also enjoyed the aspect of shooting out blocks behind you to fly. Not to mention it was a pretty good shooter on top of that stuff, with a nice progression of difficulty. It was a very solid game, you did amazing work in the time limit. Have a bunch of high marks, good sir.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

That was really solid. I enjoyed it, although losing all your fragments in 1 hit was a bit harsh

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52am

This was impressive. The mechanics alone were awesome! And then you throw at us that sweet giant enormous boss! Cool music and clean graphics. You should be proud.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54am

Great job, awesome use of particles, and I was very pleased to see that they stay around after you lose them rather than blinking out of existence. Definitely one of my favorites so far!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54am

You take this game, and you develop it. I would love to see more of this game. The penalty for getting hit once is a bit harsh (maybe you only lose half of your resources), but even with that frustration this is one addicting game.

Oh, and the subtle shift in music with the addition of more power was a great touch. Thanks for sharing this one.

friken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54am

This is good. I like this quite a bit.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Wow, definitely the best game I've seen so far

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

Very nice and original mechanic - seriously refreshing :)

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02am

That was incredibly fun ! Reminds me of knack even tho i never played it haha really cool to evolve the character and the powers, nice job

Graf_Grun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Fantastic.

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

I quite liked this game! The gameplay was quite unique, it controlled well and was just fun to play. The visual style was also cute!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57am

Just one word: "AWESOME!"

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Can you please update the source link? Looks like both the web and source lead to the game. Thanks!

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

@LandoSystems: Oops, thanks for the heads up! Updated the source link.

I appreciate all of the wonderful comments :D

FYI, there's only 1 ending and only a few small easter eggs (check out the top corners), but more are coming in a post-compo version!

muh_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Just one word: "AWESOME!"²
REALLY FUN!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I liked. It's so funny to attract the boxes, and the music very good

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:19am

This was really fun!!
I enjoyed growing in power as I destroyed the enemy, and it felt fair that I lost mobility when more powerful. The boss battle was really well made! Every part was fun and different.

Great job!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50am

BEST GAME EVER!! FULL 5 STAR!!!

I cannot think of anything that would make this game better.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20am

This is amazing fun. I could see this turned into a full fledged game easily.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:24am

I didn't get I could absorb the fragment at first. And you can actually go pretty far without knowing it. (until it retreats in the core). Il fact you can jump really high by hitting the wall continuously. It might be something you want to fix. This aside, this game is great. I felt I was in Gurren Lagann or something.

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:52am

I was lost very quickly and didn't know what to do after the game said something about breaking the shrines, I broke everything and notihng happened... Too bad it seemed interesting judging the screenshot.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58pm

This is brilliant!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

THE POWER IS MINE! what a game, much power so wow! i am really impressed and i had a blast playing it. this was awesome and i hope you will continue to make such games!

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44pm

God, that was an awesome experience. I really love how you combined music and visuals to show the progression. Slurping up the boxes was great too and (basically) a tutorial with a long boss-fight was a nice way to get the most bang (game) for your buck (time) in 48h.
One of the best I've seen yet.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

So original and fun! I haven't been this excited since the NES days, where everything had been new and awesome.
I wouldn't mind playing this all day if it were longer.
Definitely my favorite entry so far!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:37am

I'v been playing it for the last 20 minutes and I have to say that was fun.
What amazing game here and nice soundtrack as bonus.

Sestren says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:43am

Although a bit short, that was a lot of fun to play. Loved the sound and the look of it, as well.

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:47am

Darn, so lag!I enjoyed the most of the little I could play; after the 3rd transformation I just couldn't play anymore.

valid4life says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53am

This was a great game! I really enjoyed the whole thing!

Elforama says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:59am

Had a really fun time playing this. Great job!

Greg Power says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23am

This is a perfect little package. Cool core idea of absorbing/spending your power. I also liked how the boss was a level in itself. It was a little frustrating entering the first boss part and zonked with a bullet straight away, but otherwise, pretty much flawless.

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:43am

Very creative usage of physics engine! You have accomplished well the goals you set to achieve this LD. The boss battle is the best I have seen in a LD game. Quite epic. Reminds me of Shadow of Colossus.

Zephyr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:13am

Wow. Masterfully done. The most well executed entry I've seen by far. Just looking at something like this reminds me of how far I have to go. Bravo sir!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:15am

Wow, that was awesome! Loved everything about it, keep up the good work!

Catman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:32am

A really good entry. Attacking the blocks and amassing them is quite satisfying in itself, and the boss battle adds to it. Great job!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Great game! Love the mechanics. I appreciate how the music grows as you get more powerful. Really cool.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Incredible! It was very fun to play. One of the best games I have played in the jam!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Freaking awesome!

MarsBar says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:13am

This game is awesome, however in my opinion it had nothing to do with the theme. That being said, this was very fun to play, the controls were fantastic and the gameplay was easy to pick up, it offered a fair amount of challenge and the progression was perfection XD

Anoarith says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Awesome mechanic, congratulations this is a really nice game :) !

Rodaja says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I didn't quite get where to go sometimes, but the spending/earning powers was a fun mechanic.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:49pm

I love the concept! Gaining powers, fighting the boss stage by stage, all fantastic. The little tutorial stage did a good job of introducing some really new game concepts. I would have hoped for a little higher jumping power, and maybe a wider field of vision would have helped defeating turrets that are very difficult to fight up close. The speed at which you re-acquire fragments after getting hit feels really slow, though. This means you can spend a lot more time recovering from getting hit than actually playing in certain portions. Perhaps as you attain higher levels, the speed at which you gain fragments could be increased and stay increased even if you get hit. I also would have liked to see more of a discovery/story behind what it really means to invade this world and start stripping it of its fragments, and who this is you're attacking, but it felt like maybe you were leading in that direction and just didn't have the time to pull it off. In any case, this was really fun and I'd love to see a full version.

Wertle says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:16am

I love this mechanic! It is so different and yet it is very simple to understand what's going on with your feedback. I also like how it inherently controls progression. It was very clever how everything in the world was a square except the enemy projectiles, nice job on that :) REally well done!

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Very cool concept and fun !!!

Garris says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:11am

Wow that was cool. The player's evolution of power and play mechanics as you collect fragments is really interesting, and the subtle bit of story that's there gives the game a good sense of intrigue and discovery as you play. Played more than once. Would play again. Very well done!

zebi24 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really good, one of the best I've played in this LD! :)

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Excellent concept game, graphics and audio! Minimalist, clever and super fun. Great ^^

quantumpotato says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:04pm

FIVE STARS

Teesquared says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:17am

Very innovative game and it keeps you playing.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:40am

Fun, I managed to beat it! I like that I didn't get sent back too far when I got hurt.

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:11am

The potential of this game mechanic are very interesting and there are many surprises but I feel this game isn't exploring them enough.

Jimanzium says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:20am

Well that was fun

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:06pm

One of the best games so far :) very original gameplay :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]