Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Refracture

by Atmospherium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The two dimensional world was torn asunder and revealed an army of enemies lying in wait under the dimensional plane.

Controls:
Arrows/WSAD - Movement
Shift - Speed Boost
Mouse - Shooting
Space - Toggle Map

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Audio4.00
#179Mood3.53
#308Graphics3.58
#470Overall3.26
#558Fun3.00
#679Innovation2.89
#1069Theme2.44
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Excellent audio and filter effect! I got a nice TRON feeling.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I really like the glitchy out of focus feel. The audio was really nice as expected. If you decide to work more on it, putting the enemies in different layers that move in different directions in relation to player movement and maybe never have them fully still when player is still would improve the game-play part of it I think.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

Wonderful music as always, and a really interesting visual style made this a lot of fun to play!

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

Immersive audio, smooth gameplay and very cool "fake" chromatic aberration effect. :D Loved it!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

Nice game. I do agree with local minimum though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Liked the graphics and the sound. Production quality is pretty good. Gameplay was confusing. I died a lot without knowing exactly why. Have you considered adding some more screen prompts? A simple text on game over that explains what happened would already help me.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Man, I love how the shooting had a musical quality to it. Also, that tron grid is so awesome, it's amazing that you got something so good looking out of such a basic effect. Nice going man.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Really nice graphics, cool game over all! I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Totally rad! Give the guns some kickback and this thing will really sing!

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Fantastic visuals, after I understood the use of the map I managed to finish the game! Great work!

Boodog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Good job! Nice audio and graphics!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

RAD!

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:59am

Interesting gameplay and nice visuals! Reminds me of geometry wars.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:31am

Nice solid shooter! I liked the graphics but they started to give me a headache after awhile. The music was great and fit with the aesthetic as a whole. Nice job!

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Great graphics, solid twin-stick shooter. Could do with some more varied enemies though and gameplay needs to be tighter!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]