Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hyper Seed

by pedro.thiers - Jam Entry

Hyper Seed is a game where you control the roots of a growing tree. Your job is to guide the roots and keep digging deeper.

- clicking 2 roots will swap their places;
- a root can only pass through obstacles of its color

Any thoughts? Please comment!

MUSIC:
"Hall of the Mountain King" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Still on "want to do list":
- ingame music credits;
- chop music into segments (intro + loop + ending) and loop the loop =]
- adjust game difficulty (after listening to what you have to say);
- add proper introduction;
- add ingame instructions;
- better solve green and orange roots (they aren't colorblind friendly =/)
- engame results (how deep you dig)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#23Innovation(Jam)4.00
#51Fun(Jam)3.74
#67Theme(Jam)3.83
#71Overall(Jam)3.75
#138Mood(Jam)3.62
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#220Graphics(Jam)3.77
#382Humor(Jam)2.53

Comments

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very nice idea!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

what a cool game, and the idea is very well presented! bravo! love it! quite difficult once you get pretty far though, id imagine its even more fun on a touch device :D

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Clever idea for a puzzle game! Love the aesthetic, and I can see myself playing this over and over to get better!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Love the idea and feel - clean lines and really intuitive gameplay. I'm not much for the song you picked, however, and some audio for swapping roots and getting the correct order would have been a nice juicey touch!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very slick, a little difficult with a trackpad, but still very fun! Awesome job.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

Super fun! I loved the swapping mechanic and did my best on a trackpad. I especially love how you show the progression when the game ends so you can see the twisting paths along the way.

I'll have to play this on a touchscreen device :)

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Thank you guys. I'm glad you liked it!

@torcado194, @kmakai and @Cake&Code, we'll be focusing on bringing this to mobile now. I hope you enjoy even more!

@A Herd Of Cats, the music and sounds effects are some of the topics being discussed for the next iteration! I'm looking for some nice whooshes =]

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Pretty fun! Outstanding choice of music, and having it synchronized to the action was great (although once the tune is over, it just stops; maybe make multiple levels?). The "roots" being bare bars of color was all right, but it didn't really make me think "tree roots". In my head I'm picturing roots throbbing and swirling around as they dig through the ground, but who knows if that's feasible. It was fun to play, and I would definitely play it on my phone. However, somehow I am picturing it going more slowly but with more obstacles, like almost a DDR kind of thing. You should try playtesting with different combinations of obstacle speed vs. amount of obstacles to see what's most fun. But in all, good work!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40am

Oh, and I absolutely LOVE how, once the game is over, you get to see the long view of all the roots you made!

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Oh my god that was intense ! When the game started i didn't think it could get that fast haha had a lot of fun with it ! ( and got really nervous too )

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Thanks guys! That intense feeling is what we were aiming for =]

@Chaoseed, earlier all roots were textured (not as roots, but as something resembling paper), but that didn't look good 'cause this camera sort of zoomed out. At the end was even worse as all textures got weird. Totally functional, but quite ugly.

The swirling is a nice idea and although I too don't know if its feaseble I'll surelly take a look on that!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Ahhh... Very clever use of colored lines.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

The idea is very good, the gameplay is well design, and I love the art style. The game is very, very good. I just have a little problem to undestand what I have to do first, but I think this can be solved if you put a animation of the "tubes" changing places.

zanenga says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22am

Love the concept! Cool game! With some work, could become a great mobile title.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:33am

Pretty cool idea, and nice choice of music. PLaying gets quite hectic after a while. :-)

Helopol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59pm

A nice game, a bid hard tho :> Love the take you took on the theme !

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I wish I could skip the intro obstacles (the ones that require no input to pass).

The ending looks very cool.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:00am

Whooshes are ALWAYS relevant, haha! :D

Wertle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:39am

In the Hall of the Mountain King makes all games better always. I had trouble at first because I thought you could only swap adjacent roots but once I figured that out I had a lot of fun! Seems like this would be great on a touch interface. Well done!

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Great idea! Beautiful presentation too. I wish it was a little taller or slower because I sucked at it haha I would love to play a finished game with this concept. Very well done!

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32pm

very nice idea! progression of incredible sound! and great surprise in game over...

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Great game! Loved it!

pedro.thiers says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Thank you very much guys! We didn't expect such a nice reaction to our game!

@stigmawall, that's a good idea indeed.

@zanenga, @wertle and @hbocao, we're planning on doing the mobile version in a close future =]

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I loved this game the only thing I would change is allow for a keyboard option, this game as is would play great on tablets, but I know for frantic fun games I prefer the consistency of keys rather than mouse, just because most times I was losing a guy was because I missed the click, not because I couldn't think in time (but it was just the right level of difficulty ramping)

So you could just do like arrows and spacebar (arrows highlight one, spacebar grabs it arrows highlight the one to switch to and then spacebar switches). Or like numbers 1-6 where you just press 2 numbers to switch them.

Otherwise very nice. You should let me port it to tablets, we'll make it free and put a tiny text add across the top and make tons. ;D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

very cool idea and well executed - top notch!

TeamFlare says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:58pm

This is great! The visiuals are very appealing and the music fits the look and the speed of the game. Could play it over and over again. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]