Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

AHH LAVA!

by Dreii - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're in a sub trapped at the bottom of a cavern, SUDDENLY LAVA!

Can you make it out before its too late? Oh look, shiny!

You can blow your way through the rocks with bombs, and you can spam them for bigger explosions!

I tried to balance the amount you can die with a quick respawn time, and I tried to make it always possible to get through with enough bomb spam. The layered challenge is trying to get as many baubles as possible on the way up.

I'm really proud of what I've got here, it evolved like 3 times due to me realizing I just couldn't do certain things in two days. :D

Instructions are in game, just hit the question mark button.

Web version is WASD only, arrow keys had a strange bug. Also, colors are off so you can't see when lava is coming. Windows executable works much better. ;)

Made in Game Maker Studio, with audio from FL Studio and Audacity. Graphics done in Photoshop with some Illustrator used for UI planning. :)

Check out my other game, it's on the App Store and Google Play store. Find it here: http://www.gamechildstudios.com

EDIT: People have mentioned some buggy movement at the surface, It seems to be in the HTML5 version only, and I'm not sure what it is yet. Try and play on windows if you can sorry! :(

Already working on a post LD version for mobile devices and web portals!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#236Fun3.44
#286Theme3.58
#308Overall3.44
#462Innovation3.19
#467Graphics3.29
#476Humor2.54
#497Audio2.87
#588Mood2.95

Comments

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Nice work.

It got a little frustrating when the random level generation left me with few/zero workable paths. I was playing the web version.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

6 shiny bubbles. Found the maze actually gets impossible pretty easily.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

That moment when you took a bad path and lava is coming for you. Nice!

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Solid concept, although the procedural stuff sometimes creates impossible levels (as far as I could tell at least)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Really original! I like it a lot!

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

I beat it! pretty fun, I liked spamming the bombs and dodging the sand and rocks.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh! This is so frustrating but I can't stop playing!

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice game. You forgot to mention that you can use the mouse to make a path. I got to the top though, and the submarine got stuck.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

I tried to make it possible to get through any path by spamming bombs and dodging, still needed some tweaking though! ^^;

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

Simple idea but it works well. Like a reversed Mr Driller sort of thing :)

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

This was fun. It's good that your idea evolved because you ended up with something a bit unique; like a puzzle and action game combined. Little things like getting stuck in the seaweed was a nice touch, it gets you worried that you won't get out in time. Took me a few tries, but I finished it. Good work!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

Great graphics and I like the simple gameplay!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

Did not realise i could click for bombs

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Yeah i shouldve made it bigger on the help page :(

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I really liked it but the level generation could use some work. I played a few times and always ran into dead ends, 16 bubbles was my best!

Spotline says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Very efficient gameplay, immediately fun to play ! Best score 18

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

So. Much. Tension.
That was fun :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice work, maybe a bit short :(

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I like this one. Got stuck, though.

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

One day I'll get to the surface :(

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32am

7 Shiny bubbles. Loved the game, but the lava rushed up too fast XD.

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Very fun game. I like the sound effects and the screen shaking. Makes the game look very polished. When I reached the surface, the game frame rate dropped for a short moment.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Nice job! This was a solid game. I would have liked having a few more mechanics (maybe extra weapons or something), but everything that was there was solid and polished. The graphics where nice, too. Good job :)

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

It was pretty fun, but I got to an area with no blocks and couldn't move until I killed myself.

Penguincat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01am

One of the most fun LD games I've played so far - haven't beaten it yet, but I'm gonna keep trying!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:14am

"oh my ears :(" haha! :) Nice little game you got here! :D 5 stars! :D

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57am

haha i had my volume up way to high on your game gameGrape :D

Thanks!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27am

This was cool! The graphics got a bit glitchy at parts but that's a minor complaint. Destructible environments are always freaking awesome! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10am

Super fun!! And great concept and mechanics, feels really polished. Impressive work!

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Great concept -- forced me to choose going straight to the top to avoid the lava or spreading out to get more gems. I got a 25 on the second try, then died a lot of times after that from greed.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I won the first level! great game :)

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Had a lot of fun with this one! It was kinda buggy near the end where the ship gets stuck and you have to fidgit around a bit to get it to move again, but other then that pretty solid ;)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Pretty innovative concept and well executed!
The level was shorter than I expected but that's appropriate for LD.
Great job here!

microapple says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:38am

Liked this game! Got 13. Nice incorporation of elements of Bomberman.

BlazeCell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:47am

Fun. I like the intro music, especially after you die and are greeted with it. Makes you wanna go again.

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:26am

I like the opening guitar sounding out. Great game overall too. Well done!

TeamEagle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:21am

Pretty original, hard too though!

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34am

I love spam bomb x) (may be too much), so I had some fun with your game. Fun game with fun guitar sound. But really too easy. Good work.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:46am

Wow so hard, but nice idea.

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:56am

Frustratingly good!

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Very very playable game! Kept me playing until I met the surface :)
I didn't get that you could a lay a bomb at first, and once it's placed, it's abit invissible. Other than that, very fine job.
Thanks for making this! :)

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:00pm

arrrgh that's frustrating. need to try again ;)

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Beautiful! And nice random death comments :D

Lyje says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Haha I love this - really simple but properly fun and challenging!

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Great game, very fun, easy but effective ! Good job ;)

May 1, 2014 @ 5:21pm

nice idea..first game ive finished :) good job

eskivor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Very interesting.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:17pm

The art is quite pretty! well done!

Kuchalu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Looks great and is very fun to play. The difficulty is just right - thanks for sharing!

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Woooah!Danger danger! high temperature! Thats really nice!

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26am

One of the more straight-up fun / addictive games I've played from LD29. For some reason my sub gets caught on empty space at the very top, but I was eventually able to win.

May 2, 2014 @ 3:57am

It's a nice little game, and while the mechanics are familiar the way you put them together is unique. It feels complete and decently polished, though some music or at least ambience would be nice.

Don't pay attention to people complaining they didn't know there were bombs... it's their own fault for not reading the instructions. Some people (newbs) are bound to struggle anytime you make something more complex than Angry Birds or Bejeweled.

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:12am

Top notch graphics and audio, Great arcade style and overall fun! great work!!

mcapraro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:27am

nice job! the visuals are really nice. i especially like the sub :)

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:33am

I thought the sound and the movement and the art were cool. I did find that I was hitting too many dead ends, though. Even with bombs, I'd hit a dead end, just blast through it quickly enough to not die and get to another group of walls.

I also wasn't exactly sure just how much the bombs blow up. Sometimes it would get all squares around it, sometimes it wouldn't.

It's a cool idea, but I wasn't able to get to the point where it felt like a fun challenge that I wanted overcome - just a statistically stacked challenge that always felt a little too against me.

Thanks for sharing, though. :)

ahnt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:53am

I think I would have liked it much more if the ship didn't drop due to gravity. The underwater feel would also have been better IMO,

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:56am

This game is VERY GOOD, well done!

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Great game, fellow Game Maker user. Work well, once you know that you use the mouse to lay bombs.

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Frustrating but fun, great combination! Would like to see where you place the bombs a bit easier.

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very interesting mechanics. Really well done! Great entry :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very nice, very innovative.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Really innovative concept, and really fun! Great graphics and audio too!

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:02am

web version appears to be down, sad because this looks fun! :(

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:11am

:( web versions down for a little bit yeah, should be up within a few hours...

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Fun game. Liked the art style. Random levels are nice, but it feels like you are at the mercy of the procedural generation at times. Very well done!

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Yeah, there really needed to be something about being able to use bombs, but after you figure that out, great game! Both the visuals and controls are nice and crisp. Best of all is the name.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Heheh thanks! I wanted to make the help page animate a bomb blowing up but all I had time for was a picture of it, next to how to spawn them.

ramoncb says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Very solid entry!

Nice graphics and sound effects, good gameplay and is quite addicting! Good job!

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Web versions back up! :) but still inferior to windows version... :(

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The link to the web version is not working for me. Firefox says it cannot find the server. It looks pretty good though.

Just letting you know that my game Shadows Below has a Windows version available if you want to try it (you commented saying you wish there was, so I assume you do :D).

Sorry for plugging it here, but there was really no other way to contact you.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:18pm

nice game, works well

HeroesGrave says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:07am

I think your site is broken. I get unknown host when pinging.

Dreii says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:52am

The domains being transfered...It seemed to be done about 3 hours ago then it went down again. Ill be talking to my host soon.

HeroesGrave says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:28am

That was definitely one of the most fun games I've played this LD.

Glad I finally got to try it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:04am

very good game - easy to play - sound would have been a nice addition

Dreii says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:48am

Theres sound...Unless you mean music?

Fasox says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:49am

Funny game, somehow it remembered how bad im at bomberman.

VictorDoval says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very fun! And nice concept. Thanks!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Fun game! I never made it out alive though...

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The web version becomes unwinnable pretty quickly. Still fun, and I liked blasting through stuff.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Pretty and very simple gameplay, I like it! Although it was fairly frustrating that the procedural generation didn't check for a complete path.

Dreii says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:28pm

In the full version it will make a single path to get up all the way

May 4, 2014 @ 7:30pm

It's really fun game. Little bit of audio improvement will make it even better!

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nicely polished and lots of fun!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:48am

Made it out alive with 32 shiny baubles! Neat concept. It took me a few tries to realize I should read the instructions and then learned i had bombs! That made things more interesting. Nice work! :)

mortus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:15pm

At first I thought that firing is somewhat glitchy but then I've got how it works and now I think it's a great game! You've managed to create a fine balance between easiness, challenge and greed. I've managed to get to the surface in like 20th go and I was really careful and got only 20 baubles that time. Then I decided to just make it to the top without thinking about them and managed to do that only on 4th or 5th try. Nevertheless, I never thought the game's too hard or imbalanced while I was playing. That's a great sign for a game - players losing at it constantly and not realizing it's hard at the same time.

Garris says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:10am

The randomization was a little frustrating at times, but the randomness of it really adds to the "just one more try" mindset of it. The controls worked pretty well, and the graphics were pretty nice. Good job!

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:13am

Fun game. Web version worked just fine for me. Seemed to hitch for a moment near the surface but just for a second and I was still able to win. Nice work :)

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Really addictive game. And that feeling when you explode blocking rocks moments before lava comes!

recursor says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:12am

I got out with 20. Pretty fun little game.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:07am

Nice, I love the feel of this game. Blowing things up feel satisfying with the screen shake, and the sound effects, the graphics are fairly consistent. If you want to get through though I found that you have to pretty much abandon bauble hunting making for your end score to be about at random as the levels themselves. Managed 18 though.

~AlucardX60

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:37am

Reminds me of an old Psygnosis Amiga game called The Killing Game Show

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:12am

Great game and fun mechanics, nice job! :)

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Hey buddy, You made a great game!
It was pretty hard to control the bombs ><
But I loved the idea!

BTW, you were curious about our cute little worm guy if you remember ;)
We just updated the game now and you are welcome to check out what it've become!

May 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

The 'musical' sound effects are a nice touch. Great game, overall.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:51am

A rather unique concept that works pretty well. I think that spamming bombs can make it a little too easy though.

RetroEpic says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:22am

Really fun concept, sort of like a vertical Bomberman! I would quite like to see this with everything sped up a little - player movement and the speed at which blocks fall. Nice work!

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:01pm

This is great! Shame the lava doesn't show in the web version.

Katamori says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Too few content for a good concept with decent graphics. Though, I love it.

Check my video for further explanation.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Fun game! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you want to check it out :) http://youtu.be/wBne0r55jPY

Dreii says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Thanks both of you :)

May 10, 2014 @ 6:04am

Fun game and a neat idea. Worked very well. Good job for 48 hours.

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Made it out with 21 shiny baubles! Pretty fun game. Controls are decent but could use a little tuning I think. A bit floaty. The lava accelerates at a decent but challenging pace. Nice work overall.

alvivar says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Best: 11

It's feels solid, fun.

I recommend using sound as feedback for the lava proximity.

Good job.

foodzilla says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:54am

It's pretty hard, the random maze feature actually detracts from playing it. Overall it's still pretty cool.

joe40001 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:16am

Simple yet fun. :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Very unique!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:05am

Quick and simple. The physics on the bombs seem a little off; gravity seemed to not affect them unless shooting to the side. Fun game!

soy_yuma says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I don't know why people complain about difficulty. I found it quite entertaining and even easy! I got 27 gems on my first try. I like the graphics and the concept, quite innovative. Good job!

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:40am

The difficulty level rises a lot too fast for me to complete it, tried 4 time and the lava got me : < And the bombs aren't visible under the grass or mud, whatever the bronze block is, which is kinda dangerous for the player. But with some improvements the game would be really interesting.

Meedoc says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Smart idea and addictive game! Nice job!

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Safe and 25 bubbles! Pretty cool!

Harsay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:21pm

It's reversed version of my game! xd
I like the graphics, and gameplay is very good!

illugion says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice game ! I got really desperate when the lava appeared on my screen, it would be cool to keep online highscores on this haha

Dreii says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Yeah I diddnt have time to implement that but I wanted to!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:16am

barrel of monkeys fun

mechabit says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:12am

fun game, not really got any improvements suggestions

Muciojad says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Simple but clear gameplay and pixel graphics, I like it ;) It's a little shame that I can't detonate as much bombs as I want, but it's still good ;D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]