Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja VS Worms

by ninjacharlie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SHOOT TEH NASTY WORMS. AND DONT GET KEELED.

Controls:
WASD to move. Mouse to aim. Left click to shoot.

Twitter: @TheNinjaCharlie

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#267Audio3.23
#280Humor2.92
#340Fun3.29
#517Overall3.21
#733Theme3.06
#745Graphics2.86
#816Mood2.70
#1032Innovation2.40

Comments

cavf88 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Fun game. The music and sound effect were nice. II played several times, but I never got the score over 0 points. Fun game overall.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

A long struggle between the two have finally got its own game.
Nice work!

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Fun game, clicking for every shot felt tedious though.

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Had a blast playing it just fun in general. also nice graphics and audio. got a bit laggy when to many worms spawned though. Really fun enjoyable game!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

This is a pretty neat game but it has a pretty serious glitch, at least it did on my computer. As I played the frame-rate gradually died. (I have an i7 CPU with decent graphics card.) Eventually the frame-rate was completely un-playable and the enemies all glitched out and got stuck at the bottom of the screen.

I feel like this would be a pretty nice entry if it wasn't for that bug. At the start the game-play felt solid and the graphics all fit together. All in all, nice work but it has some issues that need solving.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I think you might have some sort of issue with entity cleanup or something. The game can get really laggy.

First, I started just clicking a lot to shoot a bunch of arrows:

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff18/Dominator_101/LudumDare/worms1_zps56816e1c.gif

Eventually, even after I stopped, the works all got glitched and were disappearing before they even reached the surface:

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff18/Dominator_101/LudumDare/worms2_zps3988ad70.gif

Still, a decently fun game. I did like how you had the "Jumpjuice" meter that was a pretty nice alteration on a standard double jump, allowing more jumps if you just didn't jump as much.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Sorry about the lagging bug. I'm currently trying to fix it.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Fixed the framerate bug. It was an issue with the physics system. Thanks for the heads up, guys :)

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

hey i like the simplistic style, but the movement of the ninjadude is way too fast for me, i feel like i have very little control, but maybe thats just me

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Quite fun game ! Ninjas rocks !

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51am

Fun game. It got a bit boring after you realize that you can just spam the arrows. Could have used a bit more balancing but a nice little arcade game still. :) Extra points for music!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Nice little game, infinite arrows seem OP though.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

A nice little game, there could have been different kind of worms, and maybe you could have make waves of ennemies instead of having them coming all at once. Anyway good job :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

This was awesome!! I love "Jumpjuice" and how it says I still did good at the end haha. Quick and really fun :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Fun game, lot's of stuff going! I kept dying cause I was aiming and lost track of the worms

sknoslo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

2900 points was my best! Fun game. Could definitely use some balancing. Probably just by adding a half second delay before the player can fire the next arrow, you could make it a lot harder.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

Nice simple game! After a while I found I could just sit in the corner and shoot. Heh, nice game though!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:20am

SO.MANY.WORMS haha! this was good fun!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

A small nice game.

dkkarate says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

looked fun but ended up being a pretty boring game. Don't get me wrong it wasn't horrible but it was just kinda boring.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:11am

I dead, but I did good! :)

Had a real nice feel/gameplay this time around. Gratz on the progress!

voxel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:47am

Haha, 'but you still did good'. Such a nice game over screen. I really liked the music in this. I liked how the shots went through enemies allowing you to set up multikills, maybe a combo bonus or something would be nice for that and would help encourage careful aiming? Lots of fun

javifugitivo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:35am

Very funny! Nice job! ;)

Crazi456 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:07am

Pretty entertaining little game! Got pretty crazy after a while. Good work!

frogcheese says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Worked out a system where I stayed in the left corner and spammed to top right and managed to get 621 kills before biting the dust. An intense but fun little game that did a number on my wrist. The sacrifices we have to make to destroy those nasty worms... Anyway, good job!

misterwalter says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:09pm

The game over message was perfect, thank you for that.
The worms rotation was a bit weird. I think that having them face in the direction they are going, and having some dirt particles fly up when they reenter the ground would go a long way.
It was fun though, keep it up!

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Game was fun and fairly well stylized. The gameplay could have used a few tweaks, such as a better visual cue for being hit

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]