Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inferious

by dylanigan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

New In Version 1.1: Fixed gun aiming, made worms stronger, made the gun stronger, and fixed various bugs.


Inferious is a 3D first person game that would fit into the video game genres of platformer, puzzle, FPS, and horror.

You play as Brian Glowsworth, who after recently escaping from The Wrath of the Decem[1] has got a job working for science, mining and security contractor, ACME as a security guard. After being swallowed by the Earth in an experiment gone wrong you must escape from Beneath The Surface and survive the deadly purple worms[2] that reside there.

Controls: WASD to move, mouse to look, left click to shoot, right click to toggle flashlight, and the slider at the top of the screen is to control mouse sensitivity. There is a in game tutorial that will cover these controls as well as some other aspects of the game. Playing the tutorial is recommended.

This was my second Ludum Dare.

Note: If Windows says that the program is not responding while it loads a level don't worry, that is just a bug, it will load, eventually.

[1]http://bit.ly/1nxWp9G

[2]http://bit.ly/PIZvsO

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#254Humor2.98
#358Audio3.07
#707Theme3.09
#785Graphics2.81
#926Mood2.57
#999Overall2.71
#1015Innovation2.42
#1051Fun2.40

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16am

I asked myself - how it's possible? Why I must wait twenty seconds before playing? And now I understand :)
How many cubes you have used to create these maps?
It's a strange game, but it well done. THX ++

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Nice dude! I like the voice clips, especially the tutorial. Gives it a very Half Life feel

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

The most detailed tutorial I've ever seen lol. Nice game though more polished may be needed :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very impressive. Cool voice acting, haha.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I loled at the tutorial :)
The aim was a bit off, and there was a lot of z-fighting in some walls, but nice work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I liked the tutorial and the voice overs. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Fun little game, just the pauses when loading are a little... distracting... ! :) The rest is cool, though!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Sweet game, loved the voxel-ness of it all

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

It's better to just run past the worms, the gun doesn't do much at all.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very impressive game, especially the tutorial ;)

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Cool game, I liked the voice overs. The loading screens were death though =(

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Very cute. The gun really is a problem, it does not work very well. Once I gave up on using it though, I had fun running through the mines.

minism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

Love the voice clips and the weird cuby graphics. Shooting is a bit cumbersome because the bullet object isnt directed towards the cursor properly, but perhaps that was intended.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

Thanks to everyone who has left a comment! I am working on fixing some bugs for the next release, which should be up soon. Those bugs include the gun not shooting very accurately, the worms not doing very much damage and the loading times being very long.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

lots of Z-fighting on walls in tutorial, voiceovers overlap, gun needs to be rendered in separate camera (so it won't stick into walls)
but good start so far.. keep it up

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Very cool, I liked the tutorial a lot.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04pm

has potential, good game tutorial.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I'm going to be honest because honesty is how you'll get better! We're always learning!

So, how long did it take to place all those cubes? I don't know, I like the LOOK of them, but the rest of the game needed a lot more attention. The cubes weren't worth the load time for the most part.

Is there even a reason to switch the torch off? If so, why make it an option?

There's zero feedback on if you hit the worm or not. That's a tough one to contend with. Also eventually I just ignored them. They don't do much damage anyway.

So bumping up the damage alone probably won't solve the problem cos it'll just either be too hard. The enemies need to do something a little bit more, either in movement, or in attacks (which are almost unavoidable, which takes away from the players' decisions space).

So that's my crit, it's not a bad start, really, but I do hope you learn and grow! :D

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Ahhh, overlapping voices! and it doesn't capture mouse input (OS X). :( That was a good tutorial, though the gun didn't seem very effective against the worms. Perhaps it should fire faster?

kbm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

really crazy glitchy art-style. liked it! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Hi. I like the microcubed maps. The shooter aspects are tricky to play, mouselook gun works better when fullscreen, but still tricky.

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28am

How old are you? I'm curious because I guess you recorded the tutorial hehe.

Anyway, good job with developing a game in less than 48 hours even though it's very raw. :)

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:28am

nice atmosphere an sound effects :)

foolmoron says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great level design. The tutorial was really great too. Although you should try to capture the mouse in the web player, and disable the right-click menu.

May 15, 2014 @ 4:17pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDdl5RdUCTg

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:41am

I like the voice tuto but it's not playable.

snooze82 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:32am

I like the voice clips

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]