Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bob

by grayhaze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: This entry was unfinished due to lack of time. The basic engine is in place, along with a couple of levels. Unfortunately you can't 'win' the levels, as Bob doesn't drown, and there's no sound, menu or on-screen instructions. It still makes a fun little physics sandbox though.

Bob jumped in front of you in line to buy a lotto ticket and won. Bob must die.

Pause the action and move the props into position to hold Bob beneath the surface of the water until he drowns. Click play to watch your plan come to fruition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#356Humor2.75
#719Innovation2.84
#733Theme3.06
#785Graphics2.81
#983Mood2.48
#1000Fun2.47
#1250Overall2.06
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

Sad it's unfinished. :)

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Cool idea! Too bad it is unfinished, it would have been quite fun.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Not a bad sandbox, and the physics are good (nape?). Too bad you couldn't finish!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Interesting take on a familiar concept, you should expand on it!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for the kind comments! I may well continue to develop this (along with all the other games I have in progress already...) as I'm quite pleased with the underlying systems I put together, including a simple XML-based level editor and a nice OO approach to the different physics objects. The original intention was to have each level be a different person who has wronged you in some seemingly petty way, with the scenery getting darker in tone the more you progress.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Shame it's not finished, better luck next time.

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

So far this is the unfinished game I have most wanted to see finished. Some good potential there.

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I had fun trying to drown him using different objects, the physics engine works well.

Sad you didn't complete in time, but you MUST finish this game and release it as a post compo version.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

really neat idea! go, finish it! (imagine the voice of mortal kombat)

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Too bad it's unfinished ;(

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

That's an interesting if morbid idea for a physics game. It certainly looks like it might have been fun if you had finished it. I thought it was nice how the objects acted upon by physics when you moved them around so you could better manipulate them.

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Haha evil! :-) Shame you didn't finish it, it's a really promising concept.

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:21pm

A drowing game? Cool!

JavadocMD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46am

Could be fun!

May 3, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Too bad it's unfinished. Nice use of nape. I'm sure it would have been a nice game.

hbocao says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:25pm

That was a very cool way to use the theme. Sad you couldn't finish it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]