Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soulitude

by bitserum - Jam Entry

Glide through a vast luscious forest filled with birds, foxes and other critters, all while picking flowers to decorate your flowing luxurious hair.
Don't forget to collect all the gold coins for a special surprise.

P.S.
Let Soulitude's upbeat music fill you with renewed appreciation for dance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#11Mood(Jam)4.35
#49Graphics(Jam)4.38
#51Theme(Jam)3.87
#71Overall(Jam)3.75
#74Audio(Jam)3.84
#98Innovation(Jam)3.68
#348Humor(Jam)2.63
#383Fun(Jam)2.98

Comments

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Beautiful graphics and a great use of the theme.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

It's like I'm really on acid!

Really cool use of the theme, artsy stuff. The presentation is A+ as well.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08am

Woah dude that's pretty cool :) Great arts and music! Good job!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08am

Very interesting mechanic, and I love the effect when it switches. Lovely art, too!

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

This little project nailed the mood category for me. Thanks for going after the metaphorical interpretation of the theme!

While the mystery was cool, it was really jarring to be tossed back and for so many times, and the dialog wasn't helping, but I really want to keep playing and find out what's going on. :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

Wow, actually got a bit of a fright the first time that warp thingy happened xD
Pretty short and not exactly challenging in terms of gameplay, but the art-style really appeals to me and the concept was pretty damn cool. Good stuff!

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

Very cool. Would like to see the full story :)

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23am

I would love to continue the story, a sadly beautiful idea

raulincze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Interesting beginning of a story and really cool concept. Beautiful art.

Left me longing to experience more of it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I like the idea. Wasn't expecting the switching between the two worlds. Cool effect. I'd like to see it expanded into something bigger.

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Wow man! I want to play more of this!!! Gibe moar!

Citsua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Wow, that real world/dream world thing is genius. Would love to see more !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really beautiful graphics. Not sure if there was really gameplay. I just kep running to the right. Definetely would have been interested in knowing how the story continues. Some of the transitions were a bit too close to each other. Would be nice to have more time to appreciate each 'dimension' and explore a bit.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Pretty short, but the reality-phasing could be expanded into something really neat given time--as it stands there's not a lot of gameplay to be consumed. The parallax backgrounds looked great.

Nic V. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30am

Definitely a great interpretation of the theme!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:43am

It has a nice atmosphere and mood. Would like to see more.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:43am

Nice visuals and audio! Great work

j_peeba says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Moody and melancholic. The platforming was so-so but the game was so interesting and atmospheric I couldn't let go.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Awesome game. Would be cool to see full featured post-compo version.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Beautiful game. Pretty powerful concept and imagery. Gameplay was a bit disjointed.

sandbaydev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:18am

Great mood, so far the most moody game I've seen in LD. Excellent graphics. The main mechanic is cool and it's interesting just to do the 'switch' to see what those citizens are saying...

The fox character was a cool idea.

I already like this a lot. Post-jamming... by expanding the main mechanic and thinking more uses for the 'switch', I feel this could evolve into a fine game.

Good job.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35am

I have no idea what just happened but I think I liked it!

JoshOS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

In regards of theme innovation, visuals and the graphical side of thigsm I really cant flaw any of it. Beautiful, gentle parralax scrolling background; good use of sound... Just all round impressive. Unfortunately it fels like an interactive piece of art rather than a game, so I can't compliment too far on the gameplay. Is the gold coin part of future plans for the game?

bitserum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Thank you very much, all of you.

We made a pretty big mistake of over-focusing on the art side of things for the first two days, and underestimated how hard it was to create some well rounded, polished gameplay.
The gold coin was supposed to be a statement of change (as well as a joke) but even that ended up being not implemented as imagined, as we were running out of time and willpower.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Wow!
Reallly Nice.
I didn't understand what happened, but I loved what happens.

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Awesome atmosphere, curious to see what gameplay can be added to this. Overall it felt like playing a really cool interactive trailer for a game!

StoneMasters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great atmosphere and sound. Good art and a great overall. A really cool idea. Liked it!

May 2, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Short but made me want more.

eldog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:20pm

+ Pixels were lovely, reminded me of Another World (red head protagonist I guess, good for standing out in the world)

+ I'm usually sick of the "two worlds" thing in videogames, normally because the dark world is always dull and dreary, but I think the magical wilderness/modern city combo is nice as I wanted to explore both.

- Would like it to be clearer what to do and there could be more gameplay.

Anyway, well done :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Awesome artwork! love the atmosphere! Congrats!

May 2, 2014 @ 8:04pm

amazing! great work! i enjoyed it very much. Great art / music into an amazing mood. The change between worlds is amazing. As you know yourself the "fun" is not quite there but you have a solid groud to build on and i hope you will continue to work on it (- :


Looking forward to you next step, hope to see your dream coming true (- :

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Holy crapoly - that was freakin' awesome!

Loved the unexpected jump through worlds - and appreciated the attention to details (camera shake)

I want MOAR!!

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Huge work done for the graphics, it's beautiful! I want moar! T_T

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very nicely done. The use of theme is really strong, the graphics are good, and the sound is really effective. The stark contrast between the two worlds sets a really trippy mood for the game which makes the whole experience that much more interesting.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:20am

Looks great. Sounds great. Nice mood to the game. Feels like there is so much more that could be in this game. Felt it ended too abruptly. You had me hooked and then it just ended. Definitely want to see more!

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:53am

Having the flickering bypass gaps too far to jump was a cool idea, though if the metaphor (would that be the right word?) for the forest area is what I think it is, that there are gaps at all is a bit weird.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:38am

Really liked the audio and fx when you switched worlds. Art was nice. Solid entry with a message. Continue working on it.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Very nice art style. Like it.

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very good theme and graphics. Cool!

Ithildin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Great atmosphere there. You nailed the switch mechanic, too, although I had a bit of trouble until I understood how things work. Well done!

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:56am

The art and atmosphere are spot on, very nicely done! As others have said, there's not much to the gameplay, but I think it's a solid basis to expand on, and I'd love to explore this game's world further if you do end up adding more. Nice work!

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:40am

I wish I had your art guy. There are several ways to break the game (I was looking for a secret ending, not trying to break the game, I promise :P).

1. You can get to the second fox without ever talking to the first one, and then he has no idea what to do

2. Not a glitch so much as a bummer, I got through the game without anybody warping me over (hitting me or dying) and nobody gave me like a party hat or acknowledged this achievement.

3. You can bait the enemies towards the end to follow you for a while, if you then warp once you are near the 2nd fox you can just run through the wall into nothingness land.

With all that said (I've got an annoying programmer brain, sorry). I really really liked the art style. Might be the best I've seen in LD29. Very nice paralaxed backgrounds which I loved, the ambient rising sparklyness was cool too.

It's interesting I have a "get hurt and the world changes" mechanic kinda in my entry in this LD29, but mine doesn't look anywhere near as nice as yours (its hopefully fun though...)

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:05am

Wow, love the mechanic and worlds you created. Please keep at it :)

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:40am

An interesting interpretation of the theme and well integrated in the game mechanics. The art also is excellent. Excellent job. When do we get to see the next part?

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Like it

May 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Really interesting game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

woodenrabbit says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:42am

I really enjoyed playing through the game. I would love to play more of it if you decide to continue it. I've definitely been pull into the game and I want to know more.

It was fun to play and obviously visually great. I hope you continue it!

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really nice experience. Really hope this gets continued

May 15, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I love this graphic style. The game was deep.

GFM says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice take on the theme. You could have explained the controls somewhere because, even through experimenting, it took me a while to understand that I can double jump and throw birds, since at first I can't do any of those.
Graphics were great, and the switching between dream (?) and reality was awesome!

And yes, I had to do that! Nice small easter egg. :)

ruerob says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Very nice graphics and audio. Great experience. Thank you for your entry.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Very interesting concept, pity it's so short.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]