Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cry Baby

by Elforama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FIXES:
- There was a platforming glitch that made it impossible to play, this should be fixed now.
- Win conditions couldn't be called at end. This has been fixed, you can now actually "win" the game.

STORY:

You're a young girl trying to get out of a cavern. You're scared of many things and easily cry. If you cry to much you will die of dehydration! Can you make it out alive?


RULES:

A & D to move.
Spacebar to jump
Shift to throw tears


RUSH NOTES:

- FYI Orange things in the cave are simply a lack of polish, they don't do anything and aren't anything.
-She's not supposed to cry when you're above ground, but I guess she is a bigger cry baby than I had originally anticipated =P
- No time to add sound, maybe I'll upload a non compo version with sound later down the road.


POST THOUGHTS

- I'd like to add an endgame that feels like you actually won.
- Let the player pick between a boy or girl.
- Expand more on the tear concept.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#149Humor3.29
#260Graphics3.66
#333Innovation3.39
#440Fun3.14
#453Overall3.28
#566Mood2.98
#844Theme2.91
#962Audio1.79

Comments

Sim00n says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

The game doesn't work. You can't press the spacebar.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

It works for me just fine, did you make sure to click on the game area first?

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

I like the tears mechanic and how you've tied it into the theme - very original. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

I like how she melts when she dies of "dehydration" :D

ultramailman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice. Sometimes she can get stuck at the platforms and the robot bits.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Really liked the tears concept, cute graphics n.n. Sometimes you get stuck in the border of the cliff and its kinda tricky.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Very original concept.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Brutally hard, but really nice:) I noticed that I often couldnt jump when I was in the corner of a tile, very interesting concept as well, nice job:)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

The player tends to get stuck on the corner of blocks, other than that I love the lighting and the graphics. The pool of tears is funny and clever. Good job for 48 hours :)

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18am

HA! We were discussing making a game similar to this at the start of the dare!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

Great game, great premise. Brutally difficult, I had to stop or I'd dehydrate from crying irl. Loved it though.

ramgilead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

fun concept.... if you made it easier, it could be a good subway game.

pixelpun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

Can't get the game to work... Spacebar isn't working.

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

This was hilarious. I really wish there was a soundtrack or some audio effects.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

This was awesome, I laughed when you called it the Pool of Tears

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

Wow, this is realy a nice plot good idea, but the gameplay is a little bit to hard for me. :)

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21am

The concept of the tears of a little girl in a scary place being the primary gameplay mechanic is pretty unique. The graphics are pretty nice, too. Definitely difficult, but I'd like to see where you take this from here. Great job!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

Tricky... I kept getting stuck on the corners when I jumped. Wonderful pixel art. A good reason to always stay hydrated.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

That was really hard, but not in a good way. I was constantly getting stuck on edges. Having to jump off the very edge of a platform that you roll off of or get stuck on wasn't fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

Very fun and wacky mechanic. I thought I made it to the surface, but she kept crying. Is that supposed to happen? My only gripe is that sometimes the character wouldn't move left despite pressing the key.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45am

I'm pasting all the Unity based games into FireFox as Chrom doesn't play nicely with it on my system. This game is pretty solid platforming. I'm working on some side scrollers and I'm going to implement a smoothly accelerating camera like in this game.

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Loved it! It's indeed pretty hard, but the concept was original and silly. I really like the idea of shooting your vital tears to kill enemies.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

I like the tears, and the art is superb!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17am

eerie mood and amazing pixel work!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

The idea of crying and throwing tears is funny, and the graphics are cute and consistent. Unfortunately, every platform having a pixel down on each edge makes the controls SUPER frustrating, since you can either get stuck on the front side, or slide off the back and get stuck. The loss-of-balance animation plays, but you can't jump or run back on. Maybe that was on purpose, but I felt like it hurt the game more than helped it. Also, I noticed a robot did not respawn when I retried. I'm not sure if that was intentional or not.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

The idea of crying and throwing tears is funny, and the graphics are cute and consistent. Unfortunately, every platform having a pixel down on each edge makes the controls SUPER frustrating, since you can either get stuck on the front side, or slide off the back and get stuck. The loss-of-balance animation plays, but you can't jump or run back on. Maybe that was on purpose, but I felt like it hurt the game more than helped it. Also, I noticed a robot did not respawn when I retried. I'm not sure if that was intentional or not.

Oh, and either jump should be higher or more floaty or both, in my opinion -- I think it might feel a lot better then.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Due to the number on mentions I've linked a new Web version that has the platforming edge glitch fixed. The player should no longer get stuck on edges making it near impossible to complete for many people.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

unresponsive controls when you hit the edges of platforms other than that nice concept + art good entry

ALobker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Tried to play it, but platforming glitch is still there.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Got stuck, failed the left most jump after the pool of tears. Is it passable normally?

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I like the tears idea. Very easy to get stuck on the corner of blocks, neither falling nor able to get up.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Okay, I was shown this running on a windows machine. Now I see what you mean by impassable. I'll try to get a fix for this as soon as I can. On my mac I can make it pass.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Pretty funny and cute game. I found the collisions to be a little strange at times. Touching the side of a wall seemed to kill my upward momentum which was a little annoying. Everything else was great though. I liked the use of lighting to enhance the visuals and the crying mechanic was quite interesting. I liked sacrificing life for bullets.

Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Very solid entry ! I love your pixel art (the baby is so cute), I found the animations hilarious. There is a great atmosphere and I really enjoyed this small experience based on a lovely concept.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Only missing sound, but very fun!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08am

I like the mechanics, and the graphics are adorable! I kept getting stuck on the edges of platforms though, making things nearly impossible :(

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

crybaby...yeah..kinda cute
funny concept..

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Haha love the title, and love the concept. Very very original, fun too :D

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

There was a bug for me after which i could not go right anymore. Did not appear during second playthrough. Nice platformer!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nice platformer. Holy cow great work in 48 hours. I think the written instructions in the game said move with A and S but it's A and D. I died the first time :'( lol

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

That death animation OO
I can see you gave a lot of attention to the art. The game is really cute

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

I feel like your game wants to be more of a resource management game but playing it felt more like I was just trying to quickly make a series of jumps and hope I got to the next pool fast enough. I never felt like I was doing anything with my tears other than praying that I had enough to make the next set of jumps.

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

A cute, sweet little game. Sticking to the walls was my biggest gripe. The tears running out was an interesting idea. Nice job.

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53am

Good Game. Although it's hard to control the character (the jump).

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23am

Loved the pixel art! The game mechanic is very interesting and original! Oh, and during the climb to the surface the character was still crying when I reached the daylight. She stopped crying only after I moved further. Don't know if it was supposed to be like this

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

Ahahahah. Pull of tears makes me laught a lot =)
Interesting concept. But luggy as hell. I haven't patience buggy jumps and wall stucking.

MaesK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice sprite, is kind of adorable when crying :D

Good idea with lightning, but platforms were somewhat tricky (and sticky) sometimes, making some sections randomly hard.

Well done!

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Nice:) I think that space bar is the most clumsy feeling button for action, it is too big and slow, so I wish I could map it to a different key. I also thought that I was a bit too slippery and kept falling off the smaller platforms too easily. I like the crying innovation. It was an interesting constraint on game play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]