Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underwater Words

by nicotr014 - Jam Entry

Type the letters as they fall, as fast as you can. Be inspired by true lyrical genius.

Made with Phaser, html5 game framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#506Innovation(Jam)2.70
#543Overall(Jam)2.91
#583Fun(Jam)2.55
#586Theme(Jam)2.67
#626Mood(Jam)2.53
#648Audio(Jam)1.71
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

Neatly polished game, but I think I played this before on 'Mavis Beacon Teaches Underwater Touch Typing'.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38am

Ahah i really like your game, I think i'll play often for teach me to write faster ! (:

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Very useful to teach oneself typing.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Interesting idea! I liked how the words only gradually revealed themselves, as it made it more challenging. I found myself unable to recall the content of the sentence I was typing, though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:51am

I keep dropping letter because I wanted to read what I was typing. I wish the sentence would lead the dropping letters.

An array of coin pickup sounds for getting the letter right would spice it up a lot.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:24am

Unfortunately I had a weird lag, but I did like the game a lot. It was more song trivia/lyrics than a typing test. Because once I knew what song it was, I could get ahead of the letters, maybe without the lag I would have made it further, but level 11 ain't bad.

I would have been happy writing out all of song 9(10?). Oh my god, Becky, would you look at that song choice.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice little educational game.
Good graphics too!

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:42am

So haaaaard... :)
Very polished game, music is missing anyway!

udo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:00pm

This is one of these concepts that are really simple but have a high replay value. In other news, I discovered I'm a really slow typist...

TheExGenesis says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:27pm

great feel to it!

Adrian says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I find it ironic that a game that shows songs' lyrics doesn't have any music... :D

Very nice game! Not very innovative, but the realization is excellent, and the game is hard enough to be fun.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Really hard! I like the concept and the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]