Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

MOOD

by d__adee - Jam Entry

MOOD!

A simple small game about what you see and what you do not.
And how they co-exists and affect each other.... something like that

P.S.
Sorry about the glitches. I used LD to further learn Unity xD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#114Innovation(Jam)3.63
#143Mood(Jam)3.61
#181Fun(Jam)3.32
#243Theme(Jam)3.42
#305Overall(Jam)3.32
#371Graphics(Jam)3.38
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

hard game! fun concept

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

This is a cool concept for a platformer. I won't say it's original, though.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

I agree with Pent, it's too hard. But I like the fresh concept though. Maybe it's just me, but I like playing games on the desktop because of the high framerate. So I wish you have provided desktop builds.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

Hard game, but nice idea. Would have liked it to be a bit more forgiving, especially in the beginning. Alternatively if there were frequent checkpoints and a progress-bar to next checkpoint.

A twist on it that could increase the puzzle aspect would be if the two characters could get out of sync by use of obstacles.

And of course more effects, more juice. But as you say you are learning unity I guess that will come. Shake some cameras, put some particle emitters upon landing. I might also consider doing the collision boxes a little smaller so player can get away with touching spikes and balls.

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Nice graphics, and a fun concept!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

Awesome mechanics!
I would just increase the speed of the player jump and movement and add music :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

It's pretty hard to wrap your brain around. 5 stars for mood :)

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

nice gameplay! simple bug great graphics!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Amazing concept! Couldn't reach the end of the first level but had lots of fun trying to do it!

Daveloper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

interesting concept, nice effort :)

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:34am

Well made game, a bit rough without checkpoints or anything though.

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Cool visuals, like the stark contrast and mood. I did feel like I was fighting the controls a bit to get where I wanted to go, and it was very hard, but I still had fun :)

Zanzlanz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Great work Adee! I love how much symbolism you put into your game... it's really surprising and interesting to see how you connected it to the theme like that.

Collision seemed a bit strange, but otherwise it was creative and has lot of potential! You took the concept to a different level that shows how you can expand even the most basic of ideas into something powerful and complex :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]