Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishes At War

by jorgemoag - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is to "build" sharks and throw them against the goal. You must build workers to harvest the food. More food means sharks bigger.

Fight against seven rivals to get the champions title of the "Fishes At War" league.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#15Fun4.15
#47Humor3.80
#62Overall3.91
#93Innovation3.91
#166Mood3.56
#263Audio3.24
#380Graphics3.43
#607Theme3.21

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

Funny and clever concept but It's really difficult to hit the button! Thanks for making it :)

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Holy hell that was a lot of fun! Out of all 15 games ive played so far, this one is by far the best. :) Whats the point of gettin bigger sharks though? Is it supposed to be easier to hit? Im going to play a little bit more, thats for sure :)
p.s. theres alo i bug ive found out, sometimes your shark can appear right under your goal, and if you hit your own goal with it, then it scores 1 point to you.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

Best game i've played so far :D

Amazing work.

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Funny game :) I scored a goal by ricocheting off of enemy shark - that was pretty hilarious :)

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Wonderful prototype, this could easily make for an awesome local or online multiplayer phone game, or web game. Well done! Good luck in the comp.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

One word: AWESOME!

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Really like the game, really fun, the music is perfect and it became insanly funny with the music in the end.
Great work!!
You could do something crazy,funny,tasty,weirdy if you keep working on that concept.
Good luck!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Took me a while to get my eye in but after that this was brilliant :) Great fun. Perfect music too!

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Simply really fun, music is so damn epic :D
You should consider local multiplayer !

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Pretty funny game made even more funny with the Hall of the Mt. King in the background. Very fun. Only downside is being able to hit your own button, which wouldn't be a problem if sometimes your own sharks did spawn inside/just underneath it. Overall, very fun.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Well this is marvellous. Nice work :)

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Super concept! Great fun to play :D

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:19am

Took a while to get used to the aiming but once I did it was really fun.

Monoquartz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43pm

XDDD I love this concept, this made me laugh a lot ! :')
What an epic game, this is really really funny game, good job :D

SecularBaron says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:31am

I'm really bad at aiming those sharks. Awesome game.

snickersnacks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

This was super fun, and the computer presented enough of a challenge but wasn't impossible to beat. Great jam entry!

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40am

Fun!

JayPC says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

There is a small bug when it says "You Lose Press Space to Retry" the game does not stop counting button presses or stop you from making more sharks, so you can keep trying and get more then the computer and change Lose to Win.

JayPC says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

... Ohh and otherwise great game! Super fun!

May 1, 2014 @ 6:03am

haaha resource management for making sharks! Awesome!!!

mortus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Ha! That's fun! Great idea and solid execution. I didn't feel a need for larger sharks, I was fine with the smallest ones, so maybe there should be some bonus other than just plain size for buying more expensive sharks. But it's fun and incredibly funny as it is now! Feel yourself the Shark King! I'm not sure though, how should I rate audio considering it's a compo entry...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Awesome idea, love the ambience!

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Really cool game, one of my favourites so far! I love that you can use the sharks to defend yourself against the other sharks, and the GOOOOOAAAAALLLL when you hit the button.

DarknessFades says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Great gameplay and concept :P Also love music, this supose to be my favorit :D

Lars Faust says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

Once you realize how to play and what you actually have to hit (the red button) this is super fun.
Would make a great Couch-Multiplayer game. I love that you can hit other sharks in midair and that bigger sharks actually make it easier to hit, giving it a tactical element as well.

Really good and original entry.

fermenter says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:40am

so fun, so silly, so shark.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice! Way too much fun building sharks and launching them! Great work. Loved the graphics and colors.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Took me a long while to understand what I was supposed to hit. Very funny game though. Had me laughing a good bit. I beat 3 or 4 of my opponents before getting a bit bored. A few gripes: Sharks can sometimes spawn in a place that launches them into your own goal. Sometimes the shark is too low in the tank and you can't tell how far you've pulled the velocity down because it is hidden in the tank dirt. Funny concept though!

foolmoron says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:22pm

That was so dumb and hilarious in the best way. Love the combination of a trajectory-shooter game + RTS resource mechanics. Only thing is that it was hard to gauge the strength of your throw.

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Clever concept :) ! Hall of the mountain king was a good idea ahah x)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]