Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mimic of the Deep

by Kep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tribute to the mimic octopus.
The master of illusion, hiding what is beneath its visage.

Move: WASD or Arrow Keys
Turn off mimic: 1 (move faster)
Mimic Kelp: 2 (don't scare food)
Mimic Lion Fish: 3 (scare big fish)
Mute: M, Pause: P, Esc

You are getting hungry
Eat small fish
Avoid big fish
Survive as long as you can

Update 4/30: Added mute and pause.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#113Mood3.71
#149Audio3.50
#151Innovation3.71
#281Fun3.38
#308Overall3.44
#421Humor2.63
#607Theme3.21
#686Graphics2.96

Comments

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Great sound scape!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very cool. That was an interesting mechanic, switching between which type of fish to mimic. The only thing I didn't like was how gentle the difficulty curve was. I would have liked it to get harder a little faster. Other than that, good job! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I realise real kelp probably can't swim up, but... it would be nice if mimic kelp could :).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Ok, this was really great! One of the best games I played thus far. I really enjoyed the gameplay!

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Best Mimic Octopus game I've played today!

Note that your source link do NOT work -- and I'm really interested in how you made the tentacles work. I'm assuming turning spring joints on and off?

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Thanks petrih and charlie!

Slashee: If you hold up as Kelp, you will sink much slower.

Thanks Marcus!

I Tweeted that great quote quill18, thanks. (@HellescapeGames)
The source link should work now. The tentacle links are connected by HingeJoint2Ds and the shapes are made by turning on spring joints connected to the tips.

Anti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Very cool game! Nice idea and nice execution.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cool concept. I liked the music.

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Controls feel great! Agreed with NinjaCharlie, harder faster would have been good.

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Very original. Cool game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

WOW! I love it! I would pay a lot of money for an iphone version of this with improved graphics! I love switching between the different mimic modes and eating fish... The gameplay is just perfect!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Love it it's pretty simple yet fun but gets a little dull after a few tries but all in all I really enjoyed everything about the game

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Thank you so much Linus! I agree on the art. I'm a programmer, so yeah... #programmerart. :/

Thanks Jackendary!

A full version would include more mimics, sea life, and objectives to keep it interesting longer. For now I'm happy with what I got done over the weekend.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

Really beautiful sound and the mechanic was fun. A bit more polish and this could be really cool but tbh it doesn't need it!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

Pretty great take on something like Fishy but with an octopus. We need more octopus games.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Wow, just sublime. I think the music kicked it up to that extra level. And the mechanics were simple yet varied enough to create a intensely good gameplay experience.

Kep says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Thanks Danny.

I agree Jumbo, OctoJam should be a thing.

Thank you very much Snoother, I'm glad you liked it.

If I ever make a full version, it will have a lot more stuff, but I wanted to get at lest two functional mimics into the jam version.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I like the sound and the idea a lot. I love simple/fun games.

zanenga says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Wow! Awesome idea! It's really clever. I love it!

Chaoseed says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:10am

Pretty fun! Audio good, graphics eh but you know that. I really like the implementation of the octopus and its tentacles, as well as its variant shapes. I liked waiting until a bunch of fish were around me and then crunching them up. It seemed kind of easy, though. Also, I didn't run into any big fish? Hm. Good work, though!

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:18am

Well I can now scratch "become mimic octopus" off my bucket list. Good job!

Deity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Interesting controls and gameplay. It became a little too easy to survive and a little boring I got better at catching fish however. Also there seems to be an end to the ocean and it seems to be a box ;)

May 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really fun controls! Well done! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you want to check it out :) http://youtu.be/wBne0r55jPY

littleball says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

The tentacles look tricky to make, well done!

FrameMatt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Love the mimic idea, i think that you can take it even further :B
The game was fun too ! (:

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:11am

I love the idea of playing a mimic octopus and the wibbly-wobbly arms work well... maybe a little too well. Eventually I found that my best strategy was just to kind of stay in one place and gyrate. Oh, great music, too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:59am

very cool idea with great execution - nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]