Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Maze Sweeper

by Turkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The object of the game is to solve the maze. Simple enough, but the maze is hidden beneath the tiles! In order to solve the maze you have to click the tiles to reveal the maze, but be careful because you only get a certain amount of clicks To reveal the maze with!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#450Innovation3.21
#889Theme2.84
#942Humor1.88
#1022Audio1.50
#1063Fun2.38
#1099Overall2.56
#1172Mood2.00
#1231Graphics1.78

Comments

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38am

Interesting game. I'd like to see an extended version of it.

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

It's a very interesting idea. It'd be nicer if you couldn't hit the walls once they were revealed, I kept doing that by accident.

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Overall a nice game and an interesting concept. The graphics seemed a little glitchy, perhaps you need some double buffering?

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I like the constant "use-up-a-click-or-just-guess" decisions that I found myself in. It's a simple game and it could use some refining, but it's fun, and that's what counts.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

Death by hitting the walls was obnoxious. It would have been nice if it simply didn't let you go where you hadn't revealed and made the walls stop you.

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:44am

It's a neat idea, but not really very fun as is.. you just try to find the path with all your clicks, and if not, probably run into a wall and die.

Would've been nice if there'd been some kind of incentive to reveal less tiles (score? or maybe some tiles would be dangerous to reveal?), and some alternate but less reliable ways of telling where there's floor (floor marks, shadows, other things walking around, etc), so you'd have to decide if you could tell without revealing too much, or if you'd rather pay the cost to be certain.

Anyway, well done on completing and submitting a game =)

Neonian says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:25am

A cool idea :)

João Kucera says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:56am

Nice concept.

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:28am

Love the concept, would like to see it extended to. Maybe a visual countdown of your clicks and a little more forgiving collisions, there are times where I ran into a wall, but didn't think I touched it.

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Interesting concept! I like mazes =)

miwuc says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:34am

Cool concept. Definitely needs a click counter though, otherwise you have no idea how many clicks are left. More ways to make deductions (like the numbers in minesweeper) would also be cool in my opinion.

Nkracer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Fun, though hard, nice game!

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Interesting idea with more dungeon events this game will be better ;)

DesignerNap says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:24pm

death hitting the walls was pretty punishing but I did like it. :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:39am

Very interesting innovation, like it

May 10, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Nice game! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ARsCeJtTlas

pichifino says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Like it

May 17, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Website link just links to a web host.

Great concept that could be a lot of fun with some more polish. An awesome use of the theme!

Also: Congratulations, not Congragulations ;)

Turkey says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Fixed the website link. I forgot I changed the name of the page.

TheZiggy says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:59am

Cant play the game since I'm on mac, but props for the time-lapse, not many games have one!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]