Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub Bomber

by Rahazan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sub Bomber, the submarine/dolphin/bird hybrid!
Made in approx 4 hours :/

With a score of 8 or higher, consider yourself very awesome.

LEFT & RIGHT ARROW to go up and down.
Sad secret: Space to drop useless mini-bombs.


Do leave a comment!
o/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Fun3.71
#187Audio3.42
#270Overall3.48
#298Mood3.31
#436Graphics3.34
#463Humor2.56
#568Theme3.25
#594Innovation3.01
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Quite frustrating... it's hard to see where the barriers will be until you've already crashed! Nice visual/audio theme, though

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Like a better version of Flappy-Whatever. I couldn't get higher than 2, but I really liked doing a loop-the-loop underwater to aim better or doing a backflip :)

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

This game is awesome... Like flappy bird but better!
The music is great, and the whole thing is beautifully simple yet fun.
If it were a free app, I'd download it.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

This is really hard!! Best I could do was 3. I like the concept though :) Very fun and adds a twist to something familiar.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

I really like the game. It's kinda like flappy birds - takes time to learn but once you do, you're hooked.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

I loved the music changing on each play. Determining if the hole is over water makes me antsy but I see that as a good quality. Great job :)

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

I loved the controls and the concept was great, but the game was extremely challenging.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very difficult. But fun.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Addicting. I got 7, but man did i feel like free willy!
Thanks for this.

Jojo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Annoying and addicting at the same time. Surprising how something that is this unfair can be this fun.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I liked the game a lot. Pretty frustrating and addictive :) Great job in just 4 hours!

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

It's really a skill-based action game, I like it!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I could only get two. I suck.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Damn that's difficult! Good job for such a quick project!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Super hard. Exactly how I like it!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really addictive and frustrating at the same time. Really nice entry for something made in 4 hours. Good job!

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I really enjoyed controlling the sub - give me enemies to bomb and this would be awesome!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

haha awesome. Loved the atmosphere with the cool music and jet stream. sexy.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

This game just feels really good, I'd love to see it fleshed out.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Okay. I had fun, a bit irritated at the impossibility of some of the pillars, but this is somewhat adorable and I still had fun. Nicely done.

Deity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05am

Very flappy-bird-esque but fun.

A bit challenging since you can't see where the opening is for the barriers till you're about to run into it. I like being able to back up/reverse direction to correct though.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Really smooth and nice, and I enjoyed the audio changing every play so it wouldn't get old. :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

This is the sort of single-concept game that jams are good for, but the execution is lacking. There's not enough responsiveness in the controls, and seeing where the openings are feels awkward.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I really enjoyed this, besides the frustration XD New flappy!

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

It's not an "easy to pick up, hard to master" kind of game. Hard as nails right from the start, but not frustrating at all! I really wanted to get better even when I was failing epicly. Great job!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

For 4 hours, this is pretty nice. Better than some I've seen made in the full timeframe ;) it's still a bit too minimalistic though, but I think you're aware of that.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51am

super clever idea. good twist on flappy that uses the theme well to differentiate. feels amazing when you jump out of the water and clear a high gap.

it's too hard to get into a flow though, since you've got to constantly make one pass and loop around again once you see the opening. if you just added an indicator on the right side of the screen it would make this soo good (imo)

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:16am

Not my cup of tea but I enjoyed it, runs pretty smooth and the sound played gives it a good rhytim.
It feels quite polished as well, for the short amount of time invested, I can picture people getting addicted to it...
Just do the port to iOS/Android and get rich & famous!

iambored2006 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:18am

I got to 9. I can die a happy man.

iambored2006 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

12. Can you please upload a windows build?

May 2, 2014 @ 8:16pm

FUN! i enjoyed this way more than i should have : d took me quite some time to understand why the sub would stop to accelerate but after that i managed to score 8 (- ; nice music and simplistic but great art.

good work! Looking forward to your next game

jugglerrob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Hard, but I think it's supposed to be that. I think it's a good concept and has a good execution. The controls were good and it's a fun game. Good work.

smbe19 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Awesome game! I got a score of 4, do I get a cookie?

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Very frustrating we can't control the reactor. But it's pretty good for 8 hours!
Not sure how to feel and rate all those flappy bird clones though :/

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:06pm

One of the best games I've played so far in the competition, extremely fun and addicting, with amazing graphics, music, and controls!

sink_t says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:24pm

In short, a fantastic effort for such a short length of time. I had a similarly-constrained time frame to do my entry, yet nowhere did I get as far as you.

travislucia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Addictive

cageinabird says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Love the twist. It feels so good to make the high jumps. Best I got was 7, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I'll be coming back to have one more go... then another... and another... :)

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I've managed to get to 8 points with great effort, it feels so satisfying to make a perfect jump, I like that :)

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:56pm

This game was very frustrating; the submarine engine seems to work at random, and the barrier were quite hard to dodge. Then again, I generally am bad at this kind of infinite avoid-obstacles games...
The music was nice though, I liked the variations. It kept me a little bit longer on the game ^^'

May 2, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Very addictive! ^^
Audio was fantastic and the graphics totally worked! Good job!

eugman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:21am

Score of 2. Definitely very good for 2 hours. I first thought ti was going to be a flappy bird clone.

Managore says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:43am

I could only get a 5, those high gaps would always kill me! The game is really a lot of fun and it felt great to launch myself out of the water. Considering it was made in only 4 hours this is terrific!

awppy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:47am

http://puu.sh/8wR69.png BIG AAAAAAIR

This game is very difficult but also very fun. Checked this out because I saw a neat-looking gif in the post mortems

Sadly, you do not get Front Flip For Style points, nor do you get points for backflipping through a gate you've already crossed and that makes me very sad

You did some really cool stuff with the music, too. Congrats on a solid entry!

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:31am

I'm not a fan of music that restarts whenever I respawn since I only hear the opening of every song, and it becomes more repetitive.

4 was my best.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:21am

solid game - really enjoyable with a lot of potential - awesome job

May 3, 2014 @ 5:37am

What do i think of this game? I FUCKING LOVE IT! Got 7 after a few tries. Absolutely love the gravity/physics switch from above and below water. Great job. Fun and addictive.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:25am

Great concept. Really brutal. Hard to see where the next gate would be sometimes and those air gates are brutal. Overall, good work!

Vytheros says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I love this game, it's so peacefully frustrating and I spent 5 hours trying to find this game, just so I could rate it after I cleared my computer. 5/5 please make it easier

May 3, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Fun little game. Took me a while to figure out I was actually coming out of the water, I thought the background was just some sort of gradient. I could just be dumb though. I like the way the music changes instruments, that was neat. Presentation is simple but pleasing. Nice work!

runvs says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Great Entry! One of the most fun games in this LD! I will definitely replay it!

Rahazan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:10am

Thanks for all the replies!

New highscore: 58

http://i.gyazo.com/c9495ce56ebd610aff51461936516305.png

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:26am

wow, so simple and so cool, i love it! the feel of it is great, but hard at the very start. once i got it i really enjoyed it

HeroesGrave says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:04am

That was amazing.

5 stars for fun.

Raiyumi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:28am

I only got to 6. It's really awesome being made in only 4 hours. :O

Erkberg says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:07am

A very hard and "flappy" game, but the movement felt really good. Visuals and audio are also nice, good job overall!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:45am

As much as I would like to consider myself awesome, I only managed to score 5 (after several attemps)

DesignerNap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:23am

Smooth and fun to play. Tricky to master! great work.

mortus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Quite fun, but controls are too inertia-heavy for me. Would be cool if you cool glide while in air and affect and change your flight.

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Hard but very smooth mechanic. I think it's nice entry with styles aesthetics.

HeroesGrave says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:02am

After playing for ages I have highscore of 22.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Wow! Very addicting. Great job!

pkenney says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

Cool game for such a short time! Controls were something new and difficult to explore. I learned to be very careful, and I tried many times but I never did better than four. Well done!

I tried it because I saw your blog post with the animated gif, and I also made a game about a ship that moves in curves under water, but it turns out they are very different.

Knowledge says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:30am

Cool game!!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]