Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the Sun

by anton - Jam Entry

You are Under the surface of the sun, explore the cave you ended up in.
you have a limited amount of oxygen
also there are deadly solar flares.
you will be safe from them in the crystals shelters (be sure to be in them when you hear the blipping)
you can walk, run crawl and double jump.
be aware though that your double jump consume your oxygene

controls :
Move - arrows
Jump - Z
Crawl - A
Run - E
Pick up item - T

S to Start

Artist: Basile Dupin
Programmer: Matthias Segui Serera
Sound Designer : Benjamin Bruneau
Game Designer : Anton Roy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Graphics(Jam)3.94
#283Mood(Jam)3.24
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#498Audio(Jam)2.72
#554Overall(Jam)2.89
#658Innovation(Jam)2.33
#685Fun(Jam)2.22
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Got stuck not too far from the beginning, the character just wouldn't walk anymore.

anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

I deactivated the pause witch I think was the probleme

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

Controls don't really make sense, but the mechanics were pretty smooth.

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I had a hard time with the controls. And I got stuck in a "pit", couldn't jump out. Unfortunately, the "S" key for restart meant I restarted at times when I didn't want to. Loved the artstyle and sound/mood.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Cool concept and art style - but a little buggy (crawling).
A "Start"-button would also be nice :-)

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44pm

great doodle art!

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:38am

Wasn't sure what to do as it was just showing the splash screen! Unrated as of yet...

Acuity says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:57am

That first pit is hard to get past...

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:00am

Nice mood to the game. Liked the style of the art. The controls really threw me off though. The layout wasn't very intuitive so it was hard to remember what did what. Might be a small bug, but I also got stuck being unable to crawl past the little tunnel at the start. There was also an unfortunate pit I got trapped in early on. Interesting idea though.

DesignerNap says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice style, jump was very strong for the level size and there is a pit that you get stuck in if you fall into it early on. Can I ask why you chose to put the run command on "E"? it seemed a strange choice with A and Z so close. Great visual design though! well done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Art style were vert bice, but I had trouble with The controls, Nice overall.

edibletoaster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Pretty nice. Some of the collision was a bit touchy and made it tricky to jump out of or over things but not bad. Controls were a bit uncomfortable

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]