Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Going Down

by Jimanzium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Getting the latest version of Love on Linux:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:bartbes/love-stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install love

The only button used is Z, other than left and right to resize the game window.

Holding Z will give you a larger jump, you have to avoid hitting the spikes by timing your jumps on an endless descent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#613Innovation2.97
#659Audio2.57
#759Theme3.03
#820Humor2.06
#826Graphics2.74
#945Overall2.77
#1073Mood2.33
#1081Fun2.35

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

The windows version doesn't seem to run for me - is it compiled for 32-bit? I think I need a 64-bit one.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

In Windows 8 it just says something like: "Can't run this application because it is not compatible"

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Doesn't seem to be running at all;
Here is the linux console Error report :
$ love Ludum.love

conf.lua:4: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: main.lua:6: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
main.lua:6: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
[string "boot.lua"]:331: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:227>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

can't get it to run. would like to play it though.

Jimanzium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Well balls, I'll fix this as soon as I can but that might not be until 12 hours, sorry guys.

Jimanzium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Ok, re-compiled and tested it on a Windows computer, problem should be gone. Also if you get an error the same as b222ster it's because you have an outdated version of Love 2D, the default install love on Linux is outdated, instructions for getting the right version are in the notes.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

The controls are very weird - they are not chosen good at all. I like the music and graphics though.

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Game works on my computer (Windows). Pretty hard game - most of the spikes seem dodgeable but too luck based, maybe give the player more view down? but besides that great game. Got a highscore of ~280

v3games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Fun game, maybe a little too hard to anticipate obstacles in time.

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Fun game, a little hard.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Controls are really weird, it takes all the fun out of the game but I like the graphics.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Heh, high score of 742. Good luck beating that!

Gameplay was very simple, so of course it got repetitive quickly. Not much strategy involved, since I couldn't react to the spikes in time. Instead I just held the button for a time that felt right, jumped, and repeated till I died. Graphics were simple, but they got the job done, didn't like the gaps in the foreground wall texture though. Music was so damn repepepepepepepepepepepepepepetive.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I didn't have a problem with the controls, it's clear what's happening with the gauge in the lower left. You did a decent job with the execution. I'd recommend getting a little more creative with the design next time as this is pretty similar to other one-button endless runners, granted I haven't seen one with that jump-charging mechanic.

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Hey, you used Love too! I like how smoothly the walls and bits of dust scroll upwards.

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I like the simplicity of your controls - the one button auto-spelunker. I found that I didn't have enough time to respond to a stalactite once I saw it. I was much more successful by just guessing the timing of when it would appear, and trying to stay in the center of the screen. Would have loved for the descending speed and jumping charge time to be balanced so I'd be responding to the obstacles rather than predicting them.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice idea with charging jumps a bit too unforgiving though. Should be able to see a bit further ahead.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I liked the idea, but it seems like the levels are procedural and also you can't charge enough to jump over the big rocks even if you start as soon as see them. This means you can't learn the level, and you can't respond to it either, which is a little frustrating.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

A clever game idea, although a bit difficult it was somewhat fun. It may have been a good idea to add another indicator of your jump charge besides the green bar, maybe something a little more flashy.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:09pm

It's hard to calculate when to hold z and release it. Good Game! :)

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I like the idea, but the core mechanic needs some fine tuning. Without enough time to see and react to obstacles, there isn't really a way for the player to improve their skill level by playing more.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:35am

good!!!!

Newt_ says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Great concept, graphics, and audio! There's something about the jumping that's kind of unfair, though... Maybe you should be able to see farther ahead?

May 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

lol "going down"

MAT4DOR says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Liked the game, but it's really hard because you can't really see the obstacles. Also the background sound/music is really wierd.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]